DT770 600Ω - where's the bass??
Apr 13, 2011 at 12:46 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 17

teofilrocks

500+ Head-Fier
You're probably thinking "it's 600Ω, idiot, you need a good headphone amp." Well, those are both very good points (I am an idiot, and I do need a good amp). I have a Chinese tube headphone amp, completely entry level. Running 2-E88CCs and a 12AT7, it drives my 250Ω DT990 PROs great, bass thumps. It's so fun to listen to. The 770s, which are supposed to be heavy handed with the bass, seem to have forgotten the bass at home. This is besides sounding hollow. Is it that much more difficult to drive 600Ω over 250Ω?

You might also be thinking I'm not an expert in this arena. You would be correct. Perhaps it's a combination of my amp not delivering enough power, the different signatures of my headphones, and my personal tastes. What do you think is going on here?

Apr 13, 2011 at 2:08 PM Post #2 of 17
I think you've answered your own question... have you not tried them from another source, perhaps a receiver or CD/DVD player to see if it makes a difference? Hollow is definitely the right word to describe underpowered headphones; instruments will be lacking weight, voices showing no intimacy.

Apr 13, 2011 at 2:25 PM Post #3 of 17
Yea, I usually try to not post until I think I've got the answer, at which point I second-guess myself and post. I've tried the 770s from my MacPro headphone jack and the headphone jack from my powered computer speakers. They all sound about the same, which is to say - not that good. I'm guessing the FiiO E7/E9 combo I was looking at wouldn't fare much better? Don't want to drop $350 on a Valhalla if I'm not going to keep my 600Ω cans.

Apr 13, 2011 at 2:36 PM Post #4 of 17
Sounds like a case of not enough juice. M^3 to DT770-600 is certainly not what I call bass-deficient. The 600 ohms are definitely a different beast from the 80 ohms in terms of bass quantity though. If you really want bass, those are the Beyers you want to go for.