Best of the Cheap Buds
Aug 23, 2010 at 7:49 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

Amaze713

New Head-Fier
I'd like to say hello as this is my first post.

I am a musician (trumpet/piano/acoustic guitar) but haven't done recording -- so unfortunately, while I have a good ear, I am a noobphile when it comes to picking out headphones.

Being a poor college student I tried to do my research to find the best cheap buds (sub 40).

Below are the following that I found (all available via Amazon):

JBuds J3 Micro Atomic In-Ear Earphones            19.99 (sale)
Head Direct RE2                                                29.00
Denon AH C-360                                                32.47
Sennheiser CX380 Sports Series II                      35.49

As someone who can ascertain and recognize subtleties in music but is on a budget, which of the 4 would you choose (or another cheap IE headphone to suffice).

Thanks in Advance.

Matt

Aug 23, 2010 at 8:05 PM Post #2 of 6
Sounds like you're after clarity and balance, in which case I highly recommend the mp4nation Brainwavz M1. However, there are dozens of other good budget options that you may not have come across in your research - ViSang R02, Meelectronics M6, ECCI PR200, Maximo iM-590, JVC FXC80, etc etc. Search function is your friend, as is one of the links in my sig (maybe). 

The RE2 is a good earphone but it's getting old and lags behind many others in terms of usability. It's also slightly anemic at the low end. The JBuds are fine for $20 but they are outclassed by quite a few earphones in the $30-40 range. The treble is a bit too aggressive and they don't sound very natural next to higher-end sets.

Aug 23, 2010 at 8:10 PM Post #3 of 6
I'd advise against the "discount" the J3 have. I've never heard it but their pricing is just your typical marketing BS. The MSRP is set at 3-4x what they actually sell for.