iBasso DX150. Dual dacs and interchangeable AMPs. **NEW Firmware that supports AMP9! ** New FIRMWARE 1.05 Dec 30.
post-14554079
Post #1,712 of 3,003

TjPhysicist

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 4, 2012
Messages
362
Reaction score
74
Location
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Joined
Dec 4, 2012
Location
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts
362
Likes
74
Another question if I may....Since this doesn't support the Google Play Store, does one have to log into their Google account upon the reception of this player?
I can't see why you would have to. In fact you don't have to logon to google account on PHONES (at least you didn't pre android P)...until you want an app that is.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14562522
Post #1,713 of 3,003

blackberriesandthinkpads

New Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 5, 2017
Messages
42
Reaction score
14
Location
North America
Joined
Nov 5, 2017
Location
North America
Posts
42
Likes
14
I don’t know about this, but the dx200 with newest firmware does this, and I forgot to write something about this to request it as an optional function rather than standard. Thanks for reminding
Can DX200 owner(s) confirm this? Not being able to power/charge the DAP while using it as a DAC/AMP is completely useless to me. I will mostly be using it as a USB DAC/AMP. If the DX150 cannot do this, and won't be able to via a firmware update due to hardware design, I have to consider the DX200 instead as that's a deal breaker for me.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14566235
Post #1,714 of 3,003

cycheang

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
153
Reaction score
67
Location
Malaysia
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Location
Malaysia
Posts
153
Likes
67
I'm doing the burn in on my IT04 using iBasso DX150, after I left my IEM connected to DX150 for 3 hours, i felt DX150 a bit warm especially near the power button there, not sure you guys have the similar issue or it is normal ?
 
     Share This Post       
post-14566284
Post #1,715 of 3,003

Dobrescu George

Reviewer: AudiophileHeaven
Joined
Jan 30, 2011
Messages
14,622
Reaction score
6,594
Location
Bucharest, Romania
Joined
Jan 30, 2011
Location
Bucharest, Romania
Posts
14,622
Likes
6,594
Age
25
Website
audiophile-heaven.com
I'm doing the burn in on my IT04 using iBasso DX150, after I left my IEM connected to DX150 for 3 hours, i felt DX150 a bit warm especially near the power button there, not sure you guys have the similar issue or it is normal ?
It is normal for it to be a bit warm, although I'd say it is warm on the entire surface, not especially near the power button (?)
 
     Share This Post       
post-14566675
Post #1,716 of 3,003

cycheang

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
153
Reaction score
67
Location
Malaysia
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Location
Malaysia
Posts
153
Likes
67
It is normal for it to be a bit warm, although I'd say it is warm on the entire surface, not especially near the power button (?)
probably you're right, because I feel it rather warm around power button and the entire surface not really take note of that because it is already cover up by the pouch
 
     Share This Post       
post-14574182
Post #1,717 of 3,003

cycheang

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
153
Reaction score
67
Location
Malaysia
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Location
Malaysia
Posts
153
Likes
67
From the review I read from Web, knowing that Neutron music player is better than default Mango player. Since DX150 with original firmware did not come with Google Play Store unless flash to Lurker firmware.

If I insist to use stock firmware, possible to install Neutron Music Player ? I tried Spotify and Tidal apk and no issue found.
Neutron Music player is a paid version. Any idea get it install and it is activated in DX150.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14574185
Post #1,718 of 3,003

TjPhysicist

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 4, 2012
Messages
362
Reaction score
74
Location
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Joined
Dec 4, 2012
Location
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts
362
Likes
74
From the review I read from Web, knowing that Neutron music player is better than default Mango player. Since DX150 with original firmware did not come with Google Play Store unless flash to Lurker firmware.

If I insist to use stock firmware, possible to install Neutron Music Player ? I tried Spotify and Tidal apk and no issue found.
Neutron Music player is a paid version. Any idea get it install and it is activated in DX150.
Neutron's Site actually has a way for you to legally BUY a license for the player outside of the playstore and manually download the apk from their site (many music players do this, especially in the past because not all countries have paid apps in the playstore). I used to do this with a few music players, and it works well enough.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14574200
Post #1,719 of 3,003

Lurker0

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 11, 2014
Messages
1,729
Reaction score
1,543
Location
Moscow, Russia
Joined
Jul 11, 2014
Location
Moscow, Russia
Posts
1,729
Likes
1,543
Neutron's Site actually has a way for you to legally BUY a license for the player outside of the playstore
Then the license is bound to an e-mail account. So one should consider how (s)he can create an appropriate account on DX150 w/o Play Market.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14574204
Post #1,720 of 3,003

TjPhysicist

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 4, 2012
Messages
362
Reaction score
74
Location
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Joined
Dec 4, 2012
Location
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts
362
Likes
74
Then the license is bound to an e-mail account. So one should consider how (s)he can create an appropriate account on DX150 w/o Play Market.
Oh fair point. Can you maybe download a free email app without the mod would that even work? I installed the mod first thing so i have no idea. Wonder why they didn't use an encrypted file or a passcode or smthg.

Edit: wait..OMG you're lurker.. the Lurker?! :bow:
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Layman1
post-14579120
Post #1,721 of 3,003

cycheang

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
153
Reaction score
67
Location
Malaysia
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Location
Malaysia
Posts
153
Likes
67
The default cable come with Sennheiser HD650 is not balanced cable. Is that possible to change to 4.4mm Balanced cable for my HD650 so that I can used it in my DAP with AMP8 ?

Any recommendation ? Not prefer so expensive cable.

Thanks.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14579131
Post #1,722 of 3,003

ryaneagon

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 13, 2018
Messages
299
Reaction score
134
Location
USA
Joined
Feb 13, 2018
Location
USA
Posts
299
Likes
134
The default cable come with Sennheiser HD650 is not balanced cable. Is that possible to change to 4.4mm Balanced cable for my HD650 so that I can used it in my DAP with AMP8 ?

Any recommendation ? Not prefer so expensive cable.

Thanks.
Here is a good thread about HD650 balanced cables.

https://www.head-fi.org/threads/affordable-balanced-cable-for-sennheiser-hd650.662135/

I use ALO audio and have had really good experience with there product for quality and service. What is too expensive, especially regrading HI-FI. Haha! Good luck.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14579368
Post #1,723 of 3,003

dsrk

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 12, 2017
Messages
930
Reaction score
408
Joined
Feb 12, 2017
Posts
930
Likes
408
The default cable come with Sennheiser HD650 is not balanced cable. Is that possible to change to 4.4mm Balanced cable for my HD650 so that I can used it in my DAP with AMP8 ?

Any recommendation ? Not prefer so expensive cable.

Thanks.
I am using this one and it is good enough.
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/16-...820.html?spm=a2g0s.8937460.0.0.44142e0eDRVZga
or this if you want angled plug
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/4-4...071.html?spm=a2g0s.8937460.0.0.44142e0eDRVZga
 
     Share This Post       
post-14584749
Post #1,725 of 3,003

WNBC

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 9, 2010
Messages
2,241
Reaction score
182
Location
WA
Joined
Dec 9, 2010
Location
WA
Posts
2,241
Likes
182
I bought a used DX150 less than a month ago and since then I've installed the lurker software (fantastic) and purchased a new Amp 8 module. I'm really enjoying Amp8. Amp6 was not bad by any means. Even though the ASG2.5 doesn't have difficult-to-drive specs it does seem to do well with more power. I'm thinking about a new IEM. It's been a while since I've purchased an IEM and I kind of like the BA + dynamic driver approach so I will look at offerings from iBasso and Fiio. For ASG2.5 I do have the bass at almost the lowest setting with a very slight turn of the bass dial. I've used the DX150 as a digital transport into my Bimby which is part of a speaker rig. Great for not having to keep a laptop attached to the Bimby.

Nothing new here to report vs what has been reported other than to say I like the DX150, very cool stuff. Before this I've never been a DAP guy. I was skeptical before purchasing because I've tried a handful of low-mid tier to mid-tier DAPs and transportable DAC/amps. I usually ended up selling them off after losing interest. I think the DX150 is here to stay for a while. But, of course there is always the wonder if the DX200 would be the final solution. Well, maybe the DX200ti would be the final solution :wink:.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top