[mini-review] Quick noob view on SRH 440 (~70$), mostly outlining problems since thats what people care about most
Aug 5, 2010 at 4:25 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 8

n-ster

100+ Head-Fier
this is a copy paste from a forum I post in.

I am 100% new to headphones, am totally new....

I wanted to outline the problems, so even though it sounds like the SH440 sucks, they really are pretty good, provided that you don't run into these problems, even GREAT

Quote:
Alright let me talk about the headphone I have, the Shure SRH440, got them at 70$ through Amazon and Paulieg (thanks 
biggrin.gif
), used with a Fiio E5 amp, and Fiio L1 LOD for my ipod, and that amp + Asus Xonar DS for my PC

Mind you, I am completely new to good headphones so take my opinion with a grain of salt, the only other headphone I really tried is Beats by Drake or wtv

Great headphones overall, but comfort may be lacking

Before starting, I will say that I have an average sized head, a bit above average sized ears, and ears that stick out a little 
tongue.gif

1 problem I ran into was that my ears touched the metal round thing that protected the drivers and it hurt me like hell, so I stuffed tissue under the earpads 
biggrin.gif
 That not only stopped that ears from hurting, but ended up being more comfortable that way and it has a better soundstage too. I will however replace the Kleenex with Foam when I get to that. I'm guessing the SRH840 pads would be better, what I can tell you is the pads for Beats by Drake are much more comfortable and softer

Another problem I have is that when wearing them for more than 2 hours, it starts hurting on the top of my head, and if I make them looser, the sound isn't as good (though not much of a difference), and the headphone basically slide of my head with a tiny nudge. This may be solved with a little more padding on the top. Again, Beats be Drake have great and soft padding in that area