Newbie here, looking to step it up and start listening
Dec 27, 2010 at 11:15 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 5

JorgenMeathooks

New Head-Fier
Hey there,

I've always enjoyed music, but have never had the opportunity to own a good pair of headphones. At one point, I purchased some SkullCandy Skullcrushers. I thought they were the greatest headphones ever. I know, I know, laugh. You can laugh harder knowing I was totally crushed when they broke 2 weeks later.

Anyway, that was the first time I was able to purchase some good headphones, and knowing what I do now I obviously wasted my chance on something that just looks good.

A little under a year ago, I got some Sony MDR-V150 headphones. They were comfortable and I enjoyed them, but they just didn't sound great (for $14, I wasn't expecting a lot). A couple months ago, I ordered a pair of Koss Portapros. For the price and quality, pure bliss, at least to virgin ears...well, once-virgin ears that were raped by Skullcrushers. They were clearer and had more real-feeling bass (pardon my lack of Audiophile jargon, for I know none). 

Now, I would like to move up some more. I have been eying the Sennheiser HD555's (possibly HD595's if I could get a bit more money).

I know Sennheiser is a good brand, I've heard it from many many people, but I have been unable to demo a pair of that particular model, so I am not 100% certain if I want them. 

What I would like to know is: Are they worth it? Is there something in the same price range ($100-150) that is better? Any that are great for music, but can be good for gaming?

I like bass, but not too heavy. More like, I can feel the music, but not like it's smashing bricks into my head. 

Any suggestions? 

Also, please excuse my naivety and inexperienced attitude. I do not know how to describe what exactly I'm looking for.

Dec 29, 2010 at 9:10 PM Post #3 of 5