Mastodon! \m/
Apr 16, 2008 at 7:02 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 51

MetalGeek

100+ Head-Fier
OK, so I have been on a serious Mastodon kick recently. I have been listening to them for a couple years now, but the last month or so has seen me listening to them a lot more than usual.

I was introduced to Mastodon a couple years ago by a college buddy who is a real metalhead. The first tracks he had me sample were "Crusher Destroyer", "March of the Fire Ants", and "Mother Puncher" off of Remission. I was absolutely blown away. Brann Dailor's drumming is nothing short of masterful, and Brent Hinds and Bill Kelliher have created some of the best guitar pieces I've ever heard. Their music is heavy and brutal while at the same time remaining intricate and, dare I say, even beautiful. I had never heard anything like it before, and I was hooked.

A couple months later I picked up a copy of Leviathan, and at first I didn't like it as much as Remission, particularly because there weren't any standout tracks that I could immediately cling to. I decided to listen to it again, all the way through without interruption. Wow...blown away again. As a whole, Leviathan is an incredible album that melts together to form a really awesome musical experience, and I gained an even greater appreciation for their music.