RE-ZERO with amp or DBA-02s?
Mar 6, 2011 at 4:45 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 38

TuNeCedeMalis

New Head-Fier
I'm pretty new to all of this, but after a few posts and a lot of scrolling through (see: trolling) the different areas of this site I have learned a lot. I've decided to go with a sansa clip+ so I can spend some more money elsewhere. My two main choices are:

RE-ZERO with Fiio E5 amp and sony hybrid tips

or

DBA-02s.

This is a difficult decision for me. Both IEMs seem to have strong supporters and both seem to have a sound signature I'm looking for. It's really a shame I can't try these out first! 

If it helps, I listen to progressive metal, death metal, and so on more than I do any other form of music, though my music library in total spans a very wide range of genres. Would either one of these be more fit towards metal? Otherwise, which do you think would be the best investment for me? I'm sure I'll be happy with either one, but at this point it was either a coin flip or ask the forums! Thanks for all the help this community has been to me! 
beerchug.gif

Mar 6, 2011 at 12:58 PM Post #4 of 38
Nice, a reply! :)

My two main concerns with DBA-02:

1) Sibilance...should my sansa clip+ (rockboxed) with flac files keep me safe enough?

2) Unamped....I just can't afford a portable amp right now if I do decide to get these. It is reassuring to see someone favor the DBA-02s over RE-ZERO amped though.

My main concern with the re-zero is:

1) Ending up underwhelmed and wishing I would have gotten the DBAs (this will be my first headphone purchase!)

Mar 6, 2011 at 4:37 PM Post #5 of 38
hey tunecedemalis