Comparison of Hifiman HM models
May 25, 2012 at 12:34 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 16

DarthMarth

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 29, 2009
Posts
100
Likes
20
I am looking to upgrade to something better than a first-generation iPod touch for playing music when out and about. Specifically, I've been hearing about the Hifiman players for a while and they look like a great alternative for audiophiles. I am thinking the HM-601 looks like a great buy for me, but I have a two questions first.
 
1. It looks like these players all accept SD cards. Do you then put music on them by simply transferring the files onto the card, with no syncing software? (Having been an iPod man for over four years, this is too wonderful for me to imagine) Are there any issues with syncing them using Linux; can any Linux users/Hifiman owners tell me their experience? Linux compatibility is the reason I'm switching, rather than sound quality; I can't find a solution for syncing my iPod on Linux that actually works besides dual-booting Windows.
2. And what are the differences between the various Hifiman players? It look like the HM-801 is their top of the line model, and the 601 and 602 differ in that the 602 can double as a USB DAC; anything else? I'm especially curious what the difference between the 4G and 8G models listed on their website is.
3. Is there anything else an iPod user like myself should be aware of with how the Hifiman handles music? (It supports playlists, right?)
 
May 25, 2012 at 8:50 AM Post #2 of 16

KT66

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 1, 2006
Posts
1,990
Likes
207
" I'm especially curious what the difference between the 4G and 8G models listed on their website is."
 
really? you can't work this bit out?
 
801 no longer available btw
 
May 26, 2012 at 8:30 PM Post #5 of 16

DarthMarth

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 29, 2009
Posts
100
Likes
20
Sorry about all the questions. I decided the lack of gapless playback wasn't too big a problem and went ahead and ordered the 4GB model. I have also purchased a 32GB class 10 SDHC card for it. Apparently my laptop's card reader doesn't support SDHC, so I have no way to interface with the card right now. I assume that once the HM-601 comes, I'll be able to put the card in it and interface with it that way via the USB cable?
 
May 27, 2012 at 12:17 AM Post #7 of 16

DarthMarth

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 29, 2009
Posts
100
Likes
20
That's perfect; I am proficient in Python and will write my own command-line syncing tool. Rockbox's website says it is "unstable" on Hifiman players; do you have personal experience on getting this to work?
 
May 27, 2012 at 5:16 PM Post #8 of 16

Samehada

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Posts
161
Likes
11
yes , using a hm602 with rockbox and i have no problems ... everything works like a charm. i read that some new 601 slim wont work due to a new display that head direct used.
 
 
May 30, 2012 at 12:01 PM Post #10 of 16

RASeymour

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 29, 2008
Posts
547
Likes
14
I went to RockBox on my 601 about ten days ago.  Working good except I can't get the internal memory to work, but that seems to be a remaining issue for this build, according to the RockBox notes.  I put a 16gb card in using an adapter and it works just fine.  
 
Otherwise, I like the RockBox if for no other reason than the original interface was so bad.  I think it does gapless but I haven't paid much attention.
 
I'm not using the 601 slim, just the regular one.
 
Jun 1, 2012 at 3:48 PM Post #12 of 16

DarthMarth

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 29, 2009
Posts
100
Likes
20
I got the HM-601, but I can't get Rockbox to work. After I follow the instructions at http://www.rockbox.org/wiki/HifimanPort, my Hifiman becomes unresponsive and doesn't do anything until I reset and then connect it. It then tells mew it's updating the HM-801 (sic) firmware and a few seconds later boots to the original firmware. I'm going to stop trying and just live with this before I brick the thing. It's not an issue with most of my music.
 
Jun 1, 2012 at 4:08 PM Post #13 of 16

DarthMarth

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 29, 2009
Posts
100
Likes
20
...it bricked itself when I was just using it normally. I can't get it to do anything with any combination of the power switch, reset button, and plugging it into USb, except plugging it into USB turns the backlight on and reset turns it off. All this less than an hour after opening it. Wow.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top