Help me decide for a headphone between US$ 200 - US$ 300 price range.
Jul 5, 2017 at 6:51 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 28

DudeLebowski

New Head-Fier
Hi Everyone.I am new here.I am a newbie regarding headphones and want to buy one to start my Audiophile journey.

I have an LG V20 and I want to take advantage of the DAC.I started my research into headphones 3 months back and I zeroed between two headphones i.e between BeyerDynamic DT 990 Premium 600 ohms and Sennheiser HD 650.I am not looking for Closed back headphones.

I mostly listen to Rock,Pop(30% Female Vocals) and would listen to Electronic,Bass and Thump heavy music every now and then.I want the headphone to be Lively and have no distortion.

I was sold on DT 990 for my needs, but then I read many people complaining about harsh treble spikes and started searching again.I liked HD 650 as almost everyone but I am concerned as many mentioned that it is not a fun headphone and it is not as fun as DT 990.

I am looking at this amazon DT 990 deal with Fiio E12 Amp,Case,64 GB card at $279 and HD 650 is priced at $315 in Amazon.

https://www.amazon.com/BeyerDynamic...1499224242&sr=8-2-spons&keywords=dt+990&psc=1

Please guide me to the headphone that caters to my needs.Its not mandatory that I will use only LG V20 and will buy an Amp and DAC if required but they are of second priority.

Thank You in Advance.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Counting Bodies Like Sheep to the Rhythm of the War Drums.

Jul 5, 2017 at 10:41 AM Post #2 of 28
For the type of music you listen to, I would be more inclined to recommend a closed-back headphone. It would give you more "thump" for modern rock, pop, electronica, etc. My recommendation would be the Denon AH-MM400 for the source you are using (no additional amp or dac required). Any reason why you would not want a closed-back headphone?

Jul 5, 2017 at 10:56 AM Post #3 of 28