Cowon Plenue 2 - Taking it a step further.
post-14349171
Post #781 of 929

Gorf

Head-Fier
Joined
May 22, 2017
Messages
82
Reaction score
4
Location
Isle of Man
Joined
May 22, 2017
Location
Isle of Man
Posts
82
Likes
4
Thanks for the heads-up Tiddlywinks.

Note to mk2 owners that this update is for the P2 only.

The battery must be fully charged before firmware upgrade.
Do not reset PLENUE 2 during firmware upgrade.
Backup any important files in PLENUE 2 to your PC before firmware upgrade.
Please use firmware that COWON authorizes only.
JetEffect values might be initialized after firmware upgrade. Please record any important values.
This is a firmware exclusively for PLENUE 2. For PLENUE 2 Mark II apply firmware accordingly.
Please do not apply this firmware on PLENUE 2 Mark II.

http://www.cowonglobal.com/zeroboard/zboard.php?id=C08&no=607
 
     Share This Post       
post-14349221
Post #783 of 929

Gorf

Head-Fier
Joined
May 22, 2017
Messages
82
Reaction score
4
Location
Isle of Man
Joined
May 22, 2017
Location
Isle of Man
Posts
82
Likes
4
I think you need to contact Cowon or your supplier. :triportsad:
 
     Share This Post       
post-14349252
Post #784 of 929

Gorf

Head-Fier
Joined
May 22, 2017
Messages
82
Reaction score
4
Location
Isle of Man
Joined
May 22, 2017
Location
Isle of Man
Posts
82
Likes
4
Plenue P2 mk II colours.

The Mark II is marketed as having a "Glamorous Jupiter Gold" colour. In the images on the Cowon site, this is shown as a bronzed pink colour, not unlike the iPhone Rose Gold.

Here's a an image from http://www.cowonglobal.com/product_wide/PLENUE2/product_page_6.php


I don't like that colour. In fact, I held off buying for several months & was seriously considering buying the regular P2 instead. Eventually I was swayed by the increased specs & placed my order. Once my player arrived, I was surprised to find that it was silver. In fact, I thought that I had been sent the wrong version & spent several hours checking that I had the right model.

Here is the actual colour:

DSC_1017s.jpg


You will see that it's silver, perhaps a warm silver. I'm a photographer, there is no lighting condition where the Mark 2 even approaches the pink of the website images, unless I suppose you use red gels or reflectors. Strong sunlight warms the image a touch more, but that's about it. I am very pleased with the silver colour, but if I had wanted a pink DAP, I would have been disappointed. I am annoyed though, at Cowon's highly misleading images.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14350010
Post #785 of 929

JLW654

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 23, 2017
Messages
342
Reaction score
59
Location
UK Nottinghamshire.
Joined
Dec 23, 2017
Location
UK Nottinghamshire.
Posts
342
Likes
59
FYI new firmware for Plenue 2 on Cowon (Korea) site - V2.10 (2018-07-09 14:09:56)
Features translates - using Microsoft Translator as:

-Hearing protection settings (settings/system/hearing protection) *
-ALAC playback capability improvement (32bit file)
-32bit 1-channel WAV file support
-Certain 8bit APE file playback error correction
-Improved playlist management **
* Hearing protection when removing the earphones volume for reset operation is set, the function
' entry into the European Union is set to "only if it is outside the hearing protection.
** The name of the browser's CUE/SACD has been changed to Playlists tab.

I don't have a Plenue 2 but watching, hope to get one day.
Just a note:
This is a firmware exclusively for PLENUE 2. For PLENUE 2 Mark II apply firmware accordingly.
Please do not apply this firmware on PLENUE 2 Mark II.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14350030
Post #786 of 929

JLW654

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 23, 2017
Messages
342
Reaction score
59
Location
UK Nottinghamshire.
Joined
Dec 23, 2017
Location
UK Nottinghamshire.
Posts
342
Likes
59
Plenue P2 mk II colours.

The Mark II is marketed as having a "Glamorous Jupiter Gold" colour. In the images on the Cowon site, this is shown as a bronzed pink colour, not unlike the iPhone Rose Gold.

Here's a an image from http://www.cowonglobal.com/product_wide/PLENUE2/product_page_6.php


I don't like that colour. In fact, I held off buying for several months & was seriously considering buying the regular P2 instead. Eventually I was swayed by the increased specs & placed my order. Once my player arrived, I was surprised to find that it was silver. In fact, I thought that I had been sent the wrong version & spent several hours checking that I had the right model.

Here is the actual colour:



You will see that it's silver, perhaps a warm silver. I'm a photographer, there is no lighting condition where the Mark 2 even approaches the pink of the website images, unless I suppose you use red reflectors. Strong sunlight warms the image a touch more, but that's about it. I am very pleased with the silver colour, but if I had wanted a pink DAP, I would have been disappointed. I am annoyed though, at Cowon's highly misleading images.
Just going back to your earlier post re the mojo used with Plenue, I just had a play and using with optical out to optical into mojo, I don't understand something. Could easily be me being really thick but headphones in the mojo and I can still change the sound by using the plenue equaliser?? I thought I was just supplying the mojo with a file to use the mojo for sound conversion by the mojo dac??? If so how come the plenue changes the sound, totally confused...
 
     Share This Post       
post-14351461
Post #787 of 929

Gorf

Head-Fier
Joined
May 22, 2017
Messages
82
Reaction score
4
Location
Isle of Man
Joined
May 22, 2017
Location
Isle of Man
Posts
82
Likes
4
Just going back to your earlier post re the mojo used with Plenue, I just had a play and using with optical out to optical into mojo, I don't understand something. Could easily be me being really thick but headphones in the mojo and I can still change the sound by using the plenue equaliser?? I thought I was just supplying the mojo with a file to use the mojo for sound conversion by the mojo dac??? If so how come the plenue changes the sound, totally confused...
Yup, I know. The Mojo seems to add to the Plenue sound. I don't know whether the Mojo just tales over the DAC bit & leaves the pre-amp work to the Plenue. The optical seems to fix the Plenue volume at 50, but it's definitely using some of the Plenue sound circuits. I'm not sure that Cowon would bother to help with advice, but I'll contact Chord who always seem to be very helpful.

How do your earphones sound with the Mojo?
 
     Share This Post       
post-14351639
Post #788 of 929

Hi-Fi'er

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 12, 2009
Messages
1,939
Reaction score
548
Location
CA
Joined
Jan 12, 2009
Location
CA
Posts
1,939
Likes
548
Just going back to your earlier post re the mojo used with Plenue, I just had a play and using with optical out to optical into mojo, I don't understand something. Could easily be me being really thick but headphones in the mojo and I can still change the sound by using the plenue equaliser?? I thought I was just supplying the mojo with a file to use the mojo for sound conversion by the mojo dac??? If so how come the plenue changes the sound, totally confused...
If there is a sound change it's likely due to that when you output of a device, you may still be able to send the DPS effect to the out line. This is common on devices that do not have a true line out. So although it may bypass the DAC it may include the DSP. Simple solution, turn it all off an
Well too late.
Any way to undo this horrendous mistake?
No stock firmware download?
No real customer support from Cowon?

Thanks for any help in advance?
You can't install the previous version V1.20? I don't see why you can't put those back on and update again.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14351727
Post #789 of 929

Gorf

Head-Fier
Joined
May 22, 2017
Messages
82
Reaction score
4
Location
Isle of Man
Joined
May 22, 2017
Location
Isle of Man
Posts
82
Likes
4
An ultra quick response from Chord Electronics.

However all they could say was that they they believed Cowon did "at least part" of it's DSP processing before decoding takes place.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14352084
Post #790 of 929

JLW654

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 23, 2017
Messages
342
Reaction score
59
Location
UK Nottinghamshire.
Joined
Dec 23, 2017
Location
UK Nottinghamshire.
Posts
342
Likes
59
Yup, I know. The Mojo seems to add to the Plenue sound. I don't know whether the Mojo just tales over the DAC bit & leaves the pre-amp work to the Plenue. The optical seems to fix the Plenue volume at 50, but it's definitely using some of the Plenue sound circuits. I'm not sure that Cowon would bother to help with advice, but I'll contact Chord who always seem to be very helpful.

How do your earphones sound with the Mojo?
They sound "confusing!" because the Cowon is changing the sound before it reaches the mojo.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14352090
Post #791 of 929

JLW654

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 23, 2017
Messages
342
Reaction score
59
Location
UK Nottinghamshire.
Joined
Dec 23, 2017
Location
UK Nottinghamshire.
Posts
342
Likes
59
If there is a sound change it's likely due to that when you output of a device, you may still be able to send the DPS effect to the out line. This is common on devices that do not have a true line out. So although it may bypass the DAC it may include the DSP. Simple solution, turn it all off an


You can't install the previous version V1.20? I don't see why you can't put those back on and update again.
Re the sound change, thank you for the answer, I think I now understand..!!!
Signed, less confused jlw654.......
 
     Share This Post       
post-14352097
Post #792 of 929

JLW654

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 23, 2017
Messages
342
Reaction score
59
Location
UK Nottinghamshire.
Joined
Dec 23, 2017
Location
UK Nottinghamshire.
Posts
342
Likes
59
An ultra quick response from Chord Electronics.

However all they could say was that they expected that they believed that Cowon did "at least part" of it's DSP processing before decoding takes place.
Thanks for the help, hi-fi'er seems to have come to the same conclusion, see above post. So it's not an unadulterated source if any Cowon filters are set. Confusing...
 
     Share This Post       
post-14352415
Post #793 of 929

mrhizzo

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 10, 2008
Messages
565
Reaction score
51
Joined
Aug 10, 2008
Posts
565
Likes
51
Anyone have the Plenue S and the Plenue 2? Any comparison about the sound? Is it worth the "upgrade"?
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Hi-Fi'er

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top