1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

SIMGOT EM1

Rating:
4.33333/5,
  1. cash1489
    A refined taste of high-end sound
    Written by cash1489
    Published Feb 22, 2019
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Rich, Natural Sound
    Comfortable
    Great Build Quality
    Cons - Nothing at this price
    A refined taste of high-end sound

    SIMGOT has distinguished itself amongst headphone manufacturers by making beautiful products with refined sound and attention to detail. Their flagship EN700 IEM in all its variants epitomizes this with a solid aluminum build and striking grill design. It has garnered them much praise, and today I am excited to review their entry-level piece, the EM1. To the company’s credit, the EM1 shares some components with their TOTL earphone, most notably, the 10mm titanium-plated driver, which is remarkable since the EN700 usually sells for almost twice as much, at about $150 compared to $80 for the EM1. I’m a fan of companies that trickle down tech from their flagship products down to the entry level.

    While $80 is not a lot of money when you are talking about a product precision crafted to meet the needs of demanding audiophiles, the EM1 is also competing in a market flooded with cut-rate IEMs, some selling for as low as $15 with detachable cables, and multiple drivers in each earpiece. The sound from some of them, if not world class, is entertaining, and I have written about them here on the blog. I recommend them for people just getting into IEMs, or people with low funds. I find them to be a great place to start in the earphone/headphone enthusiasts hobby.

    But alas, most of us, after listening to an inexpensive set of headphones for a while, we soon want more. Then we start wondering, where do I go now for an better experience? Well, I say the EM1 is definitely a place to look if you have only heard earphones that cost less than $50.



    Build/Features:
    First of all, when I first looked at the earpieces, I was first struck by how small they were, then I was impressed at how well built they were. The rounded off triangles of glossy low-resonance plastic with chrome accents looked like jewels ensconced in their foam tray, and I was also impressed by the shiny nickel-plated brass tube used to seat the eartips. My set was blue and red, with the left side blue and the right red, but they also come in a black/red combo. You can also get pairs in a single color, with a choice of either black, red or blue.

    The fit was very comfortable, with the curvature of the earpieces following the contour of my ears almost perfectly. The silicone tip was soft and didn't irritate my ear, even during long listening sessions.

    The included cable is 4 cores of braided 6N high purity OFC cable, with a thick black jacket that keeps the cable from tangling too much. The 2-Pin connectors that mate to each earpiece are covered in a protective sleeve which fits over a protected two pin receptacle on the earphone itself, keeping the fragile pins from being bent.

    Next to the connector sleeves are soft plastic tubes pre-formed into a hook shape. These fall over the ear and help keep the IEMs in place. I found they worked well, creating just the right tension to hold the earphones steady. Down further on the cable, the Y-Split and 3.5mm plug are encased in frosted plastic, which not only looks good, at least to me, but also looks like it adds durability. Everything about the build quality speaks to the company’s attention to detail.

    As far as accessories are concerned, you get a thick mesh drawstring bag for storage, two sets of ear tips, a warranty card, and an instruction manual.

    The two sets of ear tips warrant further discussion because they are integral to the enjoyment of these earphones. Each set is made of silicone and come in small, medium, and large sizes, but they come in different depths, so when you change or roll the tips you change the sound signature.

    The tips with the shallow depth basically put your inner ear closer to the driver, emphasizing the highs and mid-high frequencies for a flat, clear sound. The tips with greater depth move your inner ear further away from the driver, giving you a warmer sound playing up the bass presence region.

    I personally found the shallow tips made the treble a little too aggressive for me, plus I enjoy a warmer sounding headphone, so I stuck with the deeper set of tips for the majority of my listening, and that is where the majority of my impressions come from.

    That being said, while I didn’t like the one set of tips, if you get these, I recommend just as the manufacturer does in the manual, to definitely try both sets, and try the different sizes, because getting the fit right is very important when listening to any IEM, but even more important here since you get a choice of sound profiles. This is another way SIMGOT shows its dedication to audiophile sensibilities, and I liked having the option.

    Sound:
    My listening tests were done streaming from Tidal on either the LG V40 phone with the Sabre Quad-Dac engaged or the iFi nano iDSD DAC/Amp connected via USB to my HP Envy Laptop.

    Overall, with both sets of tips, I would call the sound balanced, and as I said before, with the deeper tips, there is a slight emphasis in the bass presence region over the shallow tips. With the deeper tips there is also a slight attenuation of the highs. In either case, the difference is not massive, think of it as more of a tweak.

    If I had to pick one word to describe the sound of these IEMs it would be natural. The highs are tad bit elevated, but without sibilance, instead, there is great treble detail that supplies a nice amount of air. The sweet midrange along with the excellent imaging and soundstage add up to a very natural sound with a lot of depth.

    Listening to J.S. Sondara’s “American Dream” from his album Tales of America highlighted the great imaging and soundstage of these earphones. The sound really seemed to reach out beyond my ears, and the singer's placement in the center along the with fiddle player off to the left and the background vocalist off to the right was rock solid.

    The sweet midrange was really showcased by Freddy’s Cole’s “First Began” where the gravelly texture of his vocals was rendered with remarkable realism, especially for an IEM of this price point.

    When comparing the sound to one of my favorite dynamic-driver earphones in the under $100 price range, the Final E3000, the EM1 trumped it in overall detail, soundstage, and naturalness of sound. The only place the E3000 bested the EM1 was in the bass department, where the Final had some extra depth. It also bested my other favorite in the below $100 price point, the 1 More Triple Driver, which also fell short in overall detail and soundstage, as well as separation of instruments. But the 1 More did have much deeper bass which gives it the edge when listening to Hip-Hop and the like.

    Conclusion:
    According to the SIMGOT website, the EM1 is the benchmark of Entry-Level Hi-Fi IEMs, and after taking a listen to them, I have a hard time arguing with that. I have a hard time finding another earphone under $100 that matches their overall cohesiveness of sound, detail retrieval, soundstage, and instrument separation. Their build quality is also top-notch, matching products that cost almost twice as much. They are not bass monsters, so if you are a basshead, you may want to audition them first. However, if you are looking for a refined taste of high-end sound, this is a great step up from the IEMs at the under $50 price point.

    This review was originally posted at www.hifitrends.com

    images

    1. SIMGOT EM1-COLLAGE.jpg
      PlantsmanTX and George Taylor like this.
    1. ginger2017
      To delete.
      ginger2017, Feb 28, 2019
  2. techinblack
    Best in class
    Written by techinblack
    Published Mar 3, 2019
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Design and build quality
    Perfect tuning
    Comfort
    Cable
    Tips (even without foams)
    Price
    Cons - Particular 2-pin housing (it may be difficult to find third parts cables)
    Specifications:

    • Transducer unit: 10mm high magnetic composite dynamic driver

    • Diaphragm: Polymer composite titanium-plated diaphragm

    • Frequency response: 15Hz-40kHz

    • Sensitivity: ≥101dB (at 1000Hz)

    • Impedance: 16Ω

    • Distortion: <1% 101dB(20μpa)

    • Channel imbalance: <1.5dB(at 1000Hz)

    • Rated power: 10mW
    Where to buy (non affiliate link): https://www.amazon.com/SIMGOT-Headphones-Detachable-Cancelling-Smartphones/dp/B07LG83LML

    This review can also be found on my website here: https://www.techinblack.it/audio1/2019/2/20/simgot-em1-review

    Unboxing and first impressions
    As you can see, the difference between the boxes is noticeable: I liked the rational small white box of the MT3, but this bigger black one of EM1 is classy and more elegant. There’s a High-Res certification and some black-on-black pictures and specifications on the various faces of the box: I like this style, but I have to say it’s a bit difficult to read what’s written.

    [​IMG]

    As always, we find a soft carrying pouch with a good number of silicon eartips: 3 wide bore ones, 3 small bore ones. They really change the sound a lot, so be careful to try them all before judging the set. Like on the MT3, I prefer using the wide bore tips, because the sound is more balanced and less “boomy” than the sound provided with the others. It’s nice to see a description of how the sound changes depending on the eartips used, not just because they help with your choice, but because it’s very accurate. Unfortunately, there aren’t any foam tips, but the nozzle is pretty standard: I’ve tried both the Tin HiFi foams and the NiceHCK foams and they all fit very stably. The cable is really good: the same as MT3, a really well-made braided one. It’s oxygen free, 4 core, 6N of purity; a standard single-ended 3.5mm gold-plated jack and 2-pin 0.78mm connectors for the buds. There are pre-curved hooks and they are very comfortable, and there’s a chin slider too. The IEMs themselves come in a beautiful choice of colors: even though you can buy an all-black model, mine has the right earbud in red and the left one in blue. This makes it way easier to recognize which way to wear them. And the eartips are red/blue too, so it’s a beautiful touch. The buds are made of metal and plastic and they are actually the best plastic earphones I’ve ever tried regarding the build quality. It’s a translucent colored plastic, so you can still see the internals: you can notice the dynamic driver, which is the only one used in this set. The nozzle and parts of the faceplate are made of metal. There are some elegant writings. Overall, design wise this set is one of my favorites.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Sound

    My sources: FiiO M7, Xiaomi Mi MIX 2 with Zorloo ZuperDAC-S as DAC/Amp, MacBook Pro 2012 with Focusrite 2i2

    My files: DSD, FLAC, ALAC, MP3, M4A

    My music: “Colour the Small One” by Sia, “Djesse Vol.1” by Jacob Collier, “Where are You?” by Frank Sinatra, “Ghost Stories” by Coldplay, “O” by Damien Rice, and many other tracks by Queen, Pink Floyd, Genesis, Radiohead, Jack Garratt…

    [​IMG]

    When you try a lot of earphones, it’s difficult to get surprised: some sets have a good tuning, but they lack of detail, or vice versa. Some others have a really good bass, but they fall on mids and highs; it’s difficult to find a 360° convincing IEM, because brands obviously have to aim at a particular feature, especially on the budget area. Well, for my taste, this is one of the most convincing earphones under 100$. I may say this now is my favorite IEM.

    Usually, when I start trying an earphone, I immediately understand a general tuning of it. Whether it’s a flat one or a “V” one, a balanced or a flat. In this case I needed more time to understand. First, I thought this was a warm set. Because bass sounded very punchy, quick, perfectly controlled with a dark background. Then I thought this was a bright set, because I started hearing some sparkles and a slight sibilance. So, I started thinking about a classic V-shaped signature, but I heard no evident fall on mids. Well, this became a really interesting set. I’d say, after listening to them for some time, that I’d remain with the initial impression of a dark background: the overall bass area is solid and gives warmness to the scene. That being said, the treble is surprisingly capable with a great detail and some sparkles, which however don’t bother me, as a really treble-sensitive person. I still hear some sibilance, which it’s not a characteristic of this set, but it’s an evidence of some not-so-well recorded songs: exactly like on Tin HiFi T3. Mids are great: I think they are slightly recessed, because the final impression I have is having a smooth U-shaped signature, which isn’t lacking of body nor lacking of air, though. I hear a very good separation between instruments and a pretty airy sound, with good detail and resolution. Soundstage is average: it doesn’t feel very wide, but neither inside your head. It’s something close to holographic which however doesn’t give the impression of a “virtualization”. And imaging, through this perceived small room, is actually pretty accurate.

    To summarize: bass is very well-extended on the sub-bass area, present but controlled, punchy and pleasant. Mids are clear, with airy vocals and a good layering between instruments. Treble is solid and absolutely not rolled off, with a precise and analytical feel. Soundstage is average in width and depth, but imaging is really believable.



    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Comparisons

    Simgot Meeture MT3: while they share the same accessories, materials and build quality, sound wise they are pretty different. Depending on the tips, MT3 can sound really V-shaped (small bore) or mid-centric (wide bore). EM1 are more balanced and provide an overall signature that’s more classic and pleasant. I could recommend the MT3 to singers for their live stages; but I can really recommend the EM1 to anyone, whether for music listening or music production or exibitions. These are really solid universal IEMs with no compromises.

    Tin HiFi T3: when I said that most of the times brands need to make decisions, I meant that earphones like Tin T3 are amazing under certain ways, but average on some others. T3 are fantastic if you need detail, they have a really good bass yet remaining bright and they absolutely don’t fall on mids. And they have the best cable on a budget, too. But they are less comfortable to wear and more fatiguing to listen to. I feel that EM1 are more cohesive in their frequency distribution – but it’s easily because of their only dynamic driver, while T3 are a hybrid solution. I personally choose EM1: they may be meant for a more casual listening, because of their less-analytical signature, but they are more pleasant to my ears and they don’t really make compromises. T3 do maybe “too much”: they need to smooth their treble a little bit. Still a great set, though, with a stunning design. In absolute terms, they may be superior. For my personal taste, which requires a more controlled treble, EM1 are a better choice.

    BGVP DMG: very different in terms of drivers (it’s a 5 or 6 drivers hybrid), and also in terms of sound. DMG are more sibilant, and provide a less smooth sound through the frequency range. They are warm too, but they aren’t as punchy neither as controlled as the EM1. I like EM1 treble more, too. Mids are similar and soundstage depth too. Fit wise, they are both great and not fatiguing. I like them both, honestly; DMG may be a little bit more detailed thanks to their multi-balanced configuration, but the overall experience of EM1 is closer to my taste.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Conclusions
    EM1 are an easy recommendation for me. I wasn’t so sure about MT3, but this set here is close to perfect for my taste. If you search for the most balanced choice in every way, consider this set. If you are more into crazy detail or very wide soundstage, there are better earphones, which aren’t that solid though, at least for what I think. This actually is one of my favorite IEM ever – and it proofs what you can do with a single dynamic driver, even on a budget. Highly recommended, in the end.
      trellus, PlantsmanTX and karanehir35 like this.
    1. karanehir35
      Thanks.
      Would you recommend for metal music?
      karanehir35, Mar 6, 2019
    2. ginger2017
      To delete
      ginger2017, Mar 9, 2019
  3. darmanastartes
    Engaging
    Written by darmanastartes
    Published May 11, 2019
    4.5/5,
    Pros - engaging tuning, natural timbre, comfortable yet secure fit, good tip selection, high-quality detachable cable, attractive design, premium packaging
    Cons - poorly placed driver vent, instrument separation and resolution are middling
    INTRODUCTION/DISCLAIMER:

    DSC02029.jpg

    The Simgot EM1 is an in-ear monitor with a single 10mm titanium diaphragm dynamic driver per side. The EM1 is available for $59.99 on Amazon at the time of this review. Simgot provided me with the EM1 in exchange for a fair and objective review.

    SOURCES

    I have used the Simgot EM1 with the following sources:

    Windows 10 PC > JDS Labs The Element > Simgot EM1

    Pixel 3 > Fiio BTR1K (Bluetooth Apt-X) > Simgot EM1

    Windows 10 PC > Fiio BTR1K (Bluetooth Apt-X) > Simgot EM1

    Pixel 3 > Apple USB-C to 3.5mm dongle > Simgot EM1

    I have tested these headphones with local FLAC and Spotify Premium.

    PACKAGING AND ACCESSORIES

    DSC02151.jpg

    The Simgot EM1 comes in a large rectangular black box. The front panel of the slipcover bears a monochromatic outline illustration of the IEMs, as well as the model name, manufacturer logo, and the Hi-Res Audio logo. The side panels show similar illustrations of the included cable, highlighting the 3.5mm jack and the Y-split, along with a sticker indicating the color of the IEM housings. I received the red/black color option, but the EM1 is also available in red/blue and all-black. The back panel of the slipcover shows an exploded diagram of the IEMs, along with specifications and manufacturer contact information.
    DSC02175.jpg DSC02196.jpg

    The textured box underneath is embossed with a phoenix illustration. The top of the box lifts off to reveal a sheet of mounting foam holding the IEMs and a small cardboard box marked “Accessories.” Included with the IEMs are a 4-core 6N OFC 2-pin cable, also seen included with the Meeture MT3, a mesh carry bag, and 2 sets of eartips (3 pairs each, S, M, L). The packaging describes the eartips as emphasizing either mid-high frequencies and bass frequencies. The mid-high eartips are shorter than the bass eartips, with a wider nozzle opening. Also included are a user manual, a warranty card, and a card listing customer service contact info.

    DSC02213.jpg
    BUILD QUALITY / DESIGN

    DSC02047.jpg
    The EM1 earpieces have translucent teardrop-shaped plastic housings with two-tone metal faceplates. The outer part of each metal faceplate is teardrop-shaped, and the inner part is a polished brass circle with concentric rings. The cable connections protrude up from the housings at a 45-degree angle, and the nozzles are forward-swept as well. The outer section of the faceplate is marked with the text “SIMGOT HIGH RESOLUTION” around the inner brass circle. “L” and “1xDynamic” are printed in silver on the inner face of the left earpiece housing, and “R” and “N50 Magnetic Loop” are printed on the inner face of the right earpiece housing.

    Each earpiece has a tiny circular vent in the middle of the inner face of the housing. The biggest problem with the EM1 is the location of this vent. If this vent is obstructed, the IEMs sound muffled. Every time the EM1s inserted, I had to gently tug the housings outwards to keep the vent unobstructed. However, there is no driver flex.

    The nozzle is a hair over 5mm in diameter. The nozzle has a small lip for securing eartips, which worked well with both the included tips and Spinfit CP100s.

    The cable connector is unique to Simgot’s IEMs, which may prove troublesome to those seeking replacement or upgrade cables compatible with the EM1.

    The braided cable is flexible and non-microphonic and uses pre-formed clear plastic ear-guides. There is a choker above the Y-split for cinching up the cable. The cable uses a straight 3.5mm jack. There is no mic. “OFC X4” is printed on the Y-split housing, and “SIMGOT” is printed on the jack housing. The cable has pre-formed plastic ear-guides and “L/R” markings on the 2-pin housings. The cable is not particularly tangle prone.

    COMFORT / FIT / ISOLATION

    DSC02074.jpg
    The Simgot EM1 is intended to be worn cable-up only. The EM1 has a moderate insertion depth, but the housings are small enough to avoid compromising comfort. Fit is secure, but the vent issue necessitates occasional fiddling. The moderate insertion depth makes getting a good seal easy with a variety of eartips. I used Spinfit CP100s for most of my listening. Noise isolation is below average.

    SOUND

    The Simgot EM1 has a neutral-ish tuning that skews towards warmth.

    The EM1 has visceral sub-bass with excellent extension. The mid-bass is impactful without being overwhelming, mildly elevated relative to the sub-bass and lower mids without overshadowing either. Bass is very textured.

    The lower mids have a pleasant warmth but are spared from distracting mid-bass bleed. Male vocals are slightly recessed but are readily intelligible. Female vocals are clear without being over-emphasized. There is enough presence to render detail and grit without being sibilant.

    The treble is smooth but grainy. There is moderate air and a hint of sparkle. Transients are realistic.

    Timbre is natural sounding. Resolution is average for this price point. Instrument separation, especially in the bass region, is lacking. The soundstage is on the small side. Imaging is adequate.

    MEASUREMENTS

    EM1.jpg

    My measurements were conducted with a Dayton iMM-6 microphone using a vinyl tubing coupler and a calibrated USB sound interface. The measurements are presented with 1/24th smoothing and without compensation. There is a resonant peak between 7–10k. Measurements above 10k are not reliable.

    AMPLIFICATION REQUIREMENTS AND SOURCE PAIRING

    With a sensitivity of 101dB and an impedance of 16ohms, the Simgot EM1 can be driven to moderate listening volumes with a smartphone or dongle but will benefit from the additional headroom provided by a dedicated source if one wants to listen at high volumes. I did not notice hiss with any of my sources.

    COMPARISONS

    Simgot EM1 [$60] vs Simgot MT3 [$61]
    EM1 vs MT3.jpg

    The Simgot MT3 has more elevated bass. The MT3’s bass is more textured with greater impact and slam. The EM1’s bass is slightly better articulated. Neither has much mid-bass bleed into the lower mids, but the EM1 has less mid-bass bleed than the MT3,

    There is virtually no difference between the two IEMs in the lower midrange. The MT3 has a brighter, more aggressive upper midrange, which makes vocals sound more exciting at the cost of sibilance. MT3 has a thinner timbre.

    The MT3’s treble is harsher than the EM1’s, but the MT3 has more air and sparkle.

    The MT3 has slightly better imaging and instrument separation and a slightly wider soundstage. Sensitivity is similar between the two.

    The MT3 is more comfortable and does not exhibit the venting issue that the EM1 has. The accessory sets are identical, but the EM1 has a more premium unboxing experience.

    CLOSING WORDS
    DSC02104.jpg
    Choosing an IEM at the $60 price point seems to be a question of choosing which compromises you can live with. The Simgot EM1 is a well-tuned and engaging IEM with a solid set of accessories, but its technical performance is merely adequate, and the venting issue may be a deal-breaker for some. Overall, it compares well with alternatives at its price point.
  4. Wiljen
    Simgot EM1 - A musical departure from standard V
    Written by Wiljen
    Published May 18, 2019
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Great tuning, very enjoyable with popular genres. Nice departure from typical V signatures.
    Cons - Only average detail retrieval, some issues with instrument seperation
    disclaimer: disclaimer: A big thanks to Simgot for sending the Em1 for review. If you have an interest in Simgot products, please check their website, Facebook page, or Amazon Store.

    Unboxing / Packaging:

    Those familiar with Simgot packaging with recognize the EM1 box as being exactly like the other siblings in the EM line. Slipcover with a lift-top underneath and understated graphics. The slipcover has all the details regarding model so the inner packaging is exactly like the other EM models. Earpieces are in a foam tray at top, carrying case below with accessories hiding inside a box in the lower compartments. This is perhaps a higher level of packing for an entry level model, but it does keep the line in parity.

    DSCF5050.JPG DSCF5051.JPG DSCF5052.JPG DSCF5053.JPG

    Accessories:

    Accessories with the EM1 are two sets of three tips (balanced and bass enhancing in SML), a soft cloth bag, and instructions. Here we can see the first difference in the entry level and the levels above as the case has gone from being the embossed leather magnetic closure design of the upper models to a simpler drawstring bag but it still serves the purpose well.

    [​IMG]



    Build/Fit:

    Shape is shared by all the EM line of earphones, but unlike the previously reviewed EM2 that used smoked transparent housings, the EM1 uses red/blue transparent housings to differentiate left and right earpieces. The polymer used is light weight, well shaped and comfortable in the ear and offers to move very little. For me seating depth is slightly shallow but with large tips a good seal is fairly easily achieved (this requires a size larger tip than I typically wear). There is a single vent on the inside of the shell slightly offset behind the center of the driver and visible in photo 4 and 5 below. Nozzles are Nickel-plated brass and exit the front of the earpieces with a forward rake.

    DSCF5057.JPG DSCF5059.JPG DSCF5060.JPG DSCF5061.JPG DSCF5062.JPG DSCF5063.JPG DSCF5074.JPG DSCF5076.JPG

    Internals:

    The driver in the EM1 is the same 10mm titanium plated composite dynamic of the EN700 Pro so we expect to see similar strengths and weaknesses here. (This is nice for those that like the EN700 Pro but want to spend a few less coin). Nominal impedance is listed as 16Ω with a sensitvity of >101dB/mW at 1kHz. I found the EM1 was easy enough to drive with a phone or tablet but does scale some with better amplification. The ceiling is still reasonably low as I didn't see much of a boost going from something like the xDSD to something like the Burson Swing/Fun combination.



    Cable:

    The provided cable is listed as a 4 core 6N OFC braided copper cable. The Jack is the straight TRS style with a brushed aluminum in clear soft rubber coating with a proper strain relief and a cable tie for use during storage. Cable is two twisted pairs that are then twisted together up to the splitter and single above it. The splitter matches the jack in style with brushed aluminum inside a soft rubber casing. From there, each pair exits and runs to a pre-formed hook without memory wire and a .78mm hooded bi-pin connector. This connector style is becoming more common but is still semi-proprietary as not all the recesses are the same dimensions. L/R marking on the connectors are extremely hard to see and a red/blue arrangement instead of the brushed aluminum bands would alleviate this and complement the earpieces as well (just a thought).

    DSCF5080.JPG DSCF5082.JPG DSCF5083.JPG



    Tips:

    Two cards of tips are provided each containing small, medium, and large tips. The first card is the balanced tips, while the 2nd card is low frequency enhancing. Both styles are single-flanged silicone tips but lengths differ between styles with the bass enhancing tips being taller while the matching neutral tips are wider but not as tall. They are indeed enough different to change the signature and it would be nice if Simgot offered the ability to buy extra pairs of your preferred size and type. For my listening, I used some of each style of tips as the bass enhancement was fun for pleasure listening while the neutral/high frequency tips are a bit closer to neutral (but still not close). Unlike some of the other Simgot models, the EM1 is very much tuned for pleasure listening rather than critical listening so you might was well do what you most enjoy right?

    [​IMG]

    Sound:

    [caption id="attachment_2782" align="aligncenter" width="800"][​IMG] Graph made using Tip style 1[/caption]


    Bass:

    I have to admit that with the EM1 sharing a driver with the EN700 Pro, I expected some similarities in the sound profile and some of the same weaknesses to persist. I am very happy to say that the breakdown of the bass at higher volumes on the EN700 Pro does not seem to be shared by its little brother (unless above normal listening levels). That issue may have more to do with shell material and reflections than it does with the driver itself. Sub-bass is present in good quantity with reasonable rumble and roll-off not becoming notable until into the 40Hz range. Mid-bass is in similar quantity to sub-bass and while elevated slightly, it doesn't bloom or get boomy. There is some perceptible bleed into the lower mids thats add a bit of warmth, but doesn't detract substantially from detail (partially as this isnt a super detailed earphone to start with.) Overall the low end is good for those looking for headphones for popular genres that need a good bit of slam and rumble.



    Mids:

    Lower mids have some shadow from the mid-bass bleed and are slightly recessed but begin to climb forward pretty quickly with upper mids being substantially forward. For this reason higher pitched vocals can sound in front of lower but lower have a bit more warmth and natural tone to them. The climb is gradual so it is hard to pinpoint at exactly what point things start moving forward in the signature and guitar at times seems on even footing with both male and female vocals. String timbre is helped by pushing the mids and upper-mids forward and is better than expected on an entry level product.



    Treble:

    Lower treble plateaus as it exits the upper-mids so it is inline with upper mids and gives vocals a bit more energy and life. True treble climbs a bit more forward with roll-off not being evident until above about the 7kHz mark. Sparkle and air are better than expected giving the EM1 a nice open sound. I did detect a touch of sibilance, but only with tracks that are known for having it recorded in and tracks with string noise (AKA Boston) are very prominent due to the treble tuning.



    Soundstage / Imaging:

    Instrument separation is unfortunately only middle of the pack performance and limits both the stage size and the imaging of the EM1. Soundstage is wider than deep and needs that width as instruments tend to overlap on more complex materials at times. A narrower stage would likely sound considerably congested as a result. Imaging is also good as long as their isnt too much going on, but can get a little off as things get complex. Seating the orchestra in your head sometimes overlaps instruments and sometimes gets them slightly out of sequence. While certainly not critical in an entry level set aimed at the casual listener, this will put some people off.



    Thoughts / Conclusion:

    Lets just start with this. If you are looking for a neutral highly detailed audiophile earphone, this is not it. If you are looking for something to pair with your phone and listen to your favorite hip-hop or pop, this will do swimmingly well. It has good thump and rumble at the low end, plenty of air at the top, and the mids aren't down in a hole like so many entry level V tunings tend to be. If I was shopping for a music loving friend for a birthday or holliday gift, these would be one of my top picks as their tuning offers something for those who like bass, something for those who like treble and something for those who prefer a mid-centric tuning. I'm not quite sure how they pulled that off as it isnt a common trick. What they trade to get that, is a bit of detail and they don't have the worlds best instrument separation both things that can certainly be lived with at this price point. If you have music lover on your gift list, or if you are the music lover and want to give yourself the gift, the EM1 makes a good choice.

    images

    1. DSCF5055.JPG
  5. dheepak10
    The casual listener's daily driver
    Written by dheepak10
    Published May 25, 2019
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Well-suited for most genres
    Enjoyable bass response
    Well-positioned mids
    Good stereo width
    Comfortable, isolating fit
    Cons - Sharp upper mid frequencies
    Layering and separation are strictly average
    Lacks micro-details
    The Simgot EM1 is a relatively new entrant in the crowded sub $100 IEM segment. Without any of the usual aces like dual dynamic driver or hybrid dynamic + armature drivers that you see frequently in recent time, this one purely relies on a single dynamic driver.

    Currently available for purchase on Amazon.com for $60, the EM1 can also be purchased by direct mail to overseas@simgot.com for international destinations.

    Note: The review unit was offered to me for free in exchange for an honest review by Simgot Technology Co. Ltd. representative. This however does not have an impact on my review.

    Build, fit and packaging

    The EM1 comes in a nice, big box and the contents are organized pretty well. While the package is big, the contents are just the essentials – the IEMs, cable, eartips and a small manual.

    20190507_163232.jpg

    Fit is fantastic – they are small enough to fit all ear sizes and comes with a variety of ear-tips to suit every one.

    The cable has 4 wires braided till the Y-splitter and then it is split to two per side. The wires after the wire splitter is on the flimsy side and can get tangled while unfolding for use, even when it is rolled and tied for storage. The heat shrink tubes for over-the-ear guides are pleasant and non-intrusive to use. The cable has a slider as well, but it doesn’t do its job and is fond of its resting position on top of the Y-splitter.
    20190525_183847.jpg

    The 2-pin connectors remind me of the FiiO FH5 – looks pretty similar. Due to the protruded nature of the connector attached to the IEMs, most after-market cables will leave the connector portion exposed, while not hampering functionality.

    The 3.5 mm plug is standard affair and no fancy gold-plating or gimmicky texture to it – does its job.


    Tip Rolling

    The EM1 comes with 2 sets of ear tips – each come in 3 sizes. The first set of tips is for mid-centric sound. These have softer material and short, wide bores. These do not offer great seal. I used the M sized tips of these and the sound was less warm and mid centric as specified, but not my cup of tea. So I did not spend more than 10 minutes with these tips.

    The second set of tips are supposed to enhance the bass. These have narrow, longer bores and with the slightly firmer material, offer good seal. Even in the subway, these attenuated external noise to sufficient levels that I did not have to turn up the volume to enjoy music. As always, since there is no active noise cancellation, you do lose the impact of low frequencies in noisier environments. I use the L-sized tips and the rest of the review is with these tips.
    20190525_183753.jpg

    So how does it sound?

    20190508_183644.jpg
    Here's the setup for my evaluation

    Source: FLACs (16/44.1, 24/48 and 24/96) or Tidal Hi-Fi

    Chain 1: Bit perfect playback through the UAPP player on my LG G6 with ES9218p DAC SOC

    Chain 2: Bit perfect playback through Foobar2k along with my laptop paired with the iFi Nano BL and line out to Headamp Gilmore Lite MK2 amp.

    As always, a perfect seal is essential to any IEM. A quick listen to the EM1 is enough to acknowledge that it is a well-rounded package for the price. The IEM has enough weight on bass frequencies and extends well into sub-bass frequencies. While the bass texture is not outstanding, it is good enough to have an enjoyable experience from a small, dynamic driver configuration.

    The bass lines on Steely Dan’s Cousin Dupree are rendered well by the EM1 – enough weight to keep you engaged and feel the impact. The texture on the other hand is not excellent but rendered enough that most of the folks won’t complain. The upper-mids have a peak around the 3k and 6k range which make the snare drums sound sharper than what they sound on my other headphones.

    The highs are not well-extended like the lows but bring out enough detail while not sounding harsh and airy enough.

    The vocals are neither too forward, nor recessed but positioned well. In fact, I love how the EM1 brings out female vocals in most tracks – quite engaging. Rebecca Pidgeon’s The Raven album is a perfect folly for your EM1 experience. Rebecca’s rendition of Spanish Harlem comes alive with nice, deep bass notes from the harp and these bass notes continue on a well-rendered layer. The vocals have enough warmth and lifelike texture. On the flip side, there are tracks like Birdy’s Skinny Love and Amanda Marshall’s Let it Rain, which have inherent sibilance in the recordings. The sharper upper mids of the EM1 is not a great pairing with such tracks – the vocals can sound metallic, nasal and quite sibilant.

    Male vocals can be a hit or a miss based on the singer. To keep the bass from bleeding into the mids there is a dip in the frequency response in the 250 to 500 Hz region. On History Song by The Good, The Bad and the queen, it is easily appreciable that the EM1 keep the mids clean, but the flipside to that is lack of warmth in male vocals. To be noted that while the bass on this song, while satisfying enough on weight, leaves me wanting more when it comes to texture.

    The stereo stage is rendered quite well by the EM1 – the width is good, depth is just average (we are talking $60 here). The title track of Michael Jackson’s Thriller substantiates this fact. Stereo width is pretty good – extends well beyond your head. Sadly, the EM1 is not one that renders layering on tracks very well – the driver is not fast enough and in busy tracks like Muse’s Madness, the EM1 cannot bring out the excitement when the track reaches its peak at around the 3-minute mark.

    Select Comparisons

    Tin Audio T2 – T2 is a sub $100 veteran that has been appreciated and recommended by many. Retails normally for $50 and can be bought as low as $36 during a sale. The T2’s midrange is exemplary, and vocals are rendered life-like. The EM1 cannot make the vocals as engaging as the T2. The higher frequencies on the T2 has a lot of air between notes and packs brilliance, however it can become a bit too hot to handle for some listeners. While the EM1 lacks the airiness, it still is good enough to be engaging for a varied genre of music, compared to the T2. The T2’s driver is slow in bass notes and that can have a big impact on the texture of the bass notes, and it also lacks the slam that the EM1 offers.

    Between the two, my pick would be the EM1.

    FiiO EX1 – Also sold as Dunu Titan 1, the EX1 is a semi-open IEM that was sold in the sub $100 price range. The EX1 is also a single dynamic driver like the EM1 but benefits from a faster driver renders bass texture much better than the Simgot EM1. The vocals are also much better in resolution and texture compared to the Simgot. The upper mids and lower highs is where the EX1 is a bit too hot to handle for me – on the not so well mastered tracks, these can be quite harsh. But on well-mastered tracks, the EX1 offer enough air and details and easily trumps the Simgot EM1.

    Conclusion

    20190525_183826.jpg
    For a small, dynamic driver IEM at the budget end of the spectrum, the EM1 is a good enough package for the average listener. Seasoned listeners will be left wanting more and that is expected as the Simgot EM1 is not positioned as an audiophile offering. While yu will not be surrounded by music on the EM1, it is engaging enough to be a daily-driver for the casual listener, especially those who like to listen to music on the go.

    And guess what – this doesn’t drain your wallet.
  6. FastAndClean
    you can do better
    Written by FastAndClean
    Published Jun 4, 2019
    3.5/5,
    Pros - good bass response, solid build and packaging, small and comfortable, pleasant sound with aftermarket eartips
    Cons - aggressive upper midrange(with the stock tips), dip in the lower mids, the bass is tight but it lacks texture, you need aftermarket tips to make them sound good
    IMG_20190523_163121.jpg

    source for the review - Sabaj DA3

    Songs used for the review
    Jim Keltner - Improvisation
    Eric Clapton - My father's Eyes
    Nah Youn Sun - My Favorite Things
    Inception - Dream Collapsing
    Steve Strauss - Youngstown
    Stimulus Timbre - Expression
    Diana Krall – Let's Fall in Love
    Trevor Jones - Clear The Tracks!
    The DALI CD - Zhao Cong , Moonlight on Spring River
    Baba-Yaga, for orchestra, Op. 56
    Rebecca Pidgeon - Grandmother
    Sara K - Maritime
    Trevor Jones - Promentory
    Patricia Barber - Regular Pleasures
    Dire Straits - Brothers In Arms
    Dire Straits - Your Latest Trick
    Dave Brubeck - Take Five
    Marcin Przybylowicz - Go Back Whence You Came
    James Horner - Going After Newt
    Hans Zimmer - Dream Is Collapsing
    Hans Zimmer - Molossus
    Harry Gregson - Emergency Launch
    Shpongle - Shpongle Spores
    Dizzy Gillespie - Could it Be You
    Dominik Eulberg - Björn Borkenkäfer
    Trentemøller - The Forest
    Kryptic Minds And Leon Switch - Ocean Blue
    Nirvana - MTV Unplugged In New York (Album)
    Xiomara Laugart - Tears and Rumba (2015) [192-24](Album)
    Xiomara Laugart (2006) Xiomara (24-96)(Album)
    Xiomara Laugart (2010) La Voz (24-88)(Album)


    specs
    Transducer unit: 10mm high magnetic composite dynamic driver
    Diaphragm: Polymer composite titanium-plated diaphragm
    Frequency response: 15Hz-40kHz
    Sensitivity: ≥101dB (at 1000Hz)
    Impedance: 16Ω

    Price - 60$

    That is my first review sample, thank you Alan.

    Packaging
    The packaging is very good, you get very good quality 6 pairs silicone eartips, braided black removable 2 pin cable, the box is nicely padded from the inside so everything is well protected.
    IMG_20190523_163121.jpg IMG_20190523_163554.jpg IMG_20190523_163607.jpg IMG_20190523_163646.jpg IMG_20190523_163732.jpg



    Build, fit and comfort
    The build is solid, they are made from plastic but it is thick and durable, is not thin plastic body like the Massdrop Nuforce EDC3 for example. The nozzle is made from metal, another good point about their build.
    The cable is good but i like to use aftermarket cables.
    The comfort is very good for me, they are small and fit very well.
    IMG_20190523_163800.jpg
    They have two types of tips, 3 sets of wide bore tips and 3 sets of narrower bore.
    The wide bore is for cleaner more open sound, narrow bore is for warmer sound with more bass.
    I like the tips very much, they are soft and i use them with some of my other in ears.
    tips+2.jpg tips+1.jpg

    isolation
    The isolation is good but they have a vent in the front, it is not strong but they block some noise.

    Overall sound signature.
    Mid bass boost with strong upper mid/lower treble area.

    EDIT 09.06.2019 - today i tried them with small bore Sony mh1c tips and deep fit, the grain in the upper mids is gone and they are a lot better, the stock tips are holding them back
    IMG_20190609_165409.jpg

    Bass
    Has a boost in the mid bass, is not a lot, probably 3-4db over DF flat line. The extension is good, they can go low but the mid bass is taking the lead here, sub bass takes a step back in the overall response. Bass control is very good, tight with good speed. Texture and details are not very good, lack of separation between the notes, the details are not easy to hear. Overall good bass response with tight hits but not a lot of texture and the sub bass is one step behind the mid bass.

    Mids - with the stock tips
    Are uneven sounding, kind of dry and not tonally correct. Recession in the lower mids, they sound like detached from the bass, there is no smooth transition from the bass to the midrange. Huge boost in the upper part, the mids lack body and sound very aggressive with some songs.Male vocals sound thin and the female sound very forward, no musicality, no lushness or body, dry and forward.
    EDIT - with Sony tips
    I found that with small bore eartips and deep fit (from Sony MH1C) the midrange is very improved, smoother and more musical, not so aggressive anymore.

    Treble - with stock tips
    The boost in the upper mids continue into the lower treble, at the same time they lack upper treble, the extension is poor. For that reason the treble has some grain to it, it sounds rough and unrefined. Lack of air and finesse. The treble is not aggressive like the upper mids but has some edge to it. Overall not very good treble for those reasons.
    EDIT - with Sony tips
    again, with Sony tips the treble is a lot smoother and the grain is gone, a lot more unoffensive treble response

    Soundstage and imaging.
    Soundstage has good width but is not very deep. The imaging is not very good, not very specific and with fast and complex tracks is getting a little bit cloudy. The instrument separation is average.

    Conclusion
    Good package, build and comfort, average sound with the stock tips, smoother pleasant sound with the Sony tips.
    For the money they are good only if you use them with narrow bore eartips.

    Recommendation to Simgot - Consider including narrow bore eartips instead of the wide bore "analytical" ones.

    Have a good one.

    images

    1. IMG_20190523_163745.jpg
    2. IMG_20190523_163811.jpg