Neutral Sounding Headphone/Amp Combo for under $800
Jan 4, 2011 at 6:07 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 18

gridlock

Head-Fier
Hi All,

First post and a headphone newbie here.  I've bought a lot of hi-end audio equipment over the years, but never a set of phones.  I'm looking for a neutral (free from boosted bass/treble) sounding headphone/amp combo for use mainly with music, and some TV.  I listen to a variety of music, including singer/songwriter, folk, rock, classical, acoustic, and jazz.  I am willing to spend about $800 or so (maybe a bit more) for the combination.  The amp will be fed from the line-out from a Tact RCS 2.2XP preamp (it doesn't have a tape-out) or possibly a digital out if the headphone amp has a D/A converter.

I've done a bunch of research, but is quite daunting and I don't have anywhere nearby to audition them.  I don't know a lot about the different amps around and what are good headphone/amp combinations so thought I'd solicit opinions here.  I definitely prefer a more neutral sound free from artificial bass spikes or elevated treble, which I find very fatiguing.  I also would like a nice soundstage, and maybe and a mid-level presentation (not too forward or distant).  I think I'd prefer around-the ear over on-the-ear phones, but am open to open or closed back.  I am open to all the usual headphone suspects including Sennheiser, AKG, Audio Technica, Grado, Beyer, etc.

I would appreciate any feedback on headphone/amp combos that might qualify for the price point.

Thanks much in advance!

Jan 4, 2011 at 8:29 PM Post #2 of 18
the audio-gd NFB-10 comes in at your exact price point
for 200 more, you could look into the new burson ha 160D

edit: oh boy, i somehow misread
so disregard ^
I gave you suggestions for dac/amp combos

Jan 4, 2011 at 9:50 PM Post #4 of 18