iFi audio Pro iDSD (Official) - NEW Firmware - MQA and more.
post-14506396
Post #556 of 1,608

iFi audio

Sponsor: iFi Audio
Joined
Mar 20, 2013
Messages
6,913
Reaction score
3,672
Location
Location: HQ in the UK, but spread far and wide.
Joined
Mar 20, 2013
Location
Location: HQ in the UK, but spread far and wide.
Posts
6,913
Likes
3,672
Website
ifi-audio.com
Hi iFi, I know you mentioned non-Pro iDSD firmware there but just a friendly request to please leave non-Pro iDSD related announcements to other threads, just to avoid the confusion that the 5.3C firmware announcement caused earlier in this same thread.
Noted, but still we'll allow ourselves to propagate the iFi word where we can.
 
iFi audio Stay updated on iFi audio at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/iFiAudio/ https://twitter.com/ifiaudio https://www.instagram.com/ifiaudio/ https://ifi-audio.com/ info@ifi-audio.com
     Share This Post       
post-14507573
Post #557 of 1,608

lichie

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 25, 2018
Messages
194
Reaction score
104
Location
Seattle
Joined
Sep 25, 2018
Location
Seattle
Posts
194
Likes
104
Unfortunately I am having a lot of issues with this DAC. I just created an account here in hope that I can receive some support, seeing that ifi looks to be very active in this thread. Please excuse me if there is a firmware fix for these problems out there already! I looked around and couldn't find any on the ifi website but I could be looking in the wrong places. Also apologies if this has been reported in this thread already, but I could not feasibly check all pages of the thread.

First, and the more minor issue, is that often when switching to a new song, the pro idsd takes a second or two to start playing and I miss the first couple seconds of the song. I find that this only happens with high res files, almost always only 24/192. Pressing play again usually works. This could be an issue with Roon but I haven't experienced it with any of my other dacs. This is a problem I can probably live with considering it never happens when letting playback naturally move to the next track, and only when explicitly pressing play to start a new song.

The next issue is a deal breaker and I will be returning the DAC if it can't be resolved with some kind of firmware fix very soon.

When playing ANY file with lower sampling rate, I am getting very audible random popping noises. I am able to reproduce this with both 16 and 24 bit, 44.1khz and 48khz. I have not been able to reproduce the popping with files of higher sampling rate. No matter which file I play, I will get 5-10 loud pops throughout the song at seemingly random points. I have been able to reproduce this on all digital filter and DSD upsampling combinations, including with no upsampling. I've reproduced the issue with 4 different headphones and 3 different amps. Switching out the Pro iDSD with my Mytek Brooklyn DAC+ and keeping everything else the exact same (except usb2 vs usb3 cable) makes the problem go away.

Is anyone else able to reproduce this issue?
 
     Share This Post       
post-14507624
Post #558 of 1,608
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Messages
17,078
Reaction score
9,826
Location
Fukuoka, Japan
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Location
Fukuoka, Japan
Posts
17,078
Likes
9,826
Website
www.hear.reviews
More details about your set-up would help, such as how it is connected and what settings you've changed in Roon, if any.

If you're having delays with a DAC when switching between songs of different bit rates, you could try setting the re-sync delay in the Device Settings for the iDSD in Roon.

Popping would be the result of whatever computer or transport you're using having issues sending data to the DAC.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14507628
Post #559 of 1,608

youurayy

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 7, 2016
Messages
336
Reaction score
86
Joined
Aug 7, 2016
Posts
336
Likes
86
often when switching to a new song, the pro idsd takes a second or two to start playing
very audible random popping noises
just a few suggestions:

- try to remove other USB devices (mainly USB hubs), to see if the problems go away
- as an example, when I had problems pushing DSD512 from my PC (popping), i discovered it was the Razer sofware/devices, and the problem went away when I disabled lighting effects on those devices
- i also had some problems with Roon and i believe it was their problem (so Roon isn't perfect IMO), so try other players
- try to adjust the buffer settings in the iFi driver app (sits in the task bar icon)
 
     Share This Post       
post-14508429
Post #560 of 1,608

iFi audio

Sponsor: iFi Audio
Joined
Mar 20, 2013
Messages
6,913
Reaction score
3,672
Location
Location: HQ in the UK, but spread far and wide.
Joined
Mar 20, 2013
Location
Location: HQ in the UK, but spread far and wide.
Posts
6,913
Likes
3,672
Website
ifi-audio.com
Unfortunately I am having a lot of issues with this DAC. I just created an account here in hope that I can receive some support, seeing that ifi looks to be very active in this thread. Please excuse me if there is a firmware fix for these problems out there already! I looked around and couldn't find any on the ifi website but I could be looking in the wrong places. Also apologies if this has been reported in this thread already, but I could not feasibly check all pages of the thread.

First, and the more minor issue, is that often when switching to a new song, the pro idsd takes a second or two to start playing and I miss the first couple seconds of the song. I find that this only happens with high res files, almost always only 24/192. Pressing play again usually works. This could be an issue with Roon but I haven't experienced it with any of my other dacs. This is a problem I can probably live with considering it never happens when letting playback naturally move to the next track, and only when explicitly pressing play to start a new song.

The next issue is a deal breaker and I will be returning the DAC if it can't be resolved with some kind of firmware fix very soon.

When playing ANY file with lower sampling rate, I am getting very audible random popping noises. I am able to reproduce this with both 16 and 24 bit, 44.1khz and 48khz. I have not been able to reproduce the popping with files of higher sampling rate. No matter which file I play, I will get 5-10 loud pops throughout the song at seemingly random points. I have been able to reproduce this on all digital filter and DSD upsampling combinations, including with no upsampling. I've reproduced the issue with 4 different headphones and 3 different amps. Switching out the Pro iDSD with my Mytek Brooklyn DAC+ and keeping everything else the exact same (except usb2 vs usb3 cable) makes the problem go away.

Is anyone else able to reproduce this issue?
You can also shoot us a message here: http://support.ifi-audio.com/index.php

We're sure that our tech staff will help you out!
 
iFi audio Stay updated on iFi audio at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/iFiAudio/ https://twitter.com/ifiaudio https://www.instagram.com/ifiaudio/ https://ifi-audio.com/ info@ifi-audio.com
     Share This Post       
post-14508650
Post #561 of 1,608

flyte3333

Previously known as Em2016
Joined
Jan 21, 2017
Messages
1,243
Reaction score
400
Joined
Jan 21, 2017
Posts
1,243
Likes
400
When playing ANY file with lower sampling rate, I am getting very audible random popping noises. I am able to reproduce this with both 16 and 24 bit, 44.1khz and 48khz. I have not been able to reproduce the popping with files of higher sampling rate. No matter which file I play, I will get 5-10 loud pops throughout the song at seemingly random points. I have been able to reproduce this on all digital filter and DSD upsampling combinations, including with no upsampling. I've reproduced the issue with 4 different headphones and 3 different amps. Switching out the Pro iDSD with my Mytek Brooklyn DAC+ and keeping everything else the exact same (except usb2 vs usb3 cable) makes the problem go away.

Is anyone else able to reproduce this issue?
Yes I've heard these same pops too with Roon playing bit perfectly. The exact same chain (cables and USB source) for me has no issues with Roon + HQPlayer DSD512...

And Roon playing bit perfectly with other DACs have no issues.

Somebody else earlier in this thread reported pops also.

I use HQPlayer with DSD512 almost exclusively now so I don't hear the issue anymore but the issue was there with CD quality Roon bit perfect playback for me.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14508676
Post #562 of 1,608

lichie

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 25, 2018
Messages
194
Reaction score
104
Location
Seattle
Joined
Sep 25, 2018
Location
Seattle
Posts
194
Likes
104
Yes I've heard these same pops too with Roon playing bit perfectly. The exact same chain (cables and USB source) for me has no issues with Roon + HQPlayer DSD512...

And Roon playing bit perfectly with other DACs have no issues.

Somebody else earlier in this thread reported pops also.

I use HQPlayer with DSD512 almost exclusively now so I don't hear the issue anymore but the issue was there with CD quality Roon bit perfect playback for me.
I forgot to mention in my first post that I experience the popping with any music player i've tried, including Roon (wasapi and asio), foobar2k (wasapi), VLC, and even the default groove music player in windows 10. I've uninstalled all other USB drivers for my other DACs, reinstalled the ifi driver, rebooted my computer and the Pro iDSD multiple times, unplugged all other USB devices, and yet the problem still persists. 48khz and lower PCM files are still the only ones affected. It does sound like it could be a buffering problem so I will continue playing with the buffering settings in the driver options and see if I have any luck...
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14508685
Post #563 of 1,608

flyte3333

Previously known as Em2016
Joined
Jan 21, 2017
Messages
1,243
Reaction score
400
Joined
Jan 21, 2017
Posts
1,243
Likes
400
It does sound like it could be a buffering problem so I will continue playing with the buffering settings in the driver options and see if I have any luck...
Possible but for me, the EXACT same chain (cables and source) handles DSD512 without issues... if it was a buffering issue at my end, you would think it would reveal itself with DSD512...
 
     Share This Post       
post-14510093
Post #564 of 1,608

gordec

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 14, 2006
Messages
1,276
Reaction score
588
Joined
Aug 14, 2006
Posts
1,276
Likes
588
Is there anyway to force internet connection to Ethernet and turn off wifi?
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: flyte3333
post-14510098
Post #565 of 1,608

gordec

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 14, 2006
Messages
1,276
Reaction score
588
Joined
Aug 14, 2006
Posts
1,276
Likes
588
Yep. That is still USB by the way.

I'm using HQPayer Embedded up-sampling to DSD512. Really enjoying it.
Do you hear any difference with PC-> USB to Pro iDSD compared to ultrarendu to Pro iDSD? I wonder if it’s worth the change. I have a Paul Pang USB card and a Jitterbug in the chain, so the signal is pretty clean. It’s I can hear a difference even small, I would be happy to go the Rendu route.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14510421
Post #566 of 1,608

flyte3333

Previously known as Em2016
Joined
Jan 21, 2017
Messages
1,243
Reaction score
400
Joined
Jan 21, 2017
Posts
1,243
Likes
400
Do you hear any difference with PC-> USB to Pro iDSD compared to ultrarendu to Pro iDSD? I wonder if it’s worth the change. I have a Paul Pang USB card and a Jitterbug in the chain, so the signal is pretty clean. It’s I can hear a difference even small, I would be happy to go the Rendu route.
I use the Rendu because my HQP Embedded (Linux) server is now far away. So I haven’t compared the direct connection to the server. The Rendu is probably up there as one of the best USB sources (signal integrity) but having said that I’m sure the Pro iDSD’s USB input is well sorted.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14513562
Post #567 of 1,608

GHoldridge

Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 15, 2015
Messages
83
Reaction score
18
Joined
Oct 15, 2015
Posts
83
Likes
18
Man I want the idsd pro bad it would be nice to consolidate my stuff into the 2 units.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14514875
Post #568 of 1,608

KotBegemot

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 25, 2015
Messages
33
Reaction score
10
Location
NYC
Joined
Oct 25, 2015
Location
NYC
Posts
33
Likes
10
Noted, but still we'll allow ourselves to propagate the iFi word where we can.
Dear Sir, Just bought the unit from IFI shop at the amazon. There are issues with remote control of the volume... Takes a while to change it when pressing even when in direct line of sight. Sometimes pressing the "-" button INCREASES the volume ....

When I turn off the display, the remote control no longer works... When I press to turn the dispaly back on then the volume goes higher, as thou to compensate for the previous command... Also: Unable to use DSD up-scaling , or use any other filters... when using the USB input. Using the filter change knob gives "DSD Remaster OFF " message, and unable to turn it on!...and is only stays at the BIT -Perfect mode at PCM 32-768.. nothing else.. . Tried pressing and various sequences... Those other filters appear when in the XLR mode. I do however see the new GTO filter mentined here, but unable to set it ...The firmware is 1.60..... The unit sounds great. Please advise, I ve set up a request help number on your support web, but its been 3 days and gotten no replies. Thanks so much
 
     Share This Post       
post-14514936
Post #569 of 1,608

iFi audio

Sponsor: iFi Audio
Joined
Mar 20, 2013
Messages
6,913
Reaction score
3,672
Location
Location: HQ in the UK, but spread far and wide.
Joined
Mar 20, 2013
Location
Location: HQ in the UK, but spread far and wide.
Posts
6,913
Likes
3,672
Website
ifi-audio.com
Dear Sir, Just bought the unit from IFI shop at the amazon. There are issues with remote control of the volume... Takes a while to change it when pressing even when in direct line of sight. Sometimes pressing the "-" button INCREASES the volume ....

When I turn off the display, the remote control no longer works... When I press to turn the dispaly back on then the volume goes higher, as thou to compensate for the previous command... Also: Unable to use DSD up-scaling , or use any other filters... when using the USB input. Using the filter change knob gives "DSD Remaster OFF " message, and unable to turn it on!...and is only stays at the BIT -Perfect mode at PCM 32-768.. nothing else.. . Tried pressing and various sequences... Those other filters appear when in the XLR mode. I do however see the new GTO filter mentined here, but unable to set it ...The firmware is 1.60..... The unit sounds great. Please advise, I ve set up a request help number on your support web, but its been 3 days and gotten no replies. Thanks so much
Thank you for bringing this up. We'll check your case and will get back to you shortly.
 
iFi audio Stay updated on iFi audio at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/iFiAudio/ https://twitter.com/ifiaudio https://www.instagram.com/ifiaudio/ https://ifi-audio.com/ info@ifi-audio.com
     Share This Post       
post-14514956
Post #570 of 1,608

iFi audio

Sponsor: iFi Audio
Joined
Mar 20, 2013
Messages
6,913
Reaction score
3,672
Location
Location: HQ in the UK, but spread far and wide.
Joined
Mar 20, 2013
Location
Location: HQ in the UK, but spread far and wide.
Posts
6,913
Likes
3,672
Website
ifi-audio.com
iFi audio Stay updated on iFi audio at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/iFiAudio/ https://twitter.com/ifiaudio https://www.instagram.com/ifiaudio/ https://ifi-audio.com/ info@ifi-audio.com
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 2)

Top