Radsone EarStudio ES100
post-14799638
Post #4,171 of 6,245

benoe

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 10, 2013
Messages
33
Reaction score
21
Joined
Jul 10, 2013
Posts
33
Likes
21
The pulse audio config file? /etc/pulse/daemon.conf
I've tried changing the default frequency to 48khz (was 44.1) and alternate to 44.1khz (was 48) and it didn't help.
Also tried playing with fragments and fragment-size-msec.
Used this as reference: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/PulseAudio/Troubleshooting
Still no answer from Radsone :frowning2:
Might end up buying a Fiio k3 for my work setup.
default-sample-format = s16le
default-sample-rate = 48000
; alternate-sample-rate = 48000
default-sample-channels = 2
default-channel-map = front-left,front-right
 
     Share This Post       
post-14799965
Post #4,172 of 6,245

Rush87

New Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 30, 2014
Messages
21
Reaction score
10
Joined
Apr 30, 2014
Posts
21
Likes
10
default-sample-format = s16le
default-sample-rate = 48000
; alternate-sample-rate = 48000
default-sample-channels = 2
default-channel-map = front-left,front-right
The pulse config file doesn't seem to make any difference with regards to my problem :frowning2:
I've tried all your suggestions and also replaced the config file with one from Linux Mint 19.1.
I've since (re)reverted to 2.0.2 since downgrading to 2.0.1 didn't help (even with an old live USB version of my system).
The ES100 works fine with Linux Mint 19.1 in live USB. Something with my version of Arch and the newer ES100 firmware does not mix well.
The good news is that for some reason, now my ES100 plays fine with my computer via bluetooth (maybe I did not test it right before and the problem has always only been with USB), so I'll use it via bluetooth... until I receive the Topping NX4 I've ordered lol. Then I'll rarely use my ES100 with my computer, mostly with my phone.
Anyway, thanks for your help, I really appreciate it.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14800424
Post #4,173 of 6,245

Jearly410

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 12, 2017
Messages
342
Reaction score
164
Location
San Antonio TX
Joined
Apr 12, 2017
Location
San Antonio TX
Posts
342
Likes
164
iPhone is terrible at Bluetooth connections, especially multi device. Apple still does not support many Bluetooth codecs and I believe SBC only still.
AAC, not SBC. Also, I can’t tell a difference between wired and Bluetooth through my iPhone Bluetooth when out and about.

There was also a comparison between apple’s AAC and two android AAC and there was a big difference in quality. Might be at ASR.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14800691
Post #4,174 of 6,245

F208Frank

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 19, 2019
Messages
680
Reaction score
359
Location
New York
Joined
Feb 19, 2019
Location
New York
Posts
680
Likes
359
Anyone got one yet? Really interested in this, they're not currently available to order though :|
Although it was great for its price, I found the performance to be lacking to say the least. I can see it working for most occasions though. The Bluetooth feature it has is pretty amazing for its price.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14800732
Post #4,175 of 6,245

crabdog

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 14, 2016
Messages
4,311
Reaction score
6,138
Location
Thailand
Joined
Jan 14, 2016
Location
Thailand
Posts
4,311
Likes
6,138
Website
primeaudio.org
The pulse config file doesn't seem to make any difference with regards to my problem :frowning2:
I've tried all your suggestions and also replaced the config file with one from Linux Mint 19.1.
I've since (re)reverted to 2.0.2 since downgrading to 2.0.1 didn't help (even with an old live USB version of my system).
The ES100 works fine with Linux Mint 19.1 in live USB. Something with my version of Arch and the newer ES100 firmware does not mix well.
The good news is that for some reason, now my ES100 plays fine with my computer via bluetooth (maybe I did not test it right before and the problem has always only been with USB), so I'll use it via bluetooth... until I receive the Topping NX4 I've ordered lol. Then I'll rarely use my ES100 with my computer, mostly with my phone.
Anyway, thanks for your help, I really appreciate it.
FWIW it's not working for me either on Voyager OS but I haven't tried messing with any config files.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14800887
Post #4,176 of 6,245

Rush87

New Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 30, 2014
Messages
21
Reaction score
10
Joined
Apr 30, 2014
Posts
21
Likes
10
FWIW it's not working for me either on Voyager OS but I haven't tried messing with any config files.
Huh, so problems on Ubuntu (based) also. Has it stopped working after updating to 2.0.2? Have you tried downgrading?
 
     Share This Post       
post-14800996
Post #4,177 of 6,245

arbiter76

Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
68
Reaction score
38
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Posts
68
Likes
38
AAC, not SBC. Also, I can’t tell a difference between wired and Bluetooth through my iPhone Bluetooth when out and about.

There was also a comparison between apple’s AAC and two android AAC and there was a big difference in quality. Might be at ASR.
Bluetooth connections and multi device. Not talking about quality. It drops and doesn't know what to do when I have more than one phone on a device the iPhone always freaks. One of a few things that always makes me want to chunk my iPhone out the window on the interstate.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14801025
Post #4,178 of 6,245

crabdog

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 14, 2016
Messages
4,311
Reaction score
6,138
Location
Thailand
Joined
Jan 14, 2016
Location
Thailand
Posts
4,311
Likes
6,138
Website
primeaudio.org
Huh, so problems on Ubuntu (based) also. Has it stopped working after updating to 2.0.2? Have you tried downgrading?
I think it was after the update yeah. Honestly, I'm not willing to put that much time into trying to fix it. I only run Linux on my work laptop which is generally used for web browsing and occasional YouTube.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14801077
Post #4,179 of 6,245

Jearly410

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 12, 2017
Messages
342
Reaction score
164
Location
San Antonio TX
Joined
Apr 12, 2017
Location
San Antonio TX
Posts
342
Likes
164
Bluetooth connections and multi device. Not talking about quality. It drops and doesn't know what to do when I have more than one phone on a device the iPhone always freaks. One of a few things that always makes me want to chunk my iPhone out the window on the interstate.
Ah my mistake. Yes I find the multi-pairing frustrating too.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14802304
Post #4,180 of 6,245

driveman

New Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 15, 2012
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Joined
Apr 15, 2012
Posts
2
Likes
0
Guys, I just got the ES100 and I have a strange problem when it's connected to my JH Audio JH16 IEMs. Would appreciate your insights.

The setup is iPhone Xs + ES100 (Firmware 2.0.2) + JH Audio JH16 connected via the 3.5mm connector. The problem is that the vocals sound attenuated as if an equalizer is active (it is not) and attenuating the vocals frequency range.

Here's the strange part: Everything sounds fine when (1) I connect Apple EarPods to the ES100 or (2) When the JH16 are connected to the iPhone via the Lightening adapter or to the Mac. It looks like the ES100 performs well with a different headphone and the JH16 performs well when connected to a different player, but the ES100 + JH16 combo exhibits the problem. The problem occurs when I use my Mac with the ES100 in USB mode as well.

In terms of troubleshooting, so far I tried: A factory reset of ES100, ensuring that the jack of the JH16 is fully inserted to the ES100 connector and reinstalling the app.

If helpful, the JH16 impedance is 18 ohms with a sensitivity of 118dB/mW.

Any insights or similar experiences?
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14803089
Post #4,181 of 6,245

Pro-Jules

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 11, 2015
Messages
996
Reaction score
338
Joined
Apr 11, 2015
Posts
996
Likes
338
Hi
If the sound is bass light and also sounds "ultra wide" or "behind you" that set of earphones might be out of phase. If so It will monkey with any signal centrally panned (like vocals and bass)
 
     Share This Post       
post-14803273
Post #4,182 of 6,245

kingdixon

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 15, 2013
Messages
779
Reaction score
234
Location
Egypt
Joined
May 15, 2013
Location
Egypt
Posts
779
Likes
234
Guys, I just got the ES100 and I have a strange problem when it's connected to my JH Audio JH16 IEMs. Would appreciate your insights.

The setup is iPhone Xs + ES100 (Firmware 2.0.2) + JH Audio JH16 connected via the 3.5mm connector. The problem is that the vocals sound attenuated as if an equalizer is active (it is not) and attenuating the vocals frequency range.

Here's the strange part: Everything sounds fine when (1) I connect Apple EarPods to the ES100 or (2) When the JH16 are connected to the iPhone via the Lightening adapter or to the Mac. It looks like the ES100 performs well with a different headphone and the JH16 performs well when connected to a different player, but the ES100 + JH16 combo exhibits the problem. The problem occurs when I use my Mac with the ES100 in USB mode as well.

In terms of troubleshooting, so far I tried: A factory reset of ES100, ensuring that the jack of the JH16 is fully inserted to the ES100 connector and reinstalling the app.

If helpful, the JH16 impedance is 18 ohms with a sensitivity of 118dB/mW.

Any insights or similar experiences?
Could it be a synergy thing ?

I feel they both sound a bit on the warm side might not be a good match together
 
     Share This Post       
post-14805210
Post #4,183 of 6,245

smorgar

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 4, 2018
Messages
164
Reaction score
117
Location
Sweden
Joined
Jun 4, 2018
Location
Sweden
Posts
164
Likes
117
AAC, not SBC. Also, I can’t tell a difference between wired and Bluetooth through my iPhone Bluetooth when out and about.

There was also a comparison between apple’s AAC and two android AAC and there was a big difference in quality. Might be at ASR.
That's a funny comparison since no one is using AAC on an Android device :)
 
     Share This Post       
post-14805283
Post #4,184 of 6,245

Jearly410

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 12, 2017
Messages
342
Reaction score
164
Location
San Antonio TX
Joined
Apr 12, 2017
Location
San Antonio TX
Posts
342
Likes
164
That's a funny comparison since no one is using AAC on an Android device :)
For sure. With Aptx and LDAC there is no reason to use AAC on Android devices. I was surprised to see the different implementations of AAC encoding had such a drastic effect.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14805313
Post #4,185 of 6,245

smorgar

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 4, 2018
Messages
164
Reaction score
117
Location
Sweden
Joined
Jun 4, 2018
Location
Sweden
Posts
164
Likes
117
For sure. With Aptx and LDAC there is no reason to use AAC on Android devices. I was surprised to see the different implementations of AAC encoding had such a drastic effect.
Yeah that's quite interesting... I wonder if AAC on Android differs from device to device. I'm thinking Google's own Pixel vs flagship Samsung
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 1, Guests: 5)

Top