How to decide which headphone is right for you?
Feb 27, 2011 at 8:01 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

miceblue

Headphoneus Supremus
If I'm a beginner audiophile with an untrained ear (for now) and I haven't listened to any high-quality headphones before, how can I tell which one is right for me?

I am currently looking to purchase my first high-quality headphones up from my Sennheiser CX-300 earbuds and Skullcandy Hesh headphones.

I was hoping to find headphones:
  1. Less than $200
  2. Sound good while unamped with my iPod Touch being the source.
  3. Closed with decent isolation
  4. Have decent bass punch (not too overpowering) and warm sound (since I'm adjusted to listening to music through my CX-300's)
  5. Are good for pop (Asian) music (vocals and mids come to mind)
  6. Look decent (not terribly important, but it's worth mentioning since I was considering the Studio Beats by Dre, which are not well-received in the high-end audiophile communities)

So far my list of headphones is composed of:
  1. Ultrasone HFI-580/DJ1 (clearer mids/highs than the M50's)
  2. Audio Technica M50 (overall pretty good headphones for any genre of music)
  3. Sure SRH-840's (good bass and clarity in vocals? I haven't heard much about these)

I was going to try to go to a Guitar Center store near my college to see if I could listen to some of these headphones in person, would this be the best choice for me?

If you guys have any suggestions for me, they would be greatly appreciated.

Feb 27, 2011 at 8:50 PM Post #2 of 6