Mixed Advise Needed (multiple topics)
Jan 23, 2012 at 10:13 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 1

zachw01

New Head-Fier
Okay guys, I'm almost completely sure that I'm in the wrong place to ask all of these different questions, so please forgive me, this is gonna be a long one.

I am basically new to high quality headphones and am in the market for a pair. I plan on using them heavily with my computer (gaming and music) and have come to realize that I will probably want to use them for when I go to school or just general portable use. I am basically looking for a nice pair of headphones for ~$100 that can be used as i guess general use.

As of a few days ago I got 3 pairs of headphones that I am comparing: Sennheiser HD 280 pro, Grado sr80i, and Sennheiser HD 515. I have tried comparing them since I'v had them and have so far determined that I think the 515s are my least favorite, they seem muffled compared to the other two. I want to like the Grados because I think having a pair of Grados would be badass haha, but that's besides the point. At the moment I am leaning towards the Grados because they seem brighter than the 280s, they are very crisp. The 280s seem darker, but have more bass than the Grados. However, I have an untrained ear and do not know exactly what I am listening for. I am starting to see the differences in the sr80s and the 280s which is helping me listen better, but I still don't have a full understanding of how to detect the minute details. For example, soundstage, maybe it is due to a lack of understanding of what the soundstage is, but I don't know how to compare them. Basically any kind of tips for listening, like what kind of details to look for to determine a good soundstage or just listening tips in general would be great.

I apologize for sounding so elementary in my ways of explaining and asking these questions, like I said, I'm new to all of this.