suggest which power-amp to build ($300-500) and what speakers(<$1000) would pair well?
Feb 18, 2008 at 10:53 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 49

el_matt0

1000+ Head-Fier
hi all, im new to the speaker world, so im looking for suggestions. ive long delayed getting a pair of speakers just because of lack of good acoustic space, however, im moving into a new house that has a fantastic hardwood floored rectangular living room, 18' x 12'. I need suggestions on a decent amp to build and a pair of speakers to pair with them. i think at this point im inclined towards buying two tower speakers of some sort, im looking to spend around 1000 for a used pair (or less). most tower speakers have woofers right, so would i need to buy a sub in addition, or do alot of people use towers without a sub with ample results? in terms of a good amp circuit to build, im not too picky on what, i just need a good power amp that will be able to power whatever speakers you guys suggest. i dont have a pre-amp, so something that can act as a pre-amp and can be wired with a potentiometer would be idea.

ballpark, im looking to spend about 500-1000 on the speakers, 400-500 on the amplifier, and maybe a sub if you guys think id need one as well. please shoot me any suggestions at all, as i said im new to the speaker world so im a bit clueless in this realm! im not looking for a ton of bass out of these speakers, moreso something quality sounding that can fill up that acoustic space - although some thump would definitely be nice, as i do listen to some bass heavier music once and a while!
wink.gif

Feb 18, 2008 at 10:59 PM Post #2 of 49
If I could get any pair of stereo towers for $1K, it'd be the Wharfedale Diamond 9.6.