Complementary Headphones for the M50
Jul 7, 2010 at 12:27 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 18

biomedengineer

New Head-Fier
I'm new to listening to quality headphones and when you're this new, it's hard to juggle the various jargon, models, model specific +'s and -'s that are spread across over hundreds of posts.

I ended up getting the M50 as my first quality headphone because I hear this is an all-around good headphone.  It's awesome so far.  But then I've read open phones have better soundstage and more accurately reproduces the sound, so that got me wondering what I'm missing.

My question are two folds:

1) What are the strengths are weaknesses of the M50?
2) Based on the above answer, what headphones in the $80-$140 range would you recommend that complements the M50, to help balance out what I'm otherwise missing?

Since I'm new to this, I wouldn't know what better soundstage is like, what's punchier than the M50, etc. 

I was intending to buy the MS-1 for its open design, but some critiques of it say the soundstage isn't that great.  Should I still get the MS-1, or is there another phone that will provide a new experience apart from the M50?

(Music tastes: vocal, instrumental, pop, classical)

Jul 7, 2010 at 12:39 PM Post #2 of 18

Strengths- Bass and overall great sound
Weaknesses- Sound stage

2) Based on the above answer, what headphones in the $80-$140 range would you recommend that complements the M50, to help balance out what I'm otherwise missing?

Alessandro MS1, Beyer's , Grado 225's, or Grado 125. I got the Alessandro to compliment my ATH-M50's, but before you buy them I would recommend you demo them somewhere first

Jul 7, 2010 at 7:41 PM Post #4 of 18
If you like the sound of the M50 why not stay in the family and check out the AD700?

The M50 do a good job of blocking outside noise but they can sound a tad bass-heavy and closed.

Bill

Jul 7, 2010 at 8:29 PM Post #5 of 18