SONY NW-WM1Z / WM1A
post-13592146
Post #12,751 of 43,051

gerelmx1986

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 25, 2014
Messages
10,073
Reaction score
2,702
Location
Germany
Joined
Aug 25, 2014
Location
Germany
Posts
10,073
Likes
2,702
:D now hope in the walkman anniversary edition sony has plans for Dual-SD slot preferrably a regula SD slot + microSD
 
     Share This Post       
post-13592306
Post #12,753 of 43,051

buzzlulu

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 27, 2003
Messages
1,512
Reaction score
434
Joined
Nov 27, 2003
Posts
1,512
Likes
434
     Share This Post       
post-13592309
Post #12,754 of 43,051

buzzlulu

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 27, 2003
Messages
1,512
Reaction score
434
Joined
Nov 27, 2003
Posts
1,512
Likes
434
Whitigir

I thought you no longer have your Z1R?

What are your thoughts on cables for the Sony - which commercially available ones have you heard (as I realize you also build your own)?

As you know I sent my Z1R's back several months ago and currently use the Utopia's (with Kimber Axios). Well - I found that I also needed a closed back and just repurchased the Z1R's again as a second pair. Currently using the Sony/Kimber cable (all copper vs. copper/silver included in the box). So far nice sounding - however owning two pair of Axios cables I don't think I can live with this Sony/Kimber version - very cheap looking construction compared to the Axios.

I have a feeling even though they share the same DNA as genuine Axios cables - and are all copper like them - I have a suspicion that real Kimber Axios will beat them out.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13592478
Post #12,755 of 43,051

Whitigir

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 14, 2013
Messages
19,864
Reaction score
15,413
Joined
Oct 14, 2013
Posts
19,864
Likes
15,413
Whitigir

I thought you no longer have your Z1R?

What are your thoughts on cables for the Sony - which commercially available ones have you heard (as I realize you also build your own)?

As you know I sent my Z1R's back several months ago and currently use the Utopia's (with Kimber Axios). Well - I found that I also needed a closed back and just repurchased the Z1R's again as a second pair. Currently using the Sony/Kimber cable (all copper vs. copper/silver included in the box). So far nice sounding - however owning two pair of Axios cables I don't think I can live with this Sony/Kimber version - very cheap looking construction compared to the Axios.

I have a feeling even though they share the same DNA as genuine Axios cables - and are all copper like them - I have a suspicion that real Kimber Axios will beat them out.
That is correct that I no longer have Z1R, but I do have SA5000 of which is converted to Z1R removable cables style :)

I do not spend money on commercial available cables as I build my own, and I have experiences with different type of materials and styles as I can construct them at my wills...which cost me money...but my enthusiasm has no ends. What do I found useful about Sony cables ? I found that their uses of Hybrid Silver plated Copper wires in their cables construction is genius, and so I adopted it which I currently use for Z1R, and now converted into Utopia usage. It is the one u see above, but the material is UPOCC and not typical OFC

Axios is the flagship level of Kimber, and so they have very nice build, having 16 wires braided. It does have some advantages, but such question is better answered by Jason @thesourceAv as he has huge stock of those and can leisurely answer it to you, but the technicality and pricing performances between regular Kimber Vs Axios is real.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13592627
Post #12,756 of 43,051

ezekiel77

Reviewer at Headphonesty
Joined
Jun 16, 2015
Messages
4,283
Reaction score
3,916
Location
Malaysiurrr
Joined
Jun 16, 2015
Location
Malaysiurrr
Posts
4,283
Likes
3,916
Website
headphonesty.com
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-13592643
Post #12,757 of 43,051

buzzlulu

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 27, 2003
Messages
1,512
Reaction score
434
Joined
Nov 27, 2003
Posts
1,512
Likes
434
Yes I am convinced that if I bring in a pair of "real" Kimbers (ie Axios) I fully expect them to be better than the Sony/Kimber version. I already own two sets of Axios - a 1.2m Pentacon terminated for the 1Z and a second 4m balanced XLR terminated for use with my Moon 430HA amplifier in my 2 channel system. Beautifully made - and sounding - cables.

Agreed about the Sony use of silver coated copper they for the Z1R's. They sound quite good as is. Is there any commercial cable manufacturer offering the same? I tried the Axios copper/silver hybrid and was not happy at all (on Utopias). I preferred the all copper version. Kimber is not silver coating the copper in this version. Instead 8 of the wires are pure silver and 8 are pure copper - both then braided together. Obviously this is quite different from silver coating all wires as Sony does with their supplied cable. That is why I ask if any comnercially available suppliers are offering silver coated copper.

It is interesting though that Sony consider the pure copper Sony/Kimber to be an upgrade over the supplied silver coated copper. Perhaps for them 8 braids of pure copper beat out a thin single strand of silver coated copper
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-13592880
Post #12,758 of 43,051

Whitigir

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 14, 2013
Messages
19,864
Reaction score
15,413
Joined
Oct 14, 2013
Posts
19,864
Likes
15,413
Yes I am convinced that if I bring in a pair of "real" Kimbers (ie Axios) I fully expect them to be better than the Sony/Kimber version. I already own two sets of Axios - a 1.2m Pentacon terminated for the 1Z and a second 4m balanced XLR terminated for use with my Moon 430HA amplifier in my 2 channel system. Beautifully made - and sounding - cables.

Agreed about the Sony use of silver coated copper they for the Z1R's. They sound quite good as is. Is there any commercial cable manufacturer offering the same? I tried the Axios copper/silver hybrid and was not happy at all (on Utopias). I preferred the all copper version. Kimber is not silver coating the copper in this version. Instead 8 of the wires are pure silver and 8 are pure copper - both then braided together. Obviously this is quite different from silver coating all wires as Sony does with their supplied cable. That is why I ask if any comnercially available suppliers are offering silver coated copper.

It is interesting though that Sony consider the pure copper Sony/Kimber to be an upgrade over the supplied silver coated copper. Perhaps for them 8 braids of pure copper beat out a thin single strand of silver coated copper
There are many vendors that offer the cables in Silver plated copper. However, the Sony cables in Z1R is different. You can always ask the 3rd party vendor to do what they can, customize it.

Well, the Kimber Axios is superior in comparison to Stock cables . Technicality, Axios Kimber has very large wire sizes, it is probably 20Awg combined per polarity or larger, I am not sure, again, ask Jason, on top of that, they are braided 16 wires where as stock only has straight wires and much smaller sizes.

The best for Utopia would be Silver-Gold Fusion materials, but they are exotically expensive.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13593004
Post #12,759 of 43,051

buzzlulu

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 27, 2003
Messages
1,512
Reaction score
434
Joined
Nov 27, 2003
Posts
1,512
Likes
434
Yes - if I can accurately predict the future - once I finish burning in the Sony/Kimber I have a funny feeling I am going to fInd it superior to the stock Z1R cable - and then send it back for an Axios which will most likely be better still.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13593061
Post #12,760 of 43,051

gerelmx1986

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 25, 2014
Messages
10,073
Reaction score
2,702
Location
Germany
Joined
Aug 25, 2014
Location
Germany
Posts
10,073
Likes
2,702
New Walkman will play APE. And MQA audio, also apparently they returned the video reproduction capability
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-13593287
Post #12,761 of 43,051

nanaholic

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 2, 2010
Messages
2,214
Reaction score
2,057
Joined
Sep 2, 2010
Posts
2,214
Likes
2,057
Are you guys Hyped on the new ZX300? I am not as i have my trustworthy 1A. while USB DAC is certainly a plus, i am not so thrilled, perhaps because the update lifecycle is so fast.
moreover I bet the WM1A and Z will still be the Kings. I see the ZX300 ans in the middle of A30/40 and WM1x
I think it's good that Sony will be releasing a mid-range product with 4.4mm balance output that slots in between WM1A and the A30/A40 series as it can only help 4.4mm adaption rate further. Not everyone can immediately spring for even WM1A pricing so a mid-range DAP costing around 6-70k yen to compete with the likes of the very popular Onkyo DP-X1 and 1A is welcomed. I personally don't have a need for one but I think the ZX300 is a solely needed product to fill that gaping hole in the current line up.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13593353
Post #12,762 of 43,051

gerelmx1986

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 25, 2014
Messages
10,073
Reaction score
2,702
Location
Germany
Joined
Aug 25, 2014
Location
Germany
Posts
10,073
Likes
2,702
I don't know of adding video capability affects the sound quality of the player? I like the fact current WM 1 series are solely music devices., because it says they have the utmost attention to sound quality
 
     Share This Post       
post-13593582
Post #12,763 of 43,051

Dim666

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 13, 2016
Messages
170
Reaction score
57
Joined
Dec 13, 2016
Posts
170
Likes
57
So like I mentioned, I just received mine today. Initially I had a problem pairing as well, but I figured it out.

First, you need to make sure you're at the Remote Control Settings menu, as mentioned above:



Then you need to make sure the Hold button isn't turned on, on the remote. This was my problem, and why the remote didn't pair initially. (if the button is pushed up, HOLD is engaged, make sure this isn't the case).

Finally, from the Remote Control Settings menu, just click "Add Remote". Press any button on the remote (Play, Volume + etc), and it should automatically pick it up and pair.

Took me a while to figure out (my remote is Japanese, and my reading comprehension isn't as good as some here
), but it works
Help Me !

I've got WM1A ant this remote (RMT-NWS20) but I don't found in Settings Menu between Audio Device Settings and NFC the "Remote Control Settings". I've bought this remote in Japan. With "Hold Off" when I press a button the remote blinks red and blue quickly but nothing works
 
     Share This Post       
post-13593689
Post #12,765 of 43,051

Dim666

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 13, 2016
Messages
170
Reaction score
57
Joined
Dec 13, 2016
Posts
170
Likes
57
My WM1a don't own this icon at right :slight_frown:
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: stenog

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 36, Guests: 20)

Top