Schiit Happened: The Story of the World's Most Improbable Start-Up
post-14992401
Post #47,266 of 66,325

belgiangenius

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 10, 2016
Messages
306
Reaction score
242
Joined
Sep 10, 2016
Posts
306
Likes
242
I sincerely wanted to know why it was weird in the genius mind.
I see it like this: I pay and click for something with tubes and after I am asking if the tubes can be left out and the price reduced ... So I pay for 1KG of oranges and after I request to take out 200 grams and refund me. Most likely there is no response from the orange seller just a jaw dropping face scene. Ask beforehand and you know what you are up to, i'd say.
That's a bizarre comparison.

But if you'd like my rationale: tubes are a consumable peripheral, one for which most serious hobbyists (i.e., like Freya customers) would have strong preferences for. They are also very expensive. So probably 10% + of the cost of that Freya is the tubes.

Many Freya customers probably have a box full of tubes. Many Freya+ customers probably have the original Freya and the same damned tubes Freya + comes with.

Mine are all unused now because I don't like those Tungsols.

I thought it was a reasonable request. I would have no hard feelings if the company would decline the request with such a response. That didn't happen.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14992454
Post #47,267 of 66,325

Ableza

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 18, 2014
Messages
4,245
Reaction score
13,968
Location
Valley of the Sun
Joined
Jan 18, 2014
Location
Valley of the Sun
Posts
4,245
Likes
13,968
Maybe the current design of the Saga+ gives extra problems when switching the tube power, but all tube power amps switch on and off by switching the primary transformer power.
I thought switching to passive mode meant to interrupt all leads going to the tube/ input and output...
Maybe this is not done in the Saga+?

However i can understand the need to avoid a switching click and to mute the output first.
The remark about the grid DC anomaliesI do not understand because if you switch the DC power of filament and anode the tube has not power and therefore can not generate DC voltage on the grid.
Switching the transformer might however.
You are assuming that the power for the tubes is independent of other functions in the device. AND that there would be physical room for the necessary relays in Saga. Neither of which are good assumptions, based on what Jason Stoddard wrote.

I recommend simply not using super expensive tubes in it, or accepting that they might fail sooner than expected if you do. Audio is all about trade offs and compromises.
 
post-14992455
Post #47,268 of 66,325

Derrick Swart

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 16, 2015
Messages
949
Reaction score
1,068
Location
Sintra, Portugal
Joined
Jul 16, 2015
Location
Sintra, Portugal
Posts
949
Likes
1,068
That's a bizarre comparison.

But if you'd like my rationale: tubes are a consumable peripheral, one for which most serious hobbyists (i.e., like Freya customers) would have strong preferences for. They are also very expensive. So probably 10% + of the cost of that Freya is the tubes.

Many Freya customers probably have a box full of tubes. Many Freya+ customers probably have the original Freya and the same damned tubes Freya + comes with.

Mine are all unused now because I don't like those Tungsols.

I thought it was a reasonable request. I would have no hard feelings if the company would decline the request with such a response. That didn't happen.
Your question is very valid and actually they could offer a tubeless tube amp in the thunderdome to see how your proposal goes. Question of course is the pricing (matched quad is 120 bucks) 779 is 180 higher than the Freya S with less functionality (for those that do not have tubes yet). I just wanted to point out that asking before click and pay probably would be a better option.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: EELawson
post-14992459
Post #47,269 of 66,325

dieslemat

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 26, 2017
Messages
559
Reaction score
882
Location
Singapore
Joined
Nov 26, 2017
Location
Singapore
Posts
559
Likes
882
Hello folks,
Anyone else had this weird double pre authorization on their credit card from Schiit or any other merchant before?

Disclaimer: i already emailed Schiit yesterday and they promptly replied (a few times and with great courtesy) on what they saw on their end but i’d like to know if anyone else had this. Please feel free to pm me.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14992464
Post #47,270 of 66,325

Ableza

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 18, 2014
Messages
4,245
Reaction score
13,968
Location
Valley of the Sun
Joined
Jan 18, 2014
Location
Valley of the Sun
Posts
4,245
Likes
13,968
Your question is very valid and actually they could offer a tubeless tube amp in the thunderdome to see how your proposal goes. Question of course is the pricing (matched quad is 120 bucks) 779 is 180 higher than the Freya S with less functionality (for those that do not have tubes yet). I just wanted to point out that asking before click and pay probably would be a better option.
If it was my company I would never sell a device that was not functional as shipped. But that's just me.
 
post-14992480
Post #47,271 of 66,325

Derrick Swart

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 16, 2015
Messages
949
Reaction score
1,068
Location
Sintra, Portugal
Joined
Jul 16, 2015
Location
Sintra, Portugal
Posts
949
Likes
1,068
If it was my company I would never sell a device that was not functional as shipped. But that's just me.
does it need tubes to function? Or do the passive and differential buffer stage work when tubes are out? (like new option: tubes turned-off)
 
     Share This Post       
post-14992484
Post #47,272 of 66,325

Ableza

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 18, 2014
Messages
4,245
Reaction score
13,968
Location
Valley of the Sun
Joined
Jan 18, 2014
Location
Valley of the Sun
Posts
4,245
Likes
13,968
does it need tubes to function? Or do the passive and differential buffer stage work when tubes are out? (like new option: tubes turned-off)
I don't know, but my comment remains my opinion, along with my earlier comment that if it was an option the company wanted to offer I suspect they would. If you own a Freya take the tubes out and see if it functions.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14992504
Post #47,273 of 66,325

ThorCorps

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 28, 2018
Messages
6
Reaction score
27
Location
Road Atlanta
Joined
Jun 28, 2018
Location
Road Atlanta
Posts
6
Likes
27
Wanted to share a few quick observations... Received a Freya S late Monday.

I swapped it in place of my existing Freya (octal LISST) in my main 2-channel system and have been running it in Nexus +1 mode. It sounds at least as good as my original Freya (which is currently replacing a SYS in my bedroom setup, so now I have remote volume control in that single-ended system). I haven't done any direct A/B comparisons and don't really intend to.

The system where the Freya S is uses a Squeezebox Receiver as primary source (lossless rips) to Gumby balanced to Freya S balanced to Emotiva XPR-1's to Swans F2.2F speakers.

The light tubes are probably about half as bright as the old LED method. Or, you could consider it more like a color temperature change from 5000K to more like 3000K. Not nearly as harsh.

Now that the volume control tracks with the remote, each up/down on the remote changes the volume about 4 clicks (of the 128-steps). So, maybe you don't have quite as much control as with the original remote/volume control method, but I'm happy with roughly 4-steps per up/down.

Overall, very pleased with the new Freya S (Thanks for the option, Jason!)
 
post-14992555
Post #47,274 of 66,325

purehifi192

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 18, 2016
Messages
163
Reaction score
54
Joined
Nov 18, 2016
Posts
163
Likes
54
A precedent was set with shipping original Freya without tubes and that was for a device that required tubes more so than the "+". Not offering this option on the newer model is totally within Schiit's rights, of course, but an explanation would be welcome by Jason or the person handling the order. That's not asking too much.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14992578
Post #47,275 of 66,325

mp29k

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Messages
164
Reaction score
222
Joined
Dec 30, 2011
Posts
164
Likes
222
I sincerely wanted to know why it was weird in the genius mind.
I see it like this: I pay and click for something with tubes and after I am asking if the tubes can be left out and the price reduced ... So I pay for 1KG of oranges and after I request to take out 200 grams and refund me. Most likely there is no response from the orange seller just a jaw dropping face scene. Ask beforehand and you know what you are up to, i'd say.
I think a slightly more apt metaphor would be if you bought 1KG of oranges, and asked them to remove the peel and give you a discount.
 
post-14992657
Post #47,276 of 66,325

belgiangenius

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 10, 2016
Messages
306
Reaction score
242
Joined
Sep 10, 2016
Posts
306
Likes
242
Your question is very valid and actually they could offer a tubeless tube amp in the thunderdome to see how your proposal goes. Question of course is the pricing (matched quad is 120 bucks) 779 is 180 higher than the Freya S with less functionality (for those that do not have tubes yet). I just wanted to point out that asking before click and pay probably would be a better option.
Well, I would've ordered it regardless, so....
 
     Share This Post       
post-14992659
Post #47,277 of 66,325

belgiangenius

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 10, 2016
Messages
306
Reaction score
242
Joined
Sep 10, 2016
Posts
306
Likes
242
I think a slightly more apt metaphor would be if you bought 1KG of oranges, and asked them to remove the peel and give you a discount.
Why don't we go in whole-hogg and say it's like asking your liquor store to distill the water out of the whiskey?? :beyersmile:
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: mp29k
post-14992749
Post #47,278 of 66,325

Paladin79

Member of the Trade: Cables For Less
Joined
Jun 1, 2016
Messages
5,778
Reaction score
9,966
Location
Indiana
Joined
Jun 1, 2016
Location
Indiana
Posts
5,778
Likes
9,966
i own the 1st-gen Freya, looking to upgrade to the Freya + for sure.

Lower noise floor + tube shutdown when running other modes alone sealed the deal for me, tho the other upgrades are nice too.
I will receive a Freya + tomorrow and will compare it to the original Freya if I get time.
 
post-14992753
Post #47,279 of 66,325

RCBinTN

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 9, 2012
Messages
4,730
Reaction score
7,431
Location
Nashville, TN
Joined
Oct 9, 2012
Location
Nashville, TN
Posts
4,730
Likes
7,431
Age
63
I will receive a Freya + tomorrow and will compare it to the original Freya if I get time.
Hey, what's up Tom? Haven't seen you around much lately.
 
Last edited:
post-14992772
Post #47,280 of 66,325

Paladin79

Member of the Trade: Cables For Less
Joined
Jun 1, 2016
Messages
5,778
Reaction score
9,966
Location
Indiana
Joined
Jun 1, 2016
Location
Indiana
Posts
5,778
Likes
9,966
Hey, what's up Tom? Haven't seen you around much lately.
I have been busy with speaker amps and DIY audio projects so I am on other threads more, when I do get some free time. I prefer the tube sound so I spend less and less time with solid state devices. It is probably just a phase, but it is the phase I am in. :smile_phones:tube gear.jpg
 
Last edited:

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 28, Guests: 36)

Top