Using Sound System As Amp For HD 201
Jun 9, 2010 at 7:58 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 4

mechanix

100+ Head-Fier
Hello. I am a newbie about headphones, amps, sound equipment and other hi-fi things and have a few questions. Probably these questions were asked hundreds of times but despite all my efforts i couldn't find the answers I like, so i decided to sign up and ask myself directly.

My main question lies in the topic name. I've been reading the forums for several days, and it seems like headphones need amps to sound better (mostly). But considering I have an HD 201, which is a price/performance product, it wouldnt make sense to invest in another amp. Then I came up with an idea. I have a Sharp 2+2 sound system in my home, which I bought like ten years ago. I connected it to my pc and plugged my headphones to sound system, instead of plugging directly onboard sound card. Will it do the work of an amp? Maybe the question is too newbie-ish, but I don't know much about these stuff, I'm just started to get into.

My other question is about equalizer. Headphones sound a bit muffled to me, but I just can't get the right settings in winamp equalizer. Which settings should I increase / decrease to stop it from sounding muffled? Also I should set my sound system's EQ preset to Flat, right?

Last question. I use onboard sound card on my PC and want to buy an Creative SoundBlaster Audigy Value 7.1 24 Bit sound card. However some people said it wont make much different if you are using headphones. Then I decided to think twice. Considering I am using headphones through the sound system, should I get it?

I think thats all for now. Thanks in advance for sparing time to read.

edit: With sound system I mean an audio system. Sorry about bad english : )

Jun 9, 2010 at 2:51 PM Post #2 of 4