Headphones With Best Soundstage In All Directions?
Apr 8, 2023 at 5:09 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 44

djentbat

100+ Head-Fier
I’ve been using an hifiman Ananda for almost two months now and enjoy the signature, imaging, and soundstage.

I would describe the soundstage as vertical/tall sounding. But not a lot of action from left to right.

I got to demo the HD800s yesterday for about 30 minutes and was left a bit unimpressed in that the soundstage while it was great felt like it was mainly just horizontal (left to right) and the instrument separation wasn’t as good as the anandas.

With that being said at first at thought the HD800s would be my endgame but I was left a little disappointed.

Are there any headphones that excel at a “360” soundstage?

Apr 8, 2023 at 5:31 PM Post #2 of 44
Maybe earspeakers are for you.

Apr 8, 2023 at 7:15 PM Post #4 of 44
Apr 8, 2023 at 9:09 PM Post #7 of 44
Audio Technica adh1000x which always impresses me with the ability to hear behind me in games. I've had the hd800s and it's technically great but wouldn't use them every day. If it's all directions sound stage the 1000x will do it.

Apr 8, 2023 at 9:49 PM Post #8 of 44
I’ve been using an hifiman Ananda for almost two months now and enjoy the signature, imaging, and soundstage.

I would describe the soundstage as vertical/tall sounding. But not a lot of action from left to right.

I got to demo the HD800s yesterday for about 30 minutes and was left a bit unimpressed in that the soundstage while it was great felt like it was mainly just horizontal (left to right) and the instrument separation wasn’t as good as the anandas.

With that being said at first at thought the HD800s would be my endgame but I was left a little disappointed.

Are there any headphones that excel at a “360” soundstage?
Was the amp driving 800's an OTL and/or of high quality? They are very fussy.

Apr 8, 2023 at 9:56 PM Post #10 of 44