Grado PS500 with Asus Xonar Essence ST Sound Card
Jun 7, 2012 at 4:53 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 12

JoelS87

New Head-Fier
Hi,

I'm looking at getting the Grado PS500 to pair with my Asus Xonar Essence ST card.
I own the Senn PC360, Westone 4 and Bose Quiet Comfort and Bowers & Wilkins P5 so as you can see, I'm really new to high end headphones. Despite doing research online, it is hard to actually understand what is being said.

I have a few questions and would be grateful if anyone could help enlighten me:

1) Do I need an AMP? I'll be using the grado PS500 with my PC.
I understand that getting an AMP will increase sound quality but I can't afford an expensive one at the moment.
What amp would you recommend to pair with the ps500? Whats an okay amp? And whats a highly recommended one (so I can start saving for it)?

2) I listen to a variety of music. Classical. Heavy Metal. Pop. Old Skool RocknRoll. Triphop. Ambience. Prog Metal.
My favourite band is TOOL though currently I've been listening to a lot of Lana Del Rey, Puscifer and Mazzy Star and the occasional lamb of god.
Would you recommend the Gardo ps500? 
I read up online where people would compare the ps500 to the sr1i, he500 and hd650. 
Out of these 4 headphones, given the kind of music I listen to, which would you recommend?

3) Question about impedance: I read somewhere that if headphones have low impedance and you connect it to a powerful amp, it will blow up? According to the xonar essence st website, the sound card supports up to 600ohms -- will this be detrimental to the ps500 since it is only 36ohms? 

Thank you for taking the time to read my questions.
Advice appreciated!

Best,
J

Jun 7, 2012 at 5:03 PM Post #2 of 12
I own three pairs of Grados and the PS500s are my favorite. I even prefer them over the Beyerdynamic T1, which are double the price. Don't get me wrong, I love my T1s...but I love the Grados just a tad more.