New Audio-gd R7 (R2R 7) & R8 Flagship Resistor Ladder DACs
post-13840748
Post #676 of 6,064

gk2013

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 26, 2015
Messages
183
Reaction score
77
Joined
Oct 26, 2015
Posts
183
Likes
77
For yoru information, NOS1 in accurate FW is not working for me. i've sent a mail to Kingwa and he said they have the same problem after testing. They'll try to correct in the future but they are very busy now (and they probably not know how they will manage the accurate vs smooth FW).
It was my understanding the accurate firmware is "experimental", all systems are shipped with "smooth" version. what do you mean with how they will "manage accurate vs smooth"?
 
     Share This Post       
post-13840767
Post #677 of 6,064

enigmus12

Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 12, 2016
Messages
55
Reaction score
22
Joined
Aug 12, 2016
Posts
55
Likes
22
It was my understanding the accurate firmware is "experimental", all systems are shipped with "smooth" version. what do you mean with how they will "manage accurate vs smooth"?
From what I was understanding "Accurate" was correcting something on the DSP output but Kingwa was "in fear" that it will be too much details for the users of R2R 7 (vs musicality). I was meaning that they probably do not know yet what will be the standard FW in the future because if the accurate really correct the DSP output there is no reason not to be the standard one (but if users dislike it, you can't).

About the NOS1 problem yes it's a bug but I don't have any problems with that, accurate is doing the job for me on my setup and I was just curious about NOS1.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13840930
Post #678 of 6,064

FredA

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 15, 2013
Messages
3,253
Reaction score
1,158
Joined
Dec 15, 2013
Posts
3,253
Likes
1,158
I put accurate back in. It's definitely more difficult getting 'accurate' sounding musical -- I didn't like how it combined with the 6moons config. I set it to S2-NOS3 w/ PLL.

With the 8xOS I had a wider stage and stronger foundation (bass), and yet there is something ultra-natural about this. I tried I2S to get the bass back (Fred's suggestion) but my USB interface couldn't lock for nothing (just hiss) -- I guess it's true that OS is easier to lock with (removing PLL didn't help)

Going back to the USB input, the speed and absence of bloom is a real treat when you hear how well sources maintain separation into busy/complex passages. I'm going to stay on this for a bit.

Are there any jumper configurations that owners found difficult to lock via the USB input? So far I haven't seen any.

(my chain for the week)

Win10 STX PC w/ 200w LPS =>
Curious Cable =>
iFi iUSB3.0 =>
Synergistic Research USB Active SE =>
R2R7 =>
Synergistic Research Resolution Reference mk.II XLR =>
Yamaha A-S2100
I guess i am gonna stay with my current settings and smooth firmware until Kingwa figures things out. It's seems like a real R&D problem. I remember what the accuracy of the audiophilleo brought to my system 5 years ago: extreme clarity but a little too bright. I am starting to wonder if inaccuracies in recording studio equipements or in the mastering process could be what causes this problem.

In any case, i like the way my setup sounds very very much. The smooth firmware could be the official one as far i am concerned.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-13841012
Post #679 of 6,064

gk2013

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 26, 2015
Messages
183
Reaction score
77
Joined
Oct 26, 2015
Posts
183
Likes
77
I
Are there any jumper configurations that owners found difficult to lock via the USB input? So far I haven't seen any.

(my chain for the week)

Win10 STX PC w/ 200w LPS =>
Curious Cable =>
iFi iUSB3.0 =>
Synergistic Research USB Active SE =>
R2R7 =>
Synergistic Research Resolution Reference mk.II XLR =>
Yamaha A-S2100
Have you tried the Curious Cable weithout the iFi USB3.0? What do you like better? With or without the iFi?
 
     Share This Post       
post-13842722
Post #680 of 6,064
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Messages
17,078
Reaction score
9,828
Location
Fukuoka, Japan
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Location
Fukuoka, Japan
Posts
17,078
Likes
9,828
Website
www.hear.reviews
I thought it more likely that "accurate" mode might be too strict for completely reliable operation of the electronics.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13843671
Post #681 of 6,064

Wynnytsky

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 16, 2012
Messages
539
Reaction score
237
Location
Morristown, NJ
Joined
Apr 16, 2012
Location
Morristown, NJ
Posts
539
Likes
237
Website
127.0.0.1
I thought it more likely that "accurate" mode might be too strict for completely reliable operation of the electronics.
Then I'd think accurate + NOS + PLL would have to be the strictest possible config, and I'm not having any issues via the USB input (but no such luck with i2s over a 4.5' hdmi cable)
Does that work for others?

Have you tried the Curious Cable weithout the iFi USB3.0?
I've got the super short curious cable so I'd have to buy the longer one to try that.
Sometimes I like listening with the extra cable and iFi removed. Everything is a trade off, and this variety is fun to observe.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13843833
Post #682 of 6,064

peterzzz

New Head-Fier
Joined
May 27, 2014
Messages
48
Reaction score
44
Location
Netherlands
Joined
May 27, 2014
Location
Netherlands
Posts
48
Likes
44
     Share This Post       
post-13843893
Post #683 of 6,064

FredA

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 15, 2013
Messages
3,253
Reaction score
1,158
Joined
Dec 15, 2013
Posts
3,253
Likes
1,158
     Share This Post       
post-13843899
Post #684 of 6,064

FredA

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 15, 2013
Messages
3,253
Reaction score
1,158
Joined
Dec 15, 2013
Posts
3,253
Likes
1,158
Then I'd think accurate + NOS + PLL would have to be the strictest possible config, and I'm not having any issues via the USB input (but no such luck with i2s over a 4.5' hdmi cable)
Does that work for others?



I've got the super short curious cable so I'd have to buy the longer one to try that.
Sometimes I like listening with the extra cable and iFi removed. Everything is a trade off, and this variety is fun to observe.
No issue here with i2s combined with nos. But pll is off and I use rj45 i2s.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-13843989
Post #686 of 6,064

FredA

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 15, 2013
Messages
3,253
Reaction score
1,158
Joined
Dec 15, 2013
Posts
3,253
Likes
1,158
That is how I understand it, yes.
Incidently, i find audiorva/izotope plays better with a million rather than half a million sample window.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-13845642
Post #687 of 6,064

barbas

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 9, 2017
Messages
221
Reaction score
50
Location
Montevideo, Uruguay
Joined
Aug 9, 2017
Location
Montevideo, Uruguay
Posts
221
Likes
50
     Share This Post       
post-13846994
Post #688 of 6,064

JaMo

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 8, 2011
Messages
461
Reaction score
400
Joined
Feb 8, 2011
Posts
461
Likes
400
@ barbas: Thanx for a good guide. -What firmware did You use?

/Jan
 
     Share This Post       
post-13847138
Post #689 of 6,064
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Messages
17,078
Reaction score
9,828
Location
Fukuoka, Japan
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Location
Fukuoka, Japan
Posts
17,078
Likes
9,828
Website
www.hear.reviews
It's on the Audio-gd page under the "manual" tab as well. I think the 6moons reviewer didn't even try looking.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13847357
Post #690 of 6,064

punit

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 28, 2010
Messages
1,696
Reaction score
185
Location
Dubai
Joined
Feb 28, 2010
Location
Dubai
Posts
1,696
Likes
185
I use rj45 i2s. I haven't had much time (30 minutes) with the Amanero. I expect i2s to best all other inputs because the F-1 uses Crysteks.
What do you use for rj45 connection ? i.e. how do you convert the digital signal from your music server / computer to rj45 ? I think you mentioned the singxer f-1 but that does not have rj45 digital out ? Did you mod yours ?
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 3)

Top