New TOL A&K DAP : the AK Ultima SP1000
post-14795675
Post #5,371 of 8,441

javahut

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 29, 2003
Messages
378
Reaction score
101
Joined
Oct 29, 2003
Posts
378
Likes
101
Search GG akconnect
Thanks!

I really wanted to copy the files over. But the AK Connect streaming from my phone to my AK device is working great.

Thanks for the tip!
 
     Share This Post       
post-14796189
Post #5,372 of 8,441

aaf evo

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
2,624
Reaction score
2,047
Location
Houston, TX
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Location
Houston, TX
Posts
2,624
Likes
2,047
Has anyone bought anything with affirm? A&K USA offers that payment option and it’s not bad at all. I’d spend an extra $50 on interest over 6 months which I’m totally fine with considering I don’t have to fully pay off the DAP right this second. I’m losing my mind using my iPhone as my player.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14796415
Post #5,373 of 8,441

Audiophonicalistic

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 1, 2018
Messages
471
Reaction score
220
Location
USA
Joined
Feb 1, 2018
Location
USA
Posts
471
Likes
220
Has anyone bought anything with affirm? A&K USA offers that payment option and it’s not bad at all. I’d spend an extra $50 on interest over 6 months which I’m totally fine with considering I don’t have to fully pay off the DAP right this second. I’m losing my mind using my iPhone as my player.
Paypal credit offers 6month interest free.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14796417
Post #5,374 of 8,441

aaf evo

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
2,624
Reaction score
2,047
Location
Houston, TX
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Location
Houston, TX
Posts
2,624
Likes
2,047
     Share This Post       
post-14796451
Post #5,375 of 8,441

Torrs

Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 17, 2016
Messages
62
Reaction score
51
Location
New York City
Joined
Sep 17, 2016
Location
New York City
Posts
62
Likes
51
Got my SP1000m blue in today. Plugged my headphones, hit the play button, and enjoy the few seconds that I had with it until I heard a pop noise and now the headphone out does work (balanced and single ended). I've since sent it back to the dealer to have them take a look at it. Has anyone here had that happen to them?
 
     Share This Post       
post-14797663
Post #5,376 of 8,441

olddude

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Messages
4,585
Reaction score
2,340
Location
Southern California
Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Location
Southern California
Posts
4,585
Likes
2,340
What kind headphones and what kind of plug?
 
     Share This Post       
post-14797679
Post #5,377 of 8,441

szore

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 31, 2013
Messages
1,928
Reaction score
1,001
Location
NYC
Joined
Mar 31, 2013
Location
NYC
Posts
1,928
Likes
1,001
Age
54
Got my SP1000m blue in today. Plugged my headphones, hit the play button, and enjoy the few seconds that I had with it until I heard a pop noise and now the headphone out does work (balanced and single ended). I've since sent it back to the dealer to have them take a look at it. Has anyone here had that happen to them?
That sucks.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14797685
Post #5,378 of 8,441

szore

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 31, 2013
Messages
1,928
Reaction score
1,001
Location
NYC
Joined
Mar 31, 2013
Location
NYC
Posts
1,928
Likes
1,001
Age
54
I've owned EE Zeus and 64 Audio U12s and while they sound good, I cannot recommend $1,500+ iems anymore considering you have really really good iems for around $1,000 that competes successfully with the $2k iems. Examples include RHA CL-2 ($900) which sounds superior to my old Zeus IEM (especially in the bass) and Beyerdynamic Xelentos at $829.
Agree, I go back and forth between AndroSS and Xelento, and it's nice to be able to switch up the sound signature. I'm thinking of getting the CL2's and creating an IEM triad.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: cj3209
post-14797688
Post #5,379 of 8,441

TYATYA

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 6, 2011
Messages
1,085
Reaction score
340
Location
Center of sound stage
Joined
Mar 6, 2011
Location
Center of sound stage
Posts
1,085
Likes
340
Got my SP1000m blue in today. Plugged my headphones, hit the play button, and enjoy the few seconds that I had with it until I heard a pop noise and now the headphone out does work (balanced and single ended). I've since sent it back to the dealer to have them take a look at it. Has anyone here had that happen to them?
Hope you did not use "2.5 to x.x" adapter for you headphone/iem
 
     Share This Post       
post-14797946
Post #5,381 of 8,441

olddude

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Messages
4,585
Reaction score
2,340
Location
Southern California
Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Location
Southern California
Posts
4,585
Likes
2,340
Sounds like something shorted something out. Plugged it in and in seconds, pop. Could have been an issue with the device, but sounds more like a plug and port issue.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14798074
Post #5,382 of 8,441

Torrs

Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 17, 2016
Messages
62
Reaction score
51
Location
New York City
Joined
Sep 17, 2016
Location
New York City
Posts
62
Likes
51
Sounds like something shorted something out. Plugged it in and in seconds, pop. Could have been an issue with the device, but sounds more like a plug and port issue.
Hope you did not use "2.5 to x.x" adapter for you headphone/iem
Possibly. I did a factory reset and updated to the latest firmware and it didn't solve the issue. I was using it with my EE Phantoms. Thankfully they are OKAY. I thought it was my headphones, but tried with my Andros single-end after the pop noise and still no sound. I have no clue what had happened. Hopefully, this is a one in a million case, but it shouldn't happen given the price of the player. Definitely sucks to have it delivered and having to send it back in the same day.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14798085
Post #5,383 of 8,441

olddude

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Messages
4,585
Reaction score
2,340
Location
Southern California
Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Location
Southern California
Posts
4,585
Likes
2,340
Sounds like a short, based on your comment. That could occur with the wrong plug in the wrong port. If not that, then likely a manufacturing defect not caught by QC at the factory. Things happen.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14798449
Post #5,384 of 8,441

Giraku

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 18, 2017
Messages
1,124
Reaction score
718
Location
NJ, USA
Joined
Jul 18, 2017
Location
NJ, USA
Posts
1,124
Likes
718
Possibly. I did a factory reset and updated to the latest firmware and it didn't solve the issue. I was using it with my EE Phantoms. Thankfully they are OKAY. I thought it was my headphones, but tried with my Andros single-end after the pop noise and still no sound. I have no clue what had happened. Hopefully, this is a one in a million case, but it shouldn't happen given the price of the player. Definitely sucks to have it delivered and having to send it back in the same day.
SE cable connected to balanced output may cause a short.
What i understand from combing through various threads, going from a 4 pole balanced to a SE headphone via an adapter creates a ground loop which can short out components which is unfortunate but makes sense.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14798452
Post #5,385 of 8,441

Torrs

Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 17, 2016
Messages
62
Reaction score
51
Location
New York City
Joined
Sep 17, 2016
Location
New York City
Posts
62
Likes
51
SE cable connected to balanced output may cause a short.
It malfunctioned with my EE phantoms in, which are 2.5mm balance terminated. I did not use any type of converter to go from 2.5mm to 3.5mm. It also happened that the single-ended output did not work either when plugging my single ended andros to check after the malfunction.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 2, Guests: 4)

Top