Koss PortaPro Review and Mods ("Concept" Review??!!11one)
Aug 15, 2010 at 11:56 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 4

cookie42

New Head-Fier
Hi all,

I am relatively new to audiophilia but I just felt like writing a review and ask some questions about these phones...and since I was told once to write about what you know, I'm going to center the brief review about Radiohead's In Rainbows. I don't purport to "know it", but I have listened to the album a good number of times, with a decent number of lower-end in ear and over ear and on ear headphones.

All in all, I really enjoy these headphones. The bass is pretty reactive to the music, and is able to capture drum-oriented music pretty well...

When I mentioned the drum-orientation I was not kidding. It seems like the PortaPro has a range ideal for capturing snare hits as well as bass hits and resonance in drums in a number of songs tested. In the first few lines of Weird Fishes/Arpeggi (most noticeable here), drum resonance is brought forward by the PortaPro, adding a new aspect to the music that I had never noticed before.

The "snappy" and more abrupt beats of Reckoner as well as 15 step (and the stylings of Thom Yorke in general) are also brought to the forefront of the music and are more pronounced and clear.

The warmth of these phones also seems to be a defining characteristic. Although the bass can detract from the detailing in the highs, the sound seems to be relatively clear.

Another pro of the portapro (uggh) is that because of the richer bass and more sustain in the bass, lower octave orchestral parts truly come to life. Cellos and basses sound beautiful with the portapros. Also, the phones seem to bring forth a bit of the lower register into play in acoustical music. (see the pattern yet?)