Sansa Clip+ or Cowon i9 or iPod Nano or Sansa Fuze+ or...? (Need a replacenent for my iRiver iFP)
Sep 28, 2010 at 6:36 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 11

FuzzyLlama

New Head-Fier
Hi all,
I've been using an iRiver iFP-899 for nearly 6 years. It was a perfect little DAP,with unbeliviable SQ, powered with simple AA battery (so I could still play my tunes while hiking in some God forsaken mountains, provided that I have a backpack filled with AA batteries), easy to use without looking and small enough to fit in my pants. Unfortunately, it is slowly dying in my hands
frown.gif

I need a new player. The most important thing to me is the sound quality. I am not an audiophile, but I can hear the difference between my old iFP and (for example) new iRiver T60. I need something which wouldn't be a downgrade from my current rig.

I don't need fancy big screens, video playback, touch controls and such. I need an audio player small enough to fit in a jeans pocket, with decent battery life and price below 200€ (for the sake of international price variances let's assume that the maximum I can afford is an iPod Nano 6G). Also I need at least 16GB of storage space.

I've done some research and I came up with some candidates:
- Cowon i9 - Some say that the SQ of this player is flawless. The only problem I've got with it is the proprietary USB cable (evil!) and the fact that...
- Sansa Clip+ - it is so cheap and yet some say that the SQ is as good as in other, more expensive players (such as i9). Is it true? On the other hand, the battery life on this DAP sucks. Because of that...
- Sansa Fuze+ - some say that it sound as good as the Clip, is only slightly more expensive, has a MicroSD slot and better battery life. Maybe this is the player I should get? Or maybe...
- iPod Nano 6G - I can't find any decent review that would cover the SQ (and compare it to the other players on the market). It is goddamn expensive, but the form factor is appealing... But is it worth the price?