Xonar STX vs X-Fi Titanium HD for modern FPS games
Aug 13, 2012 at 1:43 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 7

Zandermannnn

New Head-Fier
I am currently considering purchasing either a Xonar STX or X-Fi Titanium HD.  I am also going to be purchasing a set of Q701’s. My primary use is going to be competitive gaming and I want to purchase the card with the best positional audio. I don’t play many older games and mostly play BF3, Counterstrike: GO and newer CoD games.

I understand a lot of gamers prefer CMSS-3D over DH but my main question is if newer games even take advantage of CMSS-3D? I also am not sure the Q701’s will need an amp with either of those sound cards. I was leaning towards the Titanium HD because of its reputation with gamers but if newer games don’t even take advantage CMSS-3D I would rather get the STX to take advantage of its built in amp.

I am brand new to the audiophile scene and I am not sure about what tech works best with modern FPS games and any guidance is appreciated.

Aug 13, 2012 at 3:02 PM Post #2 of 7
Quote:
I am currently considering purchasing either a Xonar STX or X-Fi Titanium HD.  I am also going to be purchasing a set of Q701’s. My primary use is going to be competitive gaming and I want to purchase the card with the best positional audio. I don’t play many older games and mostly play BF3, Counterstrike: GO and newer CoD games.

I understand a lot of gamers prefer CMSS-3D over DH but my main question is if newer games even take advantage of CMSS-3D? I also am not sure the Q701’s will need an amp with either of those sound cards. I was leaning towards the Titanium HD because of its reputation with gamers but if newer games don’t even take advantage CMSS-3D I would rather get the STX to take advantage of its built in amp.

I am brand new to the audiophile scene and I am not sure about what tech works best with modern FPS games and any guidance is appreciated.