IEM Recommendations: Motorcycling!
Jan 28, 2011 at 12:15 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 22

Xitomatl

New Head-Fier
Hello audiophiles!

I've never used an IEM before.  I do, however, really like high quality audio.  I've been considering highly the Sennheiser IE 7's.  The best headphones I have ever used are Sennheiser HD 280 Pro, which I own.  I think they sound great connected to my home stereo receiver.  They are, however, the only >$50 headphones I've ever heard before, so I don't know how good it gets.  I'd love to find out!

The main reason I started looking at IEM's is because I ride a motorcycle and I wear a full face helmet.  The little bud things from Apple won't stay in place when I put my helmet on over them, and once the helmet is on, I can't get a finger in there to adjust things.  I need an IEM that is low profile and sticks in there well enough to survive the helmet mounting process.  Also, too much noise attenuation would be bad, as I want to be able to hear traffic around me a little bit.  The IE 7 has that wire-over-the-ear fit that may actually really help with the helmet, and it's low-profile to boot.  The problem is that I'm reading that they are awfully warm and bass heavy.  True?

I like punchy, very capable bass, as I listen to some hip hop and electronic stuff, but I don't want the stand up bass player in a jazz quartet to be dominating.  Maybe you could say I don't want it too warm sounding.  I love crystal clear highs and am willing to hear some hissing and artifacts in lower quality recordings in order to have faithful recreations of the female voice and to pick out all the cymbals, etc.

These will be used with an ipod and a Toshiba laptop almost exclusively.

It would be hard for me to stomach paying more than $150.  I'm on 6.8% student loans for the next 3.5 years.  I found manufacturer refurbished IE 7's for $100 through dakmart, an authorized reseller.  I'm very tempted.