Help! Looking for help finding an AMP to fully power 250 ohm cans.
Jun 29, 2012 at 8:00 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 11

hearthledger

New Head-Fier
I've been looking around at a lot of reviews and people say that the FioO E10 USB / DAC is probably one of the best buys and will power my headphones... That being said , will they in fact give enough power to the headphones to allow them to run at full potential?

I'm currently on a MacBook Pro with no modifications. Any other recommendations? Do I need a DAC or are the macbook pros capable enough to run them fine? If so what kind of amp will be able to fully power a 250 ohm headphone set?

I'm completely new to the amp world so explain things to me like I'm 5 or I might get lost!

Thanks!

Jun 29, 2012 at 8:16 PM Post #2 of 11
Which headphone are you using?

Jun 29, 2012 at 8:23 PM Post #4 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by hearthledger /img/forum/go_quote.gif
I've been looking around at a lot of reviews and people say that the FioO E10 USB / DAC is probably one of the best buys and will power my headphones... That being said , will they in fact give enough power to the headphones to allow them to run at full potential?
I'm currently on a MacBook Pro with no modifications. Any other recommendations? Do I need a DAC or are the macbook pros capable enough to run them fine? If so what kind of amp will be able to fully power a 250 ohm headphone set?
I'm completely new to the amp world so explain things to me like I'm 5 or I might get lost!

Would be nice to know the brand and model of these 250-Ohm headphones.

Apple products usually ship with at least half-way decent DACs.
(I'm guessing the E10's DAC is still better)
So if you wanted more "juice" for headphones, the Fiio E11 portable headphone amplifier has slighty better amplification then the E10.

Jun 29, 2012 at 8:25 PM Post #5 of 11
Jun 29, 2012 at 8:43 PM Post #6 of 11
Quote:
Would be nice to know the brand and model of these 250-Ohm headphones.