Help with my first real headphones
Sep 9, 2010 at 12:49 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 15

TheDropBear

New Head-Fier
I am fairly new to high-end audio but after experimenting with a few headphones and getting a taste of what's out there I am realizing I need to invest in some nice cans.  I am looking for an over the ear set because I will soon be going to college bowling tournaments in neighboring states which involves lengthy bus rides, anywhere from 2 to 20 hours.  Sometimes they put a movie on the bus' TV's (and my taste in movies varies from the rest of the team) so some form of noise cancellation would be welcome.  I also don't want to leak out a lot of sound and annoy the people around me.  I will be listening from my iPod most of the time and another form of amplification isn't really an option.  I would like to keep it around $200.

Does anything come to mind?  Also, I work at Best Buy so I can get a pair of Beats Studios for $150 (and in our Musical Instruments area we have a few pairs of Sennheisers but I'd have to check which models we have and the employee discount).  

Thanks in advance for your help and I am excited to try out any suggestions.

Sep 9, 2010 at 12:40 PM Post #3 of 15
hey OP how much can you get the HD650 for?
beats studio isn't bad at all. ppl here hate it so much is because it's way over priced plus fales advertising. but since you can get it for $150, i'd say that's a bargin.

Sep 9, 2010 at 12:48 PM Post #4 of 15