Most powerful headphone amp?
Aug 13, 2010 at 8:30 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 57

cactus_farmer

1000+ Head-Fier
Not being an electrical engineer I don't know about voltages and current and the like, so when I say 'powerful' I just mean which headphone amp can drive the **** out of notoriously hard to drive 'phones like the K701 with the volume knob at about 9 'o' clock (ie. without even trying)?

Can I both money-no-object suggestions and reasonably priced suggestions. Is there even a budget headphone amp that is extremely powerful? Or a portable?

Preferably no valves.

Thanks for suggestions.

Aug 13, 2010 at 9:01 AM Post #2 of 57
As far as "raw horsepower goes" (which is a bad analogy), tube OTL amps have the most.  They can handle the voltage demands of high impedance cans.  However, while OTL amps are better at voltage, they aren't the best at current.  Lower impedance cans really benefit from lots of current.  I think for the 701/2, you would benefit from a solid state amp with very high current.

For example, in the speaker field, you often see 4 ohm and 8 ohm speakers.  The majority of speakers are 8 ohm and the majority of big store bought amps are low current.  Coincidence?  These lower current amps really struggle to power 4 ohm speakers, despite them being lower resistance.  To power 4 ohm speakers, you need to look for the "high current" amps.

Same for cans.  The tough drive low impedance cans, like the 701/2, will be best served on high current solid state amp, whereas the high impedance cans (like the 600 ohm Beyers), will probably be best served on tube OTLs.

Aug 13, 2010 at 2:06 PM Post #4 of 57