Looking for an 'almost perfect' headphone under ~250$
Apr 6, 2014 at 11:25 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 11

dxzdxz1

New Head-Fier
Hi everyone, my name is Deivid, I'm 22yrs old and I'm from Brazil. This is my first post here but I already lurk a lot on this forum.

In the last few months I started looking for the 'almost perfect' headphone but with no luck so far. I have no experience with mid/high-end headphones, I only have some IEMs.

My musical tastes are mostly Alt Rock, acoustic-like artists like Jack Johnson, Reggae, Indie/Garage Rock, but I listen to Classic/Hard/Metal/Punk often too (and even more).

So, I'm looking for a headphone sit at ~250$ price range that can fit my musical tastes. I know that is not possible find a headphone which perfectly suits all these music genres, but if I found a headphone that can be enjoyable with all these genres I would be very satisfied.

I don't expect to hear every single detail of my songs, but i'd like to hear as much as possible for a headphone at this price tag.
I appreciate a good quality bass in a good amount, but I'm no basshead. In fact, I hate bloated sound.

Since I have a medium-to-large ear, this headphone should be over ear or a very comfortable on ear

Portable and stylish to wear outside my home.

This headphone also have to be easy to drive since I will be using plugged on my smartphone most of the time.

FTR, all my music are ripped or downloaded in flac or mp3 320/v0 and encoded through qaac to aac Q91 (~200kbps) for my smartphone.

Any suggestions?

Apr 7, 2014 at 1:01 AM Post #3 of 11
Thanks for the reply!

After looking at the Innerfidelity Wall of Fame, 2 headphones seems to be te best option to me: NAD VISO HP50 and Focal Spirit Classic. Both are more expensive than I can pay right now, but I can buy it with a little effort.
I live in Brazil, so I can't return a headphone if I don't like the sound or whatever. And since they are very expensive, I have only one chance to find the best for me.