‘Newbie’ looking to jump into the audiophile realm
Oct 21, 2018 at 10:57 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 4

FreshFog

New Head-Fier
Hello everyone, I am quite new to the ‘audiophile’ scene, having only owned a LG V10 and Audio-Technica headphones before. I used to roll my eyes whenever people would rave about audio quality, but after listening to music on the V10, I shut up. That’s not even CLOSE to the best audio player on the market, but it remains, to this day, the best audio experience I’ve ever had. Only after lurking the forums here did I decide to purchase the V10 and the ATH-M50X headphones.

Fast forward to today, the V10 is dead and I need advice on what to replace it with. It’s been over a year since the V10 has played a song, and I find myself longing for hifi music more and more everyday. My budget is set in stone at $1000, and I’d rather buy an outright cell phone with a good DAC/AMP. However, the V40 ThinkQ is already receiving mixed audio statements, and the V30 is more than a year old at this point. Also, I am upgrading from an iPhone 7 this year, which is why I’d prefer to stick with a smartphone, over a dedicated DAP, as to save some money.

Please give advice as well as personal anecdotes and opinions, they will all be appreciated! Should I buy a dedicated DAP, which one would be the best for $1000 or less? It needs to have a good amp, as well as good battery life. Is there such a thing as other devices with a quad-dac, or it that only a thing on Lg’s phones? Speaking of phones, what is the absolute best phone for hifi music playback? One last thing, I need to buy this device (whatever it ends up being) and a good pair of headphones before the new year.

Oct 22, 2018 at 2:15 AM Post #2 of 4
* Should I buy a dedicated DAP, which one would be the best for $1000 or less?
* It needs to have a good amp, as well as good battery life.
* Is there such a thing as other devices with a quad-dac, or it that only a thing on Lg’s phones?