New Here... Best Over Ear Headphones for me for under $150?
Oct 5, 2011 at 5:07 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 4

cjscott

New Head-Fier
Hey everyone,
I'm new here and looking into getting my first pair of pretty nice headphones.  I've always just used cheap earbuds from Best Buy, but my friend showed me his Beats by Dre, and I was blown away.   Now from what I've read online, there's tons of better options for about half the price of Beats.  I am looking for suggestions of which headphones to get for under $150.  (I dont mind buying used if they're good quality)

A little about me:

-I am a college student and I want to use them as my everyday headphones - for listening to music on my computer, walking to class, and maybe even working out (if they'll stay on)
- I want something comfortable for me to wear for hours at a time
- I listen to just about any kind of music from Eminem to O.A.R. to Slightly Stoopid
- I definitely want over ear, but I don't know the difference between open back and closed back
- I am most concerned about sound quality and comfort

From my research, I've found that the Audio-Technica ATH-50 are very highly recommended, but is there any better quality for the price?  Any help or feedback is greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Chris

Oct 5, 2011 at 5:48 PM Post #2 of 4