I'm complicated...I think. Need help.
May 14, 2011 at 3:22 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 19

uglysteve

Head-Fier
I'm a noob here at head-fi but I've been lurking and searching for a while but I can't find anyone with my same needs and tastes. I'm complicated it seems.

First off I consider myself an audiophile in that I love great sounding audio, whether it be movies, music or games. As for my tastes...I enjoy a wide variety of genres, from rock to bluegrass, pop to musicals, symphony to metal with a side of electronic/dance. I also spend a fair amount of time gaming on the PC. All of my music is archived in lossless quality files.

I do not have a studio or a sound proof room from which I can enjoy my music in a noise free environment. I also listen to things that I do not want my kids to hear. From what I gathered searching, Open headphones emulate a wider soundstage (not sure what that means) whereas Closed cans offer sound isolation and more bass response. Isolation and bass response are important to me..among other things.

The sound I'm looking for could best be described as Full Range. I want something that can replicate the subtle of picks on mandolin strings and fingers sliding up the fourth string on a banjo. I want something that can shake my ear drums when the stand up bass is hammering away in a ragtime song. I want something that handles loud lead guitar solos with ease and has tight punchy bass drums along with mellow bass of a bass guitar. Something that plays well with techno music played loud and metal as well. In summary, clear sharp highs, full rich vocals and midrange and strong bass when the music calls for it. I like it loud with no distortion or bottoming out.