(Recommendation/Help/Discussion?) IEM upgrade from Shortbus Olina / Oxygen
Jun 4, 2022 at 1:03 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 8

yonkerzz

New Head-Fier
Hi,

I'm new to Hifi IEMs and purchased my Olinas a month ago and am now looking for an upgrade because of the reasons below.

First the most important stuff out of the way.
I live in Europe, Germany.
My budget is 650€ though I wouldn't mind spending less than that.
I definitely consider used IEMs an option.
I don't know of any place where I could easily try out a lot of IEMs and will mostly rely on reviews and videos.

I now have several issues with my Olinas though.
After adding another filter to add some bass and to fix the sibilance I am now missing the "sparkle and clarity" (which might just be confirmation bias).
Though I like the added bass.

Another issue is the condensation issue which, I must admit, I underestimated a fair bit. As I'm writing this I noticed for the first time that my left side is significantly quieter than the right after wearing them for a while.

The modded Olina graph basically identically to the Oxygen which is why I've used them and the precogvision / Harman target curve as my main references to compare different IEMs on the squig.link .

Thus, I'm now looking for a new set of IEMs to replace my Olina.

I listen to EDM, Hip-Hop with the occasional phonk beats, J-Pop and some Trance.
I'm not very well-versed in genres and I think I listen to quiet a lot more than that but I can't really categorise them because I just wouldn't know what they are.

My search criteria are:
  • Rumble-y bass if the song requires it. (think: Ramsey - Goodbye 1:05, very low tone that, I think, should rumble and lend that part a sense of "grandiosity")
  • Good mid-bass that would give more modern genres such as Pop, Hip-Hop the necessary thump / fun sound.
    A side note is that I don't think I consider myself a diehard basshead. I just appreciate a quality bass where the song requires it.