Best Headphones for use on older Stereo System
Aug 15, 2010 at 11:34 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

HayU

New Head-Fier
Hi all, I am new to headphone technology and was looking for some advice. I would like to purchase new headphones but not sure what to get that will be the best match for my current Rotel Integrated Amplifier (RA-820BX) with headphone jack.

The amp has following specs. 25 watts/ channel, min. RMS both channels driven into 8 ohms from 20-20,000 Hz. Music power 120 watts.
Output: Headphone- 4-16 Ohms, Damping factor 25 , Input sensitivity/impedence- 220mv/ 24kohms.

I was leaning toward the Beyerdynamic dt990 (2005) 32, 250 , but not sure if these will sound good with the Rotel integrated amp or will I need further amplification to make them sound there best?. is here something else you would recommend at the $300.00 US price point?

Any advice for a newbie would be appreciated.

Thank You

Aug 15, 2010 at 6:51 PM Post #2 of 9
Those older integrated amps with their headphone out, are in my experience rather good in driving any headphone with a higher ohmage (100 ohm and higher).

Aug 15, 2010 at 7:29 PM Post #3 of 9
I drove my 600 ohm, Beyerdynamic DT-990 Pro's for years, with an early 70's, 10wpc, Marantz 2010 receiver.
While I'm sure they were not anywhere close the ultimate in headphone amplification, they did a nice job of driving the very high impedance DT-990 Pro's, IMO.

Steve

Aug 15, 2010 at 8:14 PM Post #4 of 9
Thanks Tieman, I have read alot about matching impedence, I am really new at the impedence thing, the DT 990's come in 32 , 250 and 600 ohms, I am thinking the 250 and 600 Ohm cans are going to be way underpowered?  Could I add a headphone amp into my existing integrated amp, if so would it make any difference in sound quality?

Thanks agian

Aug 15, 2010 at 8:27 PM Post #5 of 9