First real speakers
May 26, 2009 at 4:27 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 84

tdogzthmn

Sponsor: Drop
I have primarily been a headphone guy but I would like to own a solid pair of speakers. I have no knowledge of speakers other than my own M-audio speakers. What could I get for $400. I very much enjoy the sound characteristics of my HD600 if that helps to narrow it down. In terms of music tastes I am all over the board so I would need something that works with a variety of genres. I am still hesitant to get into speakers as they are much pricier than headphones but I know I will take the plunge sometime!

Drop Stay updated on Drop at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.

https://www.facebook.com/drop https://twitter.com/drop https://www.massdrop.com/?clickid=3QR3Ib27lyA-VkBRJwyGuQJeUkhUQvX5r0tLzQ0&utm_term=252901&utm_content=VigLink&utm_medium=affiliate&utm_source=impactradius&irgwc=1
May 26, 2009 at 5:13 AM Post #2 of 84
what kind of amplifier do you have? the amp matters just as much as the speaker

at 400, for new products, i recommend:

Monitor Audio BR2
Monitor Audio RS1 - can get it at this price via ebay
Mission m32i
Wharferdale Diamond 9.1
Tannoy Mercury F1 Custom

May 26, 2009 at 7:12 AM Post #4 of 84
Quote:

Originally Posted by tdogzthmn /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Right now I only have a Millet MiniMax but I intend to build a Bottlehead S.E.X amp over summer which is a headphone and speaker amp.

uhh doesnt it produce less than 5w of power?

you're gonna have to look for super efficient speakers...prob 97 + efficiency which doesnt leave much choice, esp at your price range

May 26, 2009 at 7:28 AM Post #5 of 84
yup with 5W amp probably need to buy horns. I'd visit your local hifi shop and ask for a "warm/laid back" system. I know my Arcam Alpha is like that but unsure of speakers. Probably not ones with metal dome tweeter.

May 26, 2009 at 8:35 AM Post #7 of 84
Quote:

Originally Posted by tdogzthmn /img/forum/go_quote.gif