Mini Dac TDA1543 X 4 NOS
post-7631196
Post #556 of 1,058

everlong

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 21, 2011
Messages
45
Reaction score
10
Joined
Jun 21, 2011
Posts
45
Likes
10
If you read a couple of posts up, you will see that if you use a 9V 1000mA adapter your Mini DAC will be safer...
 
     Share This Post       
post-7631232
Post #557 of 1,058

proid

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Messages
443
Reaction score
12
Joined
Mar 21, 2011
Posts
443
Likes
12
I have already read but only "safer"?
 
     Share This Post       
post-7631257
Post #558 of 1,058

Stitch

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 1, 2008
Messages
699
Reaction score
13
Joined
Dec 1, 2008
Posts
699
Likes
13
I got a reply saying
"Hi, how do you connect the dac to your source and your amp? please clarify".
Part of me giggled and thought "he's gotta be joking me", other part of me was "What"
 
     Share This Post       
post-7631889
Post #559 of 1,058

ETAHL

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 12, 2011
Messages
186
Reaction score
11
Joined
Mar 12, 2011
Posts
186
Likes
11


Quote:
 
My Muse 4x TDA1543 arived just yet. Plugged it in and it said "PFT" as my cd player started reading a disc. Smoke emited from the RCA connectors...... That was quick, only lasted like 10 second. Dire straits aint that bad to make a dac go up in smoke. Havent opened it up yet.
Gonna send that guy a email.
 
Looks like something is shorted.
 
One thing that got me worried, when I removed my TDA1543 chip heat sink, is that the ceramic bypass capacitors are sticking out too high and butting against the heat sink.
Could be that during shipping, the insulation of the bypass caps wore through and shorted to the heat sink.
 
If the capacitors interfered with the heat sink being in contact with some of the TDA1543 chips, that may also contribute to some of the premature failures.
 
You could remove the heat sink and check it out.
 
 
 
     Share This Post       
post-7633363
Post #560 of 1,058

Haakon

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 18, 2011
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jul 18, 2011
Posts
7
Likes
0
How hot is hot with these things? Am using a 12v psu and the case feels warm after an hour or so, but not what I'd call hot...

Pretty happy with the sound though, especially playing apple lossless files though Audivarna, a really nice open source player for Mac OS.
 
     Share This Post       
post-7633505
Post #561 of 1,058

wasp131

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 9, 2009
Messages
109
Reaction score
15
Joined
May 9, 2009
Posts
109
Likes
15
Any of you guys had this dac die using an after market psu?
When i first got one of these several months ago, it ran warm/hot with the original psu,which later died after 2 weeks use(left on 24/7).
I then replaced it with a maplins 12v psu ,since then it never gets more than warm to touch,
3 months later i bought another of these dac's with elna silmic 2 output caps,i ran it off the maplin psu with no problems.
 
I measured the output of the maplins psu which was running at 11.98v,the psu that came with my second has never been used but i checked the output at 12.35v.
could it be the cheapo psu's that come with these units that's the culprit for all these failures?.
I realise the psu's that come with these may be different, as here in the UK we run from 240v,but its an idea.
 
     Share This Post       
post-7634241
Post #562 of 1,058

Stitch

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 1, 2008
Messages
699
Reaction score
13
Joined
Dec 1, 2008
Posts
699
Likes
13
[size=medium]
Quote:
Any of you guys had this dac die using an after market psu?
When i first got one of these several months ago, it ran warm/hot with the original psu,which later died after 2 weeks use(left on 24/7).
I then replaced it with a maplins 12v psu ,since then it never gets more than warm to touch,
3 months later i bought another of these dac's with elna silmic 2 output caps,i ran it off the maplin psu with no problems.
 
I measured the output of the maplins psu which was running at 11.98v,the psu that came with my second has never been used but i checked the output at 12.35v.
could it be the cheapo psu's that come with these units that's the culprit for all these failures?.
I realise the psu's that come with these may be different, as here in the UK we run from 240v,but its an idea.



My dac died after 10 seconds. There are several other that did too but not that soon. Mine has the doubtfull honor of record holder.
Its best to use a 9v psu it seems. I'm in the netherlands so our voltage is the same. Oh and i used the dacmagic's 12v psu, so its not related to that.
 
I got an email saying i have to return it. Gonna do that this week if time alows. Next one will be fed with 9v for sure.
[/size]

 
     Share This Post       
post-7634301
Post #563 of 1,058

wasp131

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 9, 2009
Messages
109
Reaction score
15
Joined
May 9, 2009
Posts
109
Likes
15
You used the dacmagic's psu on this dac?
You realise that the dacmagic psu puts out a/c not d/c.
Definitely not suitable as far as i know.
 
     Share This Post       
post-7634980
Post #564 of 1,058

jfiveeight

Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 1, 2007
Messages
58
Reaction score
12
Joined
Dec 1, 2007
Posts
58
Likes
12
Alright well, i figured $60 is worth it to see how this NOS sounds and if the metrum octave will be my cup of tea.  I checked the DC offset on my amp and it starts highish (30mv+) then the meter counts down to about 5mv and hovers there throughout the powerband.  Is this too much that i shouldn't short the output caps upon arrival?  This was on the 200mv setting, anything higher and it was 0.0.
 
     Share This Post       
post-7635026
Post #565 of 1,058

ETAHL

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 12, 2011
Messages
186
Reaction score
11
Joined
Mar 12, 2011
Posts
186
Likes
11


Quote:
Alright well, i figured $60 is worth it to see how this NOS sounds and if the metrum octave will be my cup of tea.  I checked the DC offset on my amp and it starts highish (30mv+) then the meter counts down to about 5mv and hovers there throughout the powerband.  Is this too much that i shouldn't short the output caps upon arrival?  This was on the 200mv setting, anything higher and it was 0.0.

 
With the design of this DAC, there is always a huge DC offset before the output caps. I would not bypass it unless you know your power amp has input coupling capacitors.
 
     Share This Post       
post-7635280
Post #566 of 1,058

viatraco

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 23, 2010
Messages
124
Reaction score
37
Location
Poland
Joined
Dec 23, 2010
Location
Poland
Posts
124
Likes
37


Quote:
Alright well, i figured $60 is worth it to see how this NOS sounds and if the metrum octave will be my cup of tea.  I checked the DC offset on my amp and it starts highish (30mv+) then the meter counts down to about 5mv and hovers there throughout the powerband.  Is this too much that i shouldn't short the output caps upon arrival?  This was on the 200mv setting, anything higher and it was 0.0.
Scottiebabie wrote:
 
"Muse's cap decoupled (ie.short'd out) measures a full 3.7v DC. yes thats a 3700mv for those of u not quite into the full volt. LOL! on the other hand, non of the amps (that i have & am using the Muse with) measures any substantial DC - 1-10mv +-1mv at worst"
Muse's cap decoupled (ie.short'd out) measures a full 3.7v DC. yes thats a 3700mv for those of u not quite into the full volt. LOL! on the other hand, non of the amps (that i have & am using the Muse with) measures any substantial DC - 1-10mv +-1mv at worst

Źródło: http://www.audiostereo.pl/index.php?app=members&module=messaging§ion=view&do=showConversation&topicID=168501&sort=&st=0
Copyright © Audiostereo.pl
Muse's cap decoupled (ie.short'd out) measures a full 3.7v DC. yes thats a 3700mv for those of u not quite into the full volt. LOL! on the other hand, non of the amps (that i have & am using the Muse with) measures any substantial DC - 1-10mv +-1mv at worst"

Źródło: http://www.audiostereo.pl/index.php?app=members&module=messaging§ion=view&do=showConversation&topicID=168501&sort=&st=0
Copyright © Audiostereo.pl
Muse's cap decoupled (ie.short'd out) measures a full 3.7v DC. yes thats a 3700mv for those of u not quite into the full volt. LOL! on the other hand, non of the amps (that i have & am using the Muse with) measures any substantial DC - 1-10mv +-1mv at worst"

Źródło: http://www.audiostereo.pl/index.php?app=members&module=messaging§ion=view&do=showConversation&topicID=168501&sort=&st=0
Copyright © Audiostereo.pl"
 
 
 
     Share This Post       
post-7635282
Post #567 of 1,058

viatraco

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 23, 2010
Messages
124
Reaction score
37
Location
Poland
Joined
Dec 23, 2010
Location
Poland
Posts
124
Likes
37
Scottiebabie wrote:
 
"Muse's cap decoupled (ie.short'd out) measures a full 3.7v DC. yes thats a 3700mv for those of u not quite into the full volt. LOL! on the other hand, non of the amps (that i have & am using the Muse with) measures any substantial DC - 1-10mv +-1mv at worst"
 
     Share This Post       
post-7635284
Post #568 of 1,058

viatraco

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 23, 2010
Messages
124
Reaction score
37
Location
Poland
Joined
Dec 23, 2010
Location
Poland
Posts
124
Likes
37
Scottiebabie wrote
"Muse's cap decoupled (ie.short'd out) measures a full 3.7v DC. yes thats a 3700mv for those of u not quite into the full volt. LOL! on the other hand, non of the amps (that i have & am using the Muse with) measures any substantial DC - 1-10mv +-1mv at worst"
 
     Share This Post       
post-7635457
Post #570 of 1,058

ardilla

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 21, 2010
Messages
4,637
Reaction score
217
Joined
Aug 21, 2010
Posts
4,637
Likes
217
Haha! 
 
AC-AC 12V (or any volt) will KILL your Muse DAC. Very efficiently. In ten seconds. I tried a 9V AC (without knowing) on the first muse which already had malfunctioned. It started to smell funny. 
 
Keep to DC output, positive center - and 9V
 
Quote:
You used the dacmagic's psu on this dac?
You realise that the dacmagic psu puts out a/c not d/c.
Definitely not suitable as far as i know.


 
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top