Best Closed Headphone For Critical Listening?
Feb 4, 2014 at 8:39 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 16

Koukol

1000+ Head-Fier
Hello,

I'm a musician with a home studio who needs a closed headphone for recording tracks.

My everyday listening headphones are the K240's (I have a pair of Grados somewhere but they're unbelievably uncomfortable)
But I'm hoping I can improve on the K240's while also tracking and mixing in my studio (living room :))
As a musician listening to my favorite music It thrills me to hear things I haven't heard before however I want what the mix the Artists intended.
I listen to all types of music...from Punk to Bluegrass.

Right now the AKG 550 and SoundMagic HT100 are on my radar as they are priced right and have some positive reviews.

Any input will be greatly appreciated.

Feb 4, 2014 at 8:58 PM Post #2 of 16
Later edit - I just read closed... Audeze LCD-XC

It's always going to be challenging with closed headphones, but this is as good as it gets.
Why: Pretty linear frequency response and good details.

Feb 4, 2014 at 10:18 PM Post #3 of 16
  Later edit - I just read closed... Audeze LCD-XC

It's always going to be challenging with closed headphones, but this is as good as it gets.
Why: Pretty linear frequency response and good details.

Thanks Negura but those are way out of my price range which is why I'm considering the 550 and HT100.

BTW~I just realized I posted this in the wrong section...sorry.

Feb 4, 2014 at 10:26 PM Post #4 of 16
You're suggesting he go from $200 to $1,800 headphones? That's quite the leap.

Koukol, the K550 will be perfect for your needs. Its been great with all music and equipment I've thrown at it.

Feb 5, 2014 at 5:09 PM Post #6 of 16
You're suggesting he go from $200 to $1,800 headphones? That's quite the leap.

Koukol, the K550 will be perfect for your needs. Its been great with all music and equipment I've thrown at it.

I auditioned the 550's today and was kinda shocked at how thin they sounded.