Less Than $500?
Mar 26, 2011 at 2:45 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 19

RiDeC58

New Head-Fier
I am looking for opinions/recommendations on the best Headphone Amps available for less than $500.  Any thoughts/personal personal opinions?  Thanks.

Mar 26, 2011 at 4:13 PM Post #2 of 19
Are You looking for portable, home, what type of phone's will You be using, setup (computer, componet's)? mind boggling isn't it
confused_face(1).gif
. These are a few thing's You need to consider, just don't blow a gasket. 
atsmile.gif

Mar 26, 2011 at 4:37 PM Post #3 of 19

Thanks Frankie, I should have given more info.  I have been a bit of an Audiophile for many years, but I am new to Head-Fi (both the Forum and the Hobby).  I am looking for a home headphone amp to compliment my stereo system which has no headphone capability.  I have an old pair of KLH Studio Phones left over from the late 70s.  I recently bought a pair of RE262s and will be picking up some ner Headphones in the near future--likely a pair of mid-priced Grados.   I need to connect by line-level RCA jack from my stereo pre-amp.

I do not need DAC or any computer/IPOD related features.

I hope this helps.  Thank you for getting my to clarify my needs.

Mar 26, 2011 at 5:05 PM Post #4 of 19
I do understand, it's been a long time for Me also. If You are looking at tube amp's the Shiit Lyr $449.00, no joke (Shiit Audio) might be a nice fit or check out the home page on this site and read SkyLabs 29 tube amp review. You could also look under the Head Gear sight under amp's and do some research there. Since Your older Audiophiler You could also contact some of the senior  member's like SkyLab and bounce some ideas off them I'm more than positive they can help You there. You are going to Love this site just like I do! 
beerchug.gif

Mar 26, 2011 at 6:04 PM Post #5 of 19