An overwhelmed noob looking for advice on first set-up
Sep 5, 2011 at 6:08 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 26

SoulFood

New Head-Fier
Hi there headfi world!

I've just recently started thinking about headphones as my primary home listening system... I don't have any equipment yet, so I'm looking for any advice I can get.

Oh, I'm also a sound engineer (with an actual  engineering job... not a "home producer") so I unfortunately know good sound when I hear it. It makes everything so much more expensive...

So now my mission is to find a solution that won't cost an arm and a leg. A strong starting point on wich I could build for quite some time (different headphones, same system)

My primary (and probably only) source will be a computer. I have a professional audio interface at the moment, but will sell it and get a more dedicated system. My thoughts are: start with the best possible DA.

Here is my current top contender:
(Lynx L22)
http://www.lynxstudio.com/product_detail.asp?i=11

I don't know how much you guys know about obscure soundcards... but this one is rather good in the DA section and that's all I'm really looking for.

For the amplifier I'm seriously considering going for tubes. As an engineer I've always tried to stay away from them, I like the signal path as clean as possible so i can **** it up in the mix... But I admit they add something... So if I can't have them professionaly, I think I'd enjoy them at home!

This is what I'm looking at:
(Bottlehead Crack OTL)
http://www.bottlehead.com/store.php?crn=224&rn=442&action=show_detail

Headphones will be the last part of my system and it's actually here that I'd like to be a bit "cheap". It's just the easies part to change and I'm a bit short on cash at the moment, so no Stax for me.

For the start I'm actually looking for something UNDER 200 EUR.

I know absolutely nothing about headphones but I've always thought that GRADOs where high-end.
Would GRADO SR225i make a good start for me?