Help with my Headphone choice (A newbie here!! :) )
May 22, 2011 at 12:34 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 30

Lyssky

100+ Head-Fier
Hi there Head-Fi frequenters, :)

I'm new to this organization and to the headphone world so I need a bit of advice on selecting my new headphones. 

Currently, I own Sennheiser HD 215 (though I do not know if it was a good choice or not) and I read tons of good reviews on HD 598. I mostly listen symphonic, folk, power metal and classical music (yes!). 
Of course when classical and metal figures unite in a music type like symphonic or folk or scandinavian metal, one wants to have both immense clarity and bass. In my poor opinion, I couldn't find much bass and clarity on my HD 215.
So:
1) I wonder if HD 598 will provide me these two aspects in a satisfactory way. (I have never tried an open headphone before so I hope it will have a crystal sound without the 'hshhhh' sound like little in-ear headphones)
2) Will it leak out too much noise?
3) Regarding the price and quality level of HD 598, what else do you recommend?

Thank You People!!!! 

May 22, 2011 at 1:18 PM Post #2 of 30
I think AKG K-240S does prog.rock/sympho/metal very well.

If you want something closed which doesn't leak, Sennheiser HD-25's could be a good choice

May 22, 2011 at 2:33 PM Post #3 of 30
Thanks man!!
I will consider AKG too..

Though I still need some comment on the versatility of HD 598 regarding sympho metal :))

May 22, 2011 at 4:51 PM Post #6 of 30

Quote:
how is k 701 do you think? (dont consider the price)

I'd definitely choose K-240's sound signature over K-601 or K-701. As a matter of fact, I still own K-240's and sold K500/501/601/701

But sound is personal. I need a bit more body, I find 701 way too thin for rock/metal and I enjoy other headphones for jazz and classical

May 23, 2011 at 12:33 PM Post #7 of 30

Quote:

I'd definitely choose K-240's sound signature over K-601 or K-701. As a matter of fact, I still own K-240's and sold K500/501/601/701