New Grados or first headphone amp?
Sep 16, 2010 at 6:49 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

Derp

New Head-Fier
I'm a noob audiophile. With regards to guitar equipment, I ALWAYS strived to have the best tone possible, so I figured why would I not do that when listening to music? Last christmas, I got myself a pair of Grado SR225is. Such an amazing step up from my previous in ear skullcandy pos. I could go on and on about my positive experiences with my Grados, but I recently became interested in buying another set. The Gs1000is. But is it really worth it? I'd love to have two Grados, each that have different qualities. I was really interested in the GS1000is because of the proclaimed huge soundstage, I really like that about my current Grados. But I read more about headphone amps and I'm wondering if it would be better to just get a headphone amp instead of another set of headphones. I'm in college now and with my laptop I have noticed a tiny bit of dynamic compression when listening to music. Would an amp fix that? What other benefits does an amp provide?

Btw, I listen to Ambient, Prog, Jazz and MESHUGGAHHHH!!!

Sep 16, 2010 at 7:36 PM Post #2 of 6
Amps are nice, but I often run Grados without one. They sound pretty good out of an iPod.

I'm not sure about the GS-1000. I don't hate it, but I've never been able to bring myself to buy one. Who knows, it might turn out to be your favorite, though. Have you heard a pair yet? If not, see if you can find a pair to listen to before buying. Either that or find a used pair for sale. I see them going for $600-$700 used, so if you bought a new pair and didn't enjoy them, you'd take a pretty good hit.

Have you considered the HF-2? They're a really fun pair of headphones and they're back on sale for a short time. It might be worth picking up a pair. They will sound different from the SR-225, and the used prices seem to track the original price or a little higher.

Sep 16, 2010 at 7:40 PM Post #4 of 6