Fully balanced rig v.s Intro Stats rig - which one?
Oct 12, 2008 at 4:16 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 57

Lil' Knight

Headphoneus Supremus
I'm not sure if it fits the "hi-end" or not. If not, some mods please help me move it to the Heaphones section.

Well, I'm having trouble deciding between keeping discover the dynamic world or jumping into the stats wonder land.

I've sold all my singled-end stuffs (amps, cable) to fund for the new rig. The only cans I have in hands now is HD-650. I'm thinking about the fully balanced rig with the forth-coming Cambridge Audio MagicDAC and balanced M^3.

And then a headfier suggested me to think about stats. And now the drama begins. My budget for the stat headphones and amps is only about 1000$
frown.gif
Really can't strech more cos I'm still a freshman in college. Due to my little knowledge about stats, the only 2 rigs I've thought so far are Koss ESP 950 system and Stax SRM-1/MK2. They look to have to same price range. I can stretch a little more if needed.

Please keep in mind that I DO love my HD650 and don't find any flaw with it. Its warm, layered and bassy sounding is forever my favorite.

Now the question, do you think what's better for me? And why?

And if that'll be the stats, which one of those 2 rigs above is better for my favorite.

Thanks a lot for reading.

Oct 12, 2008 at 4:53 PM Post #2 of 57
I'm going down the same path: balanced dynamic with great amp vs 'stats. My conclusions so far: nothing beats high-end 'stats, but a great balanced dynamic HP with the right amp beats entry-level 'stats.

So balance your HD650s, perhaps the Zu (I like it), and get the right amp, which is in fact now being discussed in another thread:

http://www.head-fi.org/forums/f5/vot...-650-a-370607/

You've got double my # of posts, so I hate to give advice, but I have to say: why trade your love for the 650's for an unknown? Improve the 650's!