New TOL A&K DAP : the AK Ultima SP1000
post-14733280
Post #5,116 of 7,803
Joined
Jul 5, 2017
Messages
1,310
Reaction score
850
Location
Irvine, CA
Joined
Jul 5, 2017
Location
Irvine, CA
Posts
1,310
Likes
850
5.1.4 is perfectly alright. I know that offline content will remain when installing the new version over the old one. But as my favorites disappeared I needed to delete the new version again to switch back to 5.1.4. This killed my offline content.
Qobuz released version 5.1.5 last night. I haven't had a chance to test it out yet, but will try it out later today.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14733287
Post #5,117 of 7,803
Joined
Jul 5, 2017
Messages
1,310
Reaction score
850
Location
Irvine, CA
Joined
Jul 5, 2017
Location
Irvine, CA
Posts
1,310
Likes
850
Hi. Sorry for the silly question but what is the use of the hole on the top of the back of the sp1000?
It is a screw hole to secure add-on modules. For example, the AK300 series players had an add-on headphone amp that the player docked into and then was secured by a thumbscrew on the back of the amp to the player. If you look at the bottom of the SP1000, you will see 5 contact points, those are balanced out for connections to an add-on module.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: bidn
post-14733381
Post #5,118 of 7,803

lolobisaudio

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 29, 2018
Messages
48
Reaction score
8
Location
Issy les Moulineaux, France
Joined
Dec 29, 2018
Location
Issy les Moulineaux, France
Posts
48
Likes
8
It is a screw hole to secure add-on modules. For example, the AK300 series players had an add-on headphone amp that the player docked into and then was secured by a thumbscrew on the back of the amp to the player. If you look at the bottom of the SP1000, you will see 5 contact points, those are balanced out for connections to an add-on module.
Thanks for this detailed answer.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14733530
Post #5,119 of 7,803

Progisus

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 28, 2018
Messages
502
Reaction score
305
Location
Canada
Joined
May 28, 2018
Location
Canada
Posts
502
Likes
305
@JasonNYC Did you get an answer back on the Roon timeline?
 
     Share This Post       
post-14734072
Post #5,120 of 7,803
Joined
Jul 5, 2017
Messages
1,310
Reaction score
850
Location
Irvine, CA
Joined
Jul 5, 2017
Location
Irvine, CA
Posts
1,310
Likes
850
@JasonNYC Did you get an answer back on the Roon timeline?
We still are waiting for feedback from the Roon team of the firmware we send over right before the holidays for testing. It takes them 4 - 6 weeks to test.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14734137
Post #5,121 of 7,803

Progisus

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 28, 2018
Messages
502
Reaction score
305
Location
Canada
Joined
May 28, 2018
Location
Canada
Posts
502
Likes
305
We still are waiting for feedback from the Roon team of the firmware we send over right before the holidays for testing. It takes them 4 - 6 weeks to test.
Thanks @JasonNYC . Anticipation is the best part of realization. Roon 1.6 just released with a great Radio option and Qobuz for all you to the south of the Great White North.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14735532
Post #5,122 of 7,803

Hifi2jungle

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 8, 2015
Messages
118
Reaction score
39
Joined
Dec 8, 2015
Posts
118
Likes
39
The Qobuz Android app is definitely still a work in progress. I spoke to the Qobuz USA team when I was at CES. They are pushing updates out quickly to get bugs fixed. They have mentioned in a few of the version release notes that installing the new version could erase all of your previous content and settings.
I don’t know what these guys are doing. They release a new firmware that does not show the favorites anymore and after 3 days still no emergency update. Why do they not test the firmware before release?
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14736884
Post #5,123 of 7,803

lolobisaudio

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 29, 2018
Messages
48
Reaction score
8
Location
Issy les Moulineaux, France
Joined
Dec 29, 2018
Location
Issy les Moulineaux, France
Posts
48
Likes
8
Hi !
Any idea for a box or a small wallet that that contains the sp1000 plus a pair of iem, in order to carry them to the office every day. I have bought a pelican 1060 put it’s too small for our loved but big Dap. Thanks
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: rwelles
post-14737909
Post #5,124 of 7,803

forbiddenbeat

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 7, 2018
Messages
119
Reaction score
56
Location
Boulder, CO
Joined
May 7, 2018
Location
Boulder, CO
Posts
119
Likes
56
Stupid question: does anyone know where I can get the OEM screen protectors for the SP1000? I need new ones, and the Healing Shield one I bought doesn't fit flush with the front (there is a gap all the way around that bothers me).
 
     Share This Post       
post-14737918
Post #5,125 of 7,803

robbobkirky

New Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 10, 2016
Messages
11
Reaction score
14
Joined
Apr 10, 2016
Posts
11
Likes
14
I wonder if anyone can help advise. I currently have a Fiio X5 III and I've got sick of the bugs and very laggy interface. I was looking to upgrade from a sound perspective anyway but I definitely don't want something as buggy as the Fiio.

I'm happy to splash the cash on something like the SP1000m (the SP1000 looks too big for me). I don't particularly want to be upgrading again anytime soon hence thinking I'll get the SP1000M and hopefully I'll keep it for a while. I've not seen a whole lot of comparisons with the SR15 or the SE100 (though this is big like the SP1000) or many other models in general really. People compare it with the SP1000 but as I said that's too big and probably too much money as well!
I have a pair of SE846 so can someone convince me that it's worth buying the extra for the SP1000M? Note I'd be happy to upgrade the IEMs in the future if required.

Thanks.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14737955
Post #5,126 of 7,803

aaf evo

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
2,165
Reaction score
1,394
Location
Houston, TX
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Location
Houston, TX
Posts
2,165
Likes
1,394
Not sure if this is allowed here but I have to shift my SP1000 SS temporarily, if anyone is trying to purchase one feel free to message me. :frowning2:
 
     Share This Post       
post-14738214
Post #5,127 of 7,803

olddude

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Messages
4,309
Reaction score
1,898
Location
Southern California
Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Location
Southern California
Posts
4,309
Likes
1,898
I wonder if anyone can help advise. I currently have a Fiio X5 III and I've got sick of the bugs and very laggy interface. I was looking to upgrade from a sound perspective anyway but I definitely don't want something as buggy as the Fiio.

I'm happy to splash the cash on something like the SP1000m (the SP1000 looks too big for me). I don't particularly want to be upgrading again anytime soon hence thinking I'll get the SP1000M and hopefully I'll keep it for a while. I've not seen a whole lot of comparisons with the SR15 or the SE100 (though this is big like the SP1000) or many other models in general really. People compare it with the SP1000 but as I said that's too big and probably too much money as well!
I have a pair of SE846 so can someone convince me that it's worth buying the extra for the SP1000M? Note I'd be happy to upgrade the IEMs in the future if required.

Thanks.
SP1000 is quite a bit better sound-wise and so much less buggy than the X5. I can't speak to the m version, but the big boy is superb. The 846 is pretty dated and it never was really up there in terms of sound. There are plenty of IEMs that will give you better sound. Empire Ears go well with AK, but there are lots of others as well.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Sage Encore
post-14738244
Post #5,128 of 7,803

zikarus

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
255
Reaction score
55
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Posts
255
Likes
55
I wonder if anyone can help advise. I currently have a Fiio X5 III and I've got sick of the bugs and very laggy interface. I was looking to upgrade from a sound perspective anyway but I definitely don't want something as buggy as the Fiio.

I'm happy to splash the cash on something like the SP1000m (the SP1000 looks too big for me). I don't particularly want to be upgrading again anytime soon hence thinking I'll get the SP1000M and hopefully I'll keep it for a while. I've not seen a whole lot of comparisons with the SR15 or the SE100 (though this is big like the SP1000) or many other models in general really. People compare it with the SP1000 but as I said that's too big and probably too much money as well!
I have a pair of SE846 so can someone convince me that it's worth buying the extra for the SP1000M? Note I'd be happy to upgrade the IEMs in the future if required.

Thanks.
I recently took the plunge and bought a SE100 after comparing it to the 1000m in a longer listening session.

I would advice you to do the same and find out which kind of sound you prefer and/or whether the differences are worth the extra money for you. I was totally open and willing to buy the better sounding one. Have been quite surprised in the end, that I liked the SE100 Sabre sound even better than that of the 1000m (with the stuff and the IEM) I listened to. Who knows what you will hear? Since I also liked the form factor of the SE100 better than the 1000m (same weight but much larger and easier to use (type on) screen) I was happily saving some money for other gear.

Don't know the 846 but the actual IEMs are that good, that it might be a wise move to upgrade both, source and monitors...

Meanwhile I added a Kanas Pro to the DM6 I had used for the auditioning and I could not be happier atm...
 
     Share This Post       
post-14738253
Post #5,129 of 7,803

Samuel777

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 1, 2013
Messages
576
Reaction score
69
Joined
Nov 1, 2013
Posts
576
Likes
69
Stupid question: does anyone know where I can get the OEM screen protectors for the SP1000? I need new ones, and the Healing Shield one I bought doesn't fit flush with the front (there is a gap all the way around that bothers me).
Please, follow this link : http://www.protectionfilms24.com/article/upscreen-scratch-shield-clear-premium-screen-protector-astellkern-aultima-sp1000-2832152.html?sf24=1cc77425cf7b9677f7df8495753e70f9
To me, that one is one of the best. I have ordered few for my SP1000ss. it cover the Dap full screen ...
 
     Share This Post       
post-14738517
Post #5,130 of 7,803

twister6

twister6 Reviews
Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 6, 2013
Messages
11,075
Reaction score
26,830
Joined
Oct 6, 2013
Posts
11,075
Likes
26,830
I wonder if anyone can help advise. I currently have a Fiio X5 III and I've got sick of the bugs and very laggy interface. I was looking to upgrade from a sound perspective anyway but I definitely don't want something as buggy as the Fiio.

I'm happy to splash the cash on something like the SP1000m (the SP1000 looks too big for me). I don't particularly want to be upgrading again anytime soon hence thinking I'll get the SP1000M and hopefully I'll keep it for a while. I've not seen a whole lot of comparisons with the SR15 or the SE100 (though this is big like the SP1000) or many other models in general really. People compare it with the SP1000 but as I said that's too big and probably too much money as well!
I have a pair of SE846 so can someone convince me that it's worth buying the extra for the SP1000M? Note I'd be happy to upgrade the IEMs in the future if required.

Thanks.
X5iii is a hissing nightmare, can't imagine how you enjoying it with SE846 :wink: Going to SPKM will not only be an upgrade in user interface, but also in sound quality. Don't rush with IEM upgrade yet. Replace one variable at a time in that pair up equation.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: JasonNYC

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 2, Guests: 1)

Top