I'm reading a book for the first time in 5 months. I'm a freshman.
Aug 29, 2009 at 4:42 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 17

Benaiir

1000+ Head-Fier
I'm reading a book called "The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy" by Douglas Adams and so far - only one part was made me laugh/smile chuckle. It starts on page 34 and ends 3 paragraphs down the page and it reads:

" There was a slight whisper, a sudden spacious whisper of open ambient sound. Every hi-fi set in the world, every radio, every television, every cassette player recorder, every woofer, every tweeter, every mid-range driver in the world quietly turned itself on.
Every tin can, every dustbin, every window, every car, every wineglass, every sheet of rusty metal became activated as an acoustically perfect sounding board.
Before the Earth passed away it was going to be treated to the very ultimate in sound reproduction, the greatest public address system ever built. But there was no concert, no music, no fanfare, just a simple message."

Seems to be he's an audiophile
smily_headphones1.gif
This is the best summer reading ever.

Aug 29, 2009 at 6:30 AM Post #3 of 17
Read Kelley Armstrong, my favorite author. REALLY good supernatural romance-type with some nice action, great character development and by far simply the most enjoyable read I've ever had. I own every one of her books and usually finish them within 2 days of getting them... usually ending half-way at 4am the first day and finishing the second.
tongue.gif

Aug 29, 2009 at 8:12 PM Post #4 of 17
HGTTG is one of my favourite book series- I even like the movie. What can I say, the casting of Arthur was spot on. Not to mention Zooey Deschanel as Trillian...

Aug 29, 2009 at 8:18 PM Post #5 of 17
Hahah she was the best bit.
Ford was a bit odd though.

Anyway, great series, hope you enjoy it. You can pick up the volume with all five books sometimes for like $12 too.

Aug 29, 2009 at 8:45 PM Post #6 of 17