FiiO M9 , Android based Hi-Res smart DAP with 3.5/2.5 powerful output|AKM4490 X2 |WiFi|aptX/aptX HD/LDAC/HWA(LHDC)|USB DAC|USB AUDIO OUT
Feb 1, 2019 at 12:49 AM Post #1,456 of 2,493

gLer

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 27, 2017
Posts
7,181
Likes
12,202
Location
Tatooine
Is anyone else having a problem switching from balanced to single ended? I’m wondering if it’s perhaps a firmware issue.
I don’t understand your problem. The 3.5mm output is SE, and the 2.5mm output is balanced. A single ended cable goes in the one, and a balanced cable goes in the other - and not at the same time! The M9 doesn’t ‘switch’ between SE and balanced - you do, buy using the appropriate cable. So if your balanced cable is damaged, use a SE cable with your IEMs or headphones and plug them into the SE output (3.5mm).
 
Feb 1, 2019 at 12:56 AM Post #1,457 of 2,493

deadhead12

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Posts
560
Likes
49
I don’t understand your problem. The 3.5mm output is SE, and the 2.5mm output is balanced. A single ended cable goes in the one, and a balanced cable goes in the other - and not at the same time! The M9 doesn’t ‘switch’ between SE and balanced - you do, buy using the appropriate cable. So if your balanced cable is damaged, use a SE cable with your IEMs or headphones and plug them into the SE output (3.5mm).

When I plug my headphones in via the 3.5mm the m9 will not play. I can hear a static sound when turned to 120/120. The M9 is still outputting to the 2.5mm output even though there is no plug in the 2.5 socket. Whatever circuitry that’s supposed to switch outputs based on what’s plugged in is not being triggered. Basically my 3.5mm output quit working.
 
Feb 1, 2019 at 1:36 AM Post #1,458 of 2,493

gLer

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 27, 2017
Posts
7,181
Likes
12,202
Location
Tatooine
When I plug my headphones in via the 3.5mm the m9 will not play. I can hear a static sound when turned to 120/120. The M9 is still outputting to the 2.5mm output even though there is no plug in the 2.5 socket. Whatever circuitry that’s supposed to switch outputs based on what’s plugged in is not being triggered. Basically my 3.5mm output quit working.
Sounds to me like you have a faulty M9 then. Try a different 3.5mm cable, and if that doesn’t work, send the M9 back for repair or replacement since it’s still under warranty.
 
Feb 1, 2019 at 3:25 PM Post #1,460 of 2,493

deadhead12

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Posts
560
Likes
49
Sounds to me like you have a faulty M9 then. Try a different 3.5mm cable, and if that doesn’t work, send the M9 back for repair or replacement since it’s still under warranty.
I contacted Fiio support, but it looks like they're on holiday. I did drop my device a few weeks ago, so I'm not sure if I'm screwed on the warranty. I didn't have problems with switching between a 3.5 and 2.5 until the new firmware update. I should have a new 2.5mm cable tomorrow.
 
Feb 1, 2019 at 4:36 PM Post #1,461 of 2,493

dharmasteve

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 1, 2014
Posts
2,264
Likes
4,444
Location
London, England
I've just asked this about the FiiO M6 on that thread. Question for you guys. How does the FiiO M9 compare, soundwise, to the Earstudio ES100 as an LDAC Bluetooth receiver? Has anyone compared?
 
Feb 1, 2019 at 8:48 PM Post #1,463 of 2,493

FiiO

Sponsor: FiiO
Joined
Jul 30, 2008
Posts
7,918
Likes
4,333
Location
Guangzhou,China
Anyone else having problems with the Sony Connect app since the new firmware update? I can't get my XM3s to connect at all. The app throws up error messages about location being needed to open, and then it loops causing me to have to reboot the M9. Was working fine before on 1.0.3.
Dear friend,

Please try to do a factory restore from settings menu and try again.

Or you could enter settings- general -apps-tidal -clear data. Then restart the Tidal APP.

Best regards
 
FiiO Stay updated on FiiO at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/FiiOAUDIO https://twitter.com/FiiO_official https://www.instagram.com/fiioofficial/ https://www.fiio.com support@fiio.com
Feb 1, 2019 at 8:50 PM Post #1,464 of 2,493

FiiO

Sponsor: FiiO
Joined
Jul 30, 2008
Posts
7,918
Likes
4,333
Location
Guangzhou,China
May I ask you, FiiO?

Is any FiiO Balanced 4.4 device coming soon? BTR5? New Dap?
Dear friend,

Can not provide more information currently. Stay tuned.

Best regards
 
FiiO Stay updated on FiiO at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/FiiOAUDIO https://twitter.com/FiiO_official https://www.instagram.com/fiioofficial/ https://www.fiio.com support@fiio.com
Feb 1, 2019 at 8:53 PM Post #1,465 of 2,493

FiiO

Sponsor: FiiO
Joined
Jul 30, 2008
Posts
7,918
Likes
4,333
Location
Guangzhou,China
Is your main issue that the download is slow?

@FiiO

Stagger your pushes of OTA by region/serial to reduce load on your server. Either pay for more servers around the world and do some dynamic load balancing or ability to spin up more servers as need be (AWS etc) or stagger them.

Staggering means you use some methodology to NOT have everyone try for an OTA update at once. If you can't do region based staggering, do a random serial based one for example

Day 0, hour 0: Push OTA to devices serial 0-200
Day 0, hour 4, serial 201-400
....
.......
Day 2, allow full unrestricted all serial downloading at any time.
Dear friend,

We did not receive many feedback about that currently. But we will still report to the engineer for checking about that. Thanks for the feedback.

Best regards
 
FiiO Stay updated on FiiO at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/FiiOAUDIO https://twitter.com/FiiO_official https://www.instagram.com/fiioofficial/ https://www.fiio.com support@fiio.com
Feb 1, 2019 at 8:55 PM Post #1,466 of 2,493

FiiO

Sponsor: FiiO
Joined
Jul 30, 2008
Posts
7,918
Likes
4,333
Location
Guangzhou,China
is there anyone who has shutdown itself issue when playing music after upgrading to fw 1.04 ?
mine suddenly shutdown itself twice when playing songs. i wonder why
Dear friend,

Did you maybe turn on the power-off timers option? Please do a factory restore and check again.

Best regards
 
FiiO Stay updated on FiiO at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/FiiOAUDIO https://twitter.com/FiiO_official https://www.instagram.com/fiioofficial/ https://www.fiio.com support@fiio.com
Feb 1, 2019 at 8:57 PM Post #1,467 of 2,493

FiiO

Sponsor: FiiO
Joined
Jul 30, 2008
Posts
7,918
Likes
4,333
Location
Guangzhou,China
I accidentally bent my balanced plug, but now I have a problem with my M9 where it wont switch to single ended. My balanced plug bent in my pocket, it was not connected to the m9 when the damage happened. Is there a way to force my M9 to output to single ended?
Dear friend,

You could have a factory restore first. And check the balanced port of your M9 as well.

Best regards
 
FiiO Stay updated on FiiO at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/FiiOAUDIO https://twitter.com/FiiO_official https://www.instagram.com/fiioofficial/ https://www.fiio.com support@fiio.com
Feb 2, 2019 at 1:57 AM Post #1,468 of 2,493

officerdibble

Head-Fier
Joined
May 7, 2016
Posts
75
Likes
34
Location
UK
Hey All!

I am interested in the M9. But I have a few questions that would help my decision to purchase.

1. If using the Roon application will the M9 output bit perfect audio via Coax/USB?
2. I currently use the Radsone Earstudio bluetooth DAC/Amp and Pixel 2 out to my Sennheiser IE800s over LDAC. Will the M9 sound better? Has anyone compared this?
3. Can the M9 be controlled by my Pixel 2 to play Qobuz music stored offline on the M9?

Many thanks in advance!
 
Feb 2, 2019 at 2:41 AM Post #1,469 of 2,493

frustration101

New Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 5, 2018
Posts
47
Likes
8
Location
Scotland
Dear friend,

Please try to do a factory restore from settings menu and try again.

Or you could enter settings- general -apps-tidal -clear data. Then restart the Tidal APP.

Best regards
Stupid question- will factory reset and clearing data from Tidal result in losing my EQ settings and Tidal downloads?
Really don’t want that to happen!
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top