Need Headphone + Amp/DAC suggestions (600 $)
Nov 7, 2010 at 7:52 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 5

dayamax

100+ Head-Fier
Hi,

I have been using the Sennheiser HD 555 headphones for the last two years, and I was very satisfied with its performance. But for the past couple of months, I've been thinking of upgrading my gear. I used my headphones straight out of my laptop headphone jack. So I want to buy a headphone amp and DAC (or amp/dac combo) + new pair of cans.
I will use these only at home, so noise leakage is not a problem. One important factor is that the headphones should be comfortable (at par with the HD 555 in terms of comfort) since I wear them for several hours at a stretch. My musical tastes include mainly classic rock, blues, blues rock, hard rock (70s, 80s).. though at times I also listen to classical music. Most of source consists of FLAC or APE files.. with some 320 kbps cbr mp3s.

My budget is about 500 $, I can stretch it to 600 $. I am considering the Sennheiser HD 600/650 (confused between which of these would be better), and the Grado RS2i. Buying the RS2i would leave me with very little cash for amp/DAC so I'll have to drive them straight out of my headphone jack. I'm also apprehensive about the Grados because they don't seem to have a good reputation for comfort.

Please let me know what you think would be a good pair of headphones for me. Any suggestions for the amp/dac are most welcome.

Thanks. 

Nov 7, 2010 at 8:08 PM Post #2 of 5
If you want the absolute best bang for your buck, get a Stax 2050 system and get the DAC later. Or get some kind of Lambda and a transformer box to run it off a speaker amp. But most people don't want to put in the time or effort to figure out Stax headphones, that is a shame...